Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rangeland Elementary School 1

Posted March 10, 2014
- a parent
I've had 2 sons go there thus far, both stayed throughout 5th grade. Now the baby (4yr) attends Hartstern ECE Program and I went through EVERY possible messure to make sure he did not attend this school. Kiggins needs to be fired! The student are allowed to talk & act CRAZY towards the teachers and staff (even when visitors are present) Kiggins is so confused and comes across as a worn out parent who has givin up on all responsibility of her job which trinkles down to the teachers due to lack of support. They blame the students for Low test scores, My oldest started thriving as soon as he was away from this school (Advance classes and all) the same kid that she had sitting in her office for drawing a tree in class while another kid was physically attacking a teacher up stairs (she's such a joke!) truth is,This school needs a make over BIG TIME! Starting with Ms Kiggins!! If you can avoid it, Rangeland is NOT where you want your kid to be.

Rangeland Elementary School 1

Posted December 04, 2013
- a parent
This school is joke and it stems from the top. Kiggins is about as bad as they come as a principle and I cant believe she is in the position that she is. Then you got that assistant principle (fat white guy, I think its Weiger) who is probably more of a joke than Kiggins!!! TRY YOUR BEST NOT TO SEND YOUR KID TO THIS SCHOOL... The students there are out of control and the upper leadership has no idea how to fix it. I feel sorry the teachers who have to put up with those students and that awful principle staff. That school is a joke!!! ARE MORE IMPORTANTLY, THAT LEADERSHIP TEAM IS A JOKE!!!!!!!! Stay away from that place!!


Rangeland Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2013
- a community member
Rangeland has changed from dark, dull hallways to new bright walls and floors. A larger open Lunchroom and brand new Library. The students walk in the front door with a smile and a wonderful greeting from the councilor. It has become such a great change for all Staff and Students. Mrs. Kiggins has worked hard with all to make Rangeland a warm, loving, caring environment for her students. You here the teachers teaching when you walk down the hall. All the teachers have been so kind and loving to the students. I would say the only down fall is not enough parent support in the school. And student support for children with special needs.

Rangeland Elementary School 2

Posted May 07, 2012
- a parent
Believe it or not, Rangeland has issues, but making the students stay quiet should be the least of anyone concerns. Test scores tend to reflect the overall problems within a school. There are actually schools with worse student behaviors such as Fern Creek Elementary. Honestly, a lot of schools need new administration. Rangeland is not the only one.

Rangeland Elementary School 1

Posted February 13, 2012
- a parent
Horrible school, uncaring principal. ECE program is a joke, no understanding for a special needs student. Very rude office staff. Guidance Counsler is militant and has no clue what her job duties are. Overall as a school horrible experience. If you live in the Rangeland cluster, choose Price. Rangeland is full of negativity and it all stems from Mrs Kiggins.


Rangeland Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2011
- a community member
Rangeland is the best school ever! The recess is long, the activities are fun, the field trips are amazing, and you can make a lot of cool friends. And the related arts classes are awesome! You have art, gym, music, computer, wii fit, and so much more!

Rangeland Elementary School 1

Posted February 01, 2011
- a community member
It is not a school, it's a prison! The children are treated like prisoners. They are not allowed to say even a word in the hall and teachers have attitude. I would not recommend this school unless you want your child to learn how to behave in prison!

Rangeland Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Rangeland Elementary School 1

Posted September 19, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Rangeland Elementary School 4

Posted September 13, 2006
- a parent
My child is in her second year at Rangeland. We LOVE it. We chose Rangeland although it's the furthest school from us in our cluster. The staff is wonderful, and they truly love the children. The principal, Mrs. Kiggins, is fabulous, and really on top of things. The staff makes a point to get to know parents and caretakers, so that you feel a part of the 'family' at the school. Rangeland has what some might call a strict behavior policy, however I support it 100%, as I feel it teaches what children really need to learn, which is respect for others. Further, the year round schedule is great. The longer breaks during the school year are great for vacations, and although the summer is a little shorter, I think it keeps the kids in a better routine. Go by and take a tour. You'll fall in love!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rangeland Elementary School
1701 Rangeland Rd, Louisville, KY  40219
(502) 485-8317
Last modified Rangeland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rangeland Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews.