Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waggener High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 783 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2013

Good students come from great parenting. Judgment of how well a school preforms should not be directed only toward the teacher and staff but the :PARENTS and STUDENTS. I believe that Waggener offers a lot if you have the will to learn. I have a freshman attending Waggener that has her future already planed and is volunteering at Baptist Health. The medical program at Waggener is a hand up for the students. They can graduate with a CNA certification if the student has the will to make a difference in their life. Every student needs a great parent, Parents Please don't give up on your child, let them know that they can make a change for the better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

By far the most caring school in JCPS. I have never seen a faculty as supportive and caring as they have at Waggener. The new leadership has really turned the school around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

Probably the WORST school in JCPS! The leadership SUCKED when my child was there! Thankfully, she came to me and begged to transfer to another school where she excelled. This school should be shut down!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2013

This school has some very caring teachers. Small size for a public school. Would not want my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

I like this school! We have gone through major changes in the past 2-3 years! Its been great! I feel I have succeeded in my ap/advanced classes also in many leadership programs through my awesome councilors. The people are great too; when you figure out how to fit in with them...but overall Its been a great couple of years!


Posted June 28, 2013

Im a previous student from waggener ; went there for 2 years !! Waggener is NOT a bad school. Never judge a place by what you see on the internet !!! I don't regret anything I did/ACCOMPLISHED at waggener high school !! If a student wants to suceed , then they will !; You're given an education at waggener ; what you do with it is up to them ! They Make Us " COLLEGE & CAREER READY ONE WILDCAT AT A TIME , LETS MAKE IT A GREAT DAY WAGGENER !! #WaggenerProud


Posted August 10, 2010

I strongly regret attending this school. I did not learn one thing. In fact I feel like I came out of Waggener dumber. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone. It just gets worse and worse each year.


Posted March 1, 2010

great school good teachers im there alot myself and i think they made some improvements and the school has some problem but overall i sent my kids there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

My daughter was in US History with a bunch of Juniors because her previous school taught history in a different order apparently. Their 'big project' was to write a feature article about an important historical figure for their portfolio (which of course I didn't have yet). So she wrote my article about Frederick Douglass. So her Teacher calls me while I am at work one day and tells me about a sentence from her article in his Google search bar with no results.. he called me to *congratulate* me for having a kid that did the work in her own words. Sometime during the last month she got a progress report; she had an A, she was at the top of the class of juniors. From what I'm told its like this around the whole school. Glad we dont have to deal with Waggener any more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

I hated how the kids were so disrespectful and immature, which resulted to teachers and students who really wanted to learn lose intrest in what mattered most, our education. It was more of a day care center and im not blaming it all on the kids because as an adult the teachers should want to make a diffrence but they ...seem as if they lost all hope in their own sucess so how could we suceed? the best thing they have goin is the program for special needs children and isap.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2010

My child went to Waggener for two years. Two years too many. I would not even send a dog to Waggener. The leadership is lacking so badly that the daycare children might proove to be better leaders than the ones that are in right now. The students run around as if its anarchy, and the teachers are either frightened of the students or encourage their bad behavior. I say we shut this school down!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

I taught there for five years. That was the worst five years of my life. Now I teach at Central High School which is a great school by the way. I felt there was nothing I could do with these kids. I just gave up on Waggener. I almost gave up on teaching altogether but leaving Waggener was probably one of the best choices I ever made. Note to parents and potential incoming students: look into other schools, Waggener is not the choice you should make especially since they wont have any programs there after a year and they have such horrible extracuricular activities and sports teams its as if no effort was put into forming them.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 12, 2009

We have only been in school for three weeks and I already love it. This year they have a new thing for freshmen, it is a Freshmen Academy, where the 9th grade students all share one hall. This is to help them get to know their graduating class and give them more attention from the teachers. It is great and I really like it. I am a freshmen and I already have a lot of friends that are upperclassmen, I am on the volleyball team and that gives me an opportunity to get to know other people. If you aren't involved in your school then you won't like it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2009

I love waggener. The teachers are awsome and grate! I am going to miss my school. Students just like to complain, because that there are teachers there that will inforce the rules so the get in trouble but god forbid it is their fault. There is those few kids who think they should get in A for sleeping or talking, but besides for those few few students this school is really great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2009

This school is terrible. I was more academically challenged in middle school than i am here. There is a only a handfull of competent teachers and the student body as a whole is unmotivated and misbehaved. The reason behind this is the majority of the teachers are complete pushovers and there is never any real consequences for misbehavior. I seriously doubt that I will be prepared for college when i graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2008

Besides the principal, this is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2008

Hey! I'm a new senior at Waggener.... My first year here, and I love it!!!!! The teachers really make you feel like they want to teach you and that they care about you! It's the first time I felt like the teachers were happy to see me! It is easy to get involved in sports and clubs, and the students are so welcoming! I love it
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2008

this school has been awesome dont let the reviews fool you there are just students and parents who dislike it cause they dont fit in or are miserable but not because of the school but of how well the school is and strict and its basically teens being teens they dont want stability they want to do as they please and that wont happen but once they are out of high school they will realize that waggener was a great place
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2006

As a current staff member of Waggener, I would like to address the lack of leadership. We have had 3 principals in 6 years. However, our state scores have increased significantly over these years. Also, the school could always use more parental involvement. It seems the older the kids, the less the parents are around. Plus, I'd like to add we are dealing with a very diverse population. Over 20% of the student body is ESL, over 10% is Special Needs and a huge proportion are getting public assistance- no matter their color or creed. So if the child can behave and the parent is involved, there is a strong chance your child will get a very good education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 13, 2005

I have been familiar with Waggener for the past two years, with two children attending. While I will concede a previous reviewer's points regarding dismay at a lack of dress code enforcement (not uniforms), I have noted that the efforts towards academic excellence have been exceptional. My children are receiving a quality education, comparable, if not better, to that received in the private sector during their elementary and middle school years. The teaching staff appears dedicated, interested, and competent. The administration, having changed in the last year, may need a bit more time to work out policies, but administrative staff is always cooperative and concerned. I do have to comment that disciplinary actions seem a bit more lax this year. However, having witnessed a crisis in the school , I saw quick action and care for the kids. Waggener is exceptional! As for parents, get involved! Opportunity is there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 51% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
26%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students21%
Female20%
Male21%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learners6%

Writing

All Students17%
Female20%
Male15%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White22%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learners0%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

All Students56%
Female68%
Male45%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2011.

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2011.

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
32%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
24%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
41%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
19%
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
27%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students35%
Female37%
Male34%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students20%
Female20%
Male19%
African American9%
Asiann/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students36%
Female33%
Male38%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learners6%

U.S. History

All Students35%
Female35%
Male36%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20143What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

3 This rating is based on average composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 11%
White 40% 81%
Hispanic 8% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

330 South Hubbards Ln
Louisville, KY 40207
Phone: (502) 485-8340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Brook-Dupont
Louisville, KY


Friends School
Louisville, KY


Trinity High School
Louisville, KY


Walden School Corporation
Woodlawn Park, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT