Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Barret Traditional Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2013

This school is great for some but not all. If your child is gifted or has learning disabilities this is NOT the school for them. Almost all the education takes a middle of the road approach which is fine for a lot of kids, but not all. The bulk of the kids that do well here are upper middle in intelligence and socio-economic. Also note, you will run into a lot of fees and extra costs in traditional school. There are very few kids here that are not at least upper middle class. Overall a good school though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

My daughter attended Barrett and did really well at this school. I workecd very hard to get her transferred to this school since it was not in our District. I really love Barrett, and now I am a Grandmother trying to assist my daughter with placing my Grandson there. The school that he is going to will (eat him alive) he is truly not ready for all that he will have to contend with by attending this school. I truly believe that Barret would save his life. If anyone listening would have any advice for me(my Daughter) as to the best approach to get my Grandson moved to Barrett, please let me know! Thantk you , Terry L. Bright


Posted June 15, 2011

It was my first year at Barret and I didn't know anybody. But all the students and staff made me feel great. Ican;t wait to come back next year. This is the best school ever.


Posted July 13, 2010

I went to Barret a couple years ago and the thing that amazes me is....everyone that went there (in my grade at least) still talks about how Barret is an amazing school and how it was just a great time in their life. Whenever teachers or memories are brought up, anyone who over hears chimes in. I go to Louisville Male now and all the JCTMS and Johnson kids say they wish they went to Barret. You would be missing out on a great experience if you didn's send your child there.


Posted April 17, 2010

I am currently a 7th grader at Barret. Last year, I hated this school with a burning passion. All the teacher DO have favorites, but when you get the nice teachers (which are actually very very rare), or teachers that are nice to you, Barret is not half bad. If you get stressed though, which is pretty easy considering the overloading homework, projects, etc. teachers do not help you. It can be very overwhelming, but it is fun sometimes!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2010

I am a 8th grader at BTMS. This school is cheesy and over rated. The teachers get smart elic and roll thier eyes at you. The rules are sooooooooooo stupid. No braids,highlights,gum.....ect. Do not send your child here. I repeat. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD HERE!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2009

I am a 7th grader and i however i went to Farnsley as 6th grader and transferd to barret because i had problems at farnsley. But I love barret. it is very strict but in a good way. they have good teachers and a wonderful curiculum and i love it. Good friends, good grades, high test scores what more could you want?
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2009

hii i am a new astudent 6th grade and it is wonderfull!!!!!! best school in usa strict but in a goodway great education
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2009

Barret schools is a great place for educating our children. My daughter came from another country and she had enormous support from teachers and administration at Barret as well as from students. Eveybody is very friendly and the programm is an excellent as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2009

My child is having some challenging times currently and I have tried to contact the appropriate staff. I have had a very difficult time getting answers or even respondences to request for a conference. The school has many positives going for it, however, it does not appear easy to reach staff or teachers when needed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I am a currently a sixth grader at barret, and if you do not send your child here, they will never get the education, extracurriclur activis, and all the fun things that barret has to offer that will always help you in life!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2008

I'm currently a 6th grader at Barret, and I would not recommend this school to anyone! Barret is really not what it seems. Nearly all of the teachers are way to strict, and every teacher has a favorite, and you can tell if they like you or not.If you are a parent, please do not send your child to Barret.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 29, 2008

i am a seventh grader at barret,and i think this school is amazing.yea,the teachers are hard on you,but they do it because they care...i love barret!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2008

Barret was a great school for my oldest child but i am worried about my younger one. She has a talking problem. I am afraid she will fail. And get her hopes down. So i recommend this school for less likely people to get in trouble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

I go there and so far its really good. The uniforms are a little over strict but i love it anyway!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2008

I went to Barret for eighth grade. I am currently a freshman now. Barret is not a good school for anyone that has trouble learning. All the teachers had 'favorites' and most of them didnt care to help the students that needed it. Two of the teachers I had were very nice to my parents and told them that they were going to help me, but in the classroom they didnt do anything but put me down and they were very mean when I just asked them a question that I didnt understand on the assignment. Alot of them dont care if they embarrass you in front of the class when you do something wrong. Socially, the kids are great here and if you are a good student you will love it, but if you struggle in school even a little bit I do not suggest Barret.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2008

I am a proud student of barret tms. I am currently in the 7th grade and everything about this school is amazing. There are very few fights and %98 of the people i know love this school. Strict, but not too badly. Uniforms are required. We have many school activities, sports, and clubs to join! if your child is planning on going to this school, make sure that they are prepared mentally and are ready for hard working!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2008

This is my first year of middle school , and I am at Barret. Some students get on here and say how terrible barret is, they lie, well I just wanted to to say how GREAT Barret is. The caferteria looks like a beautiful cafe, with great food. The teachers are very strict, but they teach you a lot. The students are very well behaved, and are liked by many teachers, Go Barret!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2008

This school has a lot of fights and is not a good learning environment for any child. My child absolutly hated going to barret and transfered to a much better school. The school i would recommend is jctms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

Barret is a great place to send your child. Its a little tough to get into, and there is always the threat of being removed if behavior or grades aren't up to standards, but my son really has gotten a lot out of his years there. I am looking forward to sending my other two children there too. There are many ways for parents to be involved, and there is always some small way to help out.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 44% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 48% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 39% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students65%
Female69%
Male62%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students55%
Female55%
Male55%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female69%
Male63%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students53%
Female62%
Male43%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female61%
Male64%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female87%
Male81%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students80%
Female77%
Male85%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female64%
Male70%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female75%
Male67%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students77%
Female80%
Male74%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students54%
Female58%
Male49%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2011.

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 81%
Black 28% 11%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2561 Grinstead Dr
Louisville, KY 40206
Phone: (502) 485-8207

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Highlands Latin School
Louisville, KY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT