Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public district
Louisville, KY
Students enrolled: 1,365
 

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

10 reviews of this school


Seneca High School 4

Posted May 08, 2014
- a student
seneca high school has changed in both good and bad ways ... but were headed in the right direction DO IT THE RED HAWK WAY

Seneca High School 4

Posted April 25, 2009
- a student
I love this school it is a great school im goining to be a jr next year i love the rotc program and the libral arts program.


Seneca High School 1

Posted February 22, 2007
- a parent
I am very disappointed in the direction of Seneca High School. They have gone to a 6 period day and the MST and Liberal Arts program requirements have not been adjusted, so a student can not achieve all college preparatory requirements and complete these tracks without going to summer school. The minor sports programs lack emphasis. Safety is a concern. There was a change in administration 2 years ago, and many of the problems that I have stated were inherited, but actions to correct the problems are slow in coming. I have a senior and a sophomore. The senior will graduate. We are looking for alternatives for my 10th grader. I have a 7th grader...she won't attend SHS.

Seneca High School 3

Posted January 27, 2006
- a student
I love seneca high school!

Seneca High School 5

Posted August 08, 2005
- a parent
I believe that Seneca High School is an excellent high school. With it's two core programs (Liberal Arts and Math, Science and Technology) along with it's Advance Placement curriculum I have been well pleased. Each year the freshmen and sophomore classes hold a cultural bizarre and a renaissance fair. The Junior class holds a variety show and the seniors a play. Seneca offers many extra curricular activities including a full range of sports and academic programs as well as a marching band program. This year Seneca will have a new principal, since her predecessor retired after over 25 years at the school. The new principal is an alumni of Seneca as well as a former teacher there. Terry


Seneca High School 5

Posted February 03, 2005
- a parent
Seneca High School has provided our daughter with an excellent education. She will be graduating this year from the AP program with the Commonwealth Diploma. She has received a scholarship to Hanover College. Seneca has more than prepared her for her future. Our youngest daughter will be a freshman at Seneca next year. We look forward to the same great experiences that Molly has had.

Seneca High School
no rating

Posted December 13, 2004
- a parent
My greatest concern is teacher qualification in some subject areas. I have 2 children in 2 different programs currently. The student in the advanced program was left completely unprepared for an attempt at the US History AP exam. The guidance was insufficient to cover the needed material. However, the world history course was quite informative. AP courses offered through UL are wonderful. Consistant quality of course work and a Mouth Code should take precedence over the dress code to raise the level of this school's performance. The last point is that my 2 children seem to be receiving 2 different educations with totally different expectations by virtue of the program each is enrolled in and I was hoping that standards for graduation would be a little more closely related.

Seneca High School 4

Posted June 21, 2004
- a student
This school provides many college level courses to help students get ahead in life. Teachers and the principal work hard to create a great environment for learning. Vice-principals and other members of administration worry to much over dress-code than students.


Seneca High School 5

Posted June 16, 2004
- a student
I am a parent not of a student of this school but of a four and two year old. I graduated from Seneca in 2000 and i loved it. The teachers were great and so was the atmosphere. I do agree however that some of the administrators are more interested in the dress code than acedemics

Seneca High School 3

Posted August 25, 2003
- a student
Seneca is an overall good school, and has a great principal in Mr. John Locke, but other administration officials seem more worried about enforcing the dress code than actually promoting academics.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Seneca High School
3510 Goldsmith Ln, Louisville, KY  40220
(502) 485-8323
Last modified Seneca High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Seneca High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top