Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Thank you for your interest in St. Matthews Elementary! At St. Matthews, we strive to be the best in all that we do. Our motto is "Great Expectations, Infinite Possibilities" and our staff truly believes in the ability of each of our students. Please call our office if you would like more information about our school. Thanks for stopping by!
May 11, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Matthews Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2015
- a parent
My son has begun his public school education at this school (St. Matthews) and we couldn't be happier! His teacher has challenged him to grow both academically and socially and he has excelled. I love the diversity, the multitude of opportunities available, and the warm family feel that this school offers. I highly recommended it!

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Thank you for your interest in St. Matthews Elementary! At St. Matthews, we strive to be the best in all that we do. Our motto is "Great Expectations, Infinite Possibilities" and our staff truly believes in the ability of each of our students. Please call our office if you would like more information about our school. Thanks for stopping by!
Posted May 11, 2015


St Matthews Elementary School 1

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
I am a former parent of St. Matthews. Although my student has moved onto middle school. I feel it necessary to warn future families. This school is absolutely horrible. My child attended from K-5. And every year my child came home in tears. The teachers were rude and verbally abusive. The staff and teachers humiliated my child in front of the class constantly, which of course made the other kids think it was ok. My child was bullied by the teachers and kids at this school and nothing was ever done about it. I am currently in the process with the board and news media to make our experiences known. There was a teacher that made my 1st grader (at the time) stand outside the class room door and told them to walk home!!! This school is 100% terrible. Many of the teachers and staff are old, cranky and need to retire. My child enrolled in this school a very happy child and left 5th grade in need of a therapist. We are currently at a private school. I would definitely stay away from St. Matthews elementary and JCPS altogether.

St Matthews Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
My son started kindergarten in St. Matthews Elementary School this fall. At the first two school days he cried and didn't want to school. But now I ask him "Do you want to go to school?", he said "Yes!". So he had fun at school. The teachers are very nice here. The kids got homework almost every day. I feel that's a very good learning experience for kids. It's a wonderful school.

St Matthews Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2013
- a community member
My grandson started kindergarten here this fall the whole family thinks it is wonderful. Every day my daughter asks him what he did in school today and he answers "Had Fun". As a former teacher myself, that is what learning should be. Lots of parent involvement, Google news e-mails sent out all the time about events, student art all over the walls. Great learning atmosphere.


St Matthews Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
First, I love the school because my son loves the school...since day 1 in kindergarten. Everything about it. Love that they emphasize 'making good choices'. It is a bright, happy, and cheerful atmosphere.

St Matthews Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2009
- a parent
I have 2 children at St Matthews and could not be happier with the education that they are receiving. The teachers and adminstration are very supportive and the parents very involved.

St Matthews Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2008
- a parent
This school has the best principal in the Louisville area and his enthusiasm and dedication have drawn excellent teachers to the school to be a part of the school. I would highly recommend St. Matthews to anyone looking for a high quality school in the Louisville area.


St Matthews Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2007
- a parent
My daughter went to kindergarten here. Ms. R Seebold is the best. Great school!

St Matthews Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2007
- a parent
We had three children go through St Matthews, all with different learning styles and abilities. All three received an excellent education and were challenged. They all went to top schools and programs after SME. The principal and staff are second to none! It is also an excellent school to become involved on any level as a parent. The school has a warm nurturing environment and children are happy there. It is definitely the school I would recommend above all including private and parochial.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Matthews Elementary School
601 Browns Ln, Louisville, KY  40207
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (502) 485-8321
Last modified St Matthews Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top