Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Valley Traditional High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 954 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2011

Valley is a good school ; but there NJROTC & Medical program are outstanding .
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2011

The teachers, coaches, and principals at Valley were successful in lifting thousands of students into more productive and rewarding careers. Just as vital was the respect for others that Valley led young people to learn and practice. Valley was very egalitarian in that there was widespread love displayed for everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2011

I send my kids to Valley High School, from what I have experienced from Valley is above average. The staff at Valley are always involved with the students. The sports program is on the rise, its a great opportunity for kids to jump right in a sports program and play. The school in in the process of building a new gym which will be the best around southwest Louisville. The medical program will be a positive for students wanting to have a future in medicine. They have hired in top notch coaches for all sports. Great place for future students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

I have been with valley for 4 years. I they tought me alot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2009

As a student that attends Valley High School i strongly recommend you to go to Valley. I would go with what you hear casue Valley has changed in so many ways. I have been going there for going four years now (c/o '09') and i also have a older sister that graduated from Valley in 06, she also attend there for rour years. It is a very good school, the staff and teachers are great they know when they can have a little fun and they also know how to get the student hard working and are great at teaching and being there to help the students. And for all the people that talk bad about valley and never went sorry parents hate to break it to you but it might just be your kid thats the problem. cats and on-demand was great by the way! [bet prp`s] c/o '09'<-
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2009

Every school has their flaws and a school is what a student makes it out to be. I am a current student and I am on honor roll with distingushed cats scores. I personally love the school and the teachers do extremly well. Valley has a bad reputation true but there is so much more to our school then what people make it out to be. Such as our improving On-Demand scores that beat out even our rival school PRP. Don't try to put down a school with amazing people if you don't know the first thing about it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2008

I recently went to this school and there is no way I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in getting an education. Although the new principal is trying to improve the reputation, it's not going to work. It was a horrible experience for me. The teachers are not serious about their jobs and the stuidents dont care about the well being of others.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2007

I can completely understand the 1 rating. We moved here a few months ago and were shocked by the lack of discipline. My daughter went from being a normal teenager who occasionally talked back and asked to stay home to being foul-mouthed and cutting classes every day. The things that are allowed to go on there is outrageous and would never be tolerated at the schools in our hometown.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2006

Valley High School has some wonderful teachers indeed, such as Mr. Short, who was my math teacher for pre-calculus and geometry. Also Ms. Baldwin, and Mrs. McKelvey, Mr. Pennock, Mr. Thelin, and Ms. Nesbit. Ms. Burton, the counseling office clerk is also a very helpful and nice adult employed by Valley. Mr. Williams also does a fine job of being an assistant principal, and patrols the hallways as well. All compliments aside, Valley faced some serious problems that I witnessed during my last year there. So basically, if they were stricter, I can see improvement in the future.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 26, 2006

As a former student of Valley Traditional High School, I would definitely reccomend it to anyone. I attended this school during my freshman and sopohmore years('01-'02). Valley has a lot to offer students. They have a student advisory council, which helps both students and parents to be involved in how and where the schools money should be spent. They also go on many educational field trips. This makes the parents feel involved in his/her child's school and makes the child feel important. They also offer many different programs, such as: photography, band, foriegn lang., rotc, and many more. They have a great sports programs also. Did I mention that the staff is great? They are very attentive to every students need. They are also very respectful and they really want to help. All you have to do is ask for it. Well, I would definitely reccomend Valley Trad. High School!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 5, 2006

Valley is a very interesting school, with great athletic and academic standards. People may think of Valley as some school with Butler and PRP rejects but beleive it or not, some people actually want to go to Butler. Valley all together is great if you are interested in Chemistry and History!These are Valley's real strong point! I can almost promise you that your child will enjoy this great school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2003

I think valley is a wonderful school my daughter has been going there for 4 years. She graduates this year the teachers are great and the education is even better. I think everyone trys hard to keep the school in good shape and they r doing a great job keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

My daughter Shawna Henderson goes to Valley and she used to be a problem child but the teachers and staff have helped come a long way. Now she is on the honor roll and she is in very many extracurricular activities and she is always very excited about her school work and what she is learning.


Posted June 18, 2003

Two of my children have graduated from Valley High School and one is currently a junior there. I believe the school provides an excellent education to students who take the Honors and AP classes. The College Prep classes are another story. For the most part, they are not challenging, have very little homework and do not prepare kids for the intense work demanded in college. I don't know of another public high school in the area that does a better job, so I would seriously consider private school for a child who was destined for the College Prep curriculum. I also question whether my children were adequately prepared to write long research papers with multiple types of sources, footnotes and bibliographies. Parents have asked teachers to begin assigning these, but both of my graduates had to learn this skill and became far better writers in college. Another problem is that the school is scheduled to undergo extensive renovation for the next few years, which means students are taking many classes in portables. That said, I believe Valley High has some great, very committed teachers who get the kids excited about learning. The school is particularly strong in history. An energetic new young principal came on board in the fall of 2002 and seems to be inspiring both teachers and students to do their best. There's also a new chemistry teacher who has introduced an advanced chemistry program and a science appreciation class. The school benefits from lots of parent involvement as well as strong support from the local community. Thank You, Lisa Farris


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 51% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
20%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students21%
Female21%
Male21%
African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White28%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students11%
Female14%
Male8%
African American7%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White14%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

All Students38%
Female43%
Male34%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2011.

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
13%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2011.

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
14%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
11%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
18%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
9%
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
18%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students13%
Female9%
Male16%
African American6%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White17%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students16%
Female14%
Male18%
African American6%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White22%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students30%
Female30%
Male29%
African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students34%
Female24%
Male42%
African American11%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20143What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

3 This rating is based on average composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 81%
Black 36% 11%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10200 Dixie Hwy
Louisville, KY 40272
Phone: (502) 485-8339

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Doss High School
Louisville, KY


Holy Cross High School
Louisville, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT