Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dixie Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

I love this school. My daughter started kindergarten this year and I was so nervous what school she was going to end up in since we registered a little late. But I am so glad she ended up at Dixie Elementary. She loves it there, she loves her teachers Mrs. Sturgeon and all her new friends. She can read and spell so many words now its just amazing.I love everything about this school. I really believe the staff cares and wants the best for my daughter and thats what matters the most to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

Dixie Elementary is focused on meeting the needs of the whole child. We care about breaking down barriers to learning and building positive, trusting relationships with our kids. Come see what we have to offer! You can be part of the "new and improved" Dixie Elementary!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 18, 2012

This school is horrible. Kids on the bus were making fun of my little cousins last name and the teachers did not say anything to them. My little cousin came home cussing and doing bad hand signs, when I asked her were she learned them she said kids at school was doing them. If I was you I would not send my kid to these school.


Posted February 21, 2012

Please don't judge this school on the past. It is even better now! The staff has changed a little, but they are THE BEST IN THE DISTRICT. I love everyone there, from the office staff to the principal. I would be willing to bet the test scores are going to jump WAY up there this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

Very rough school Nice staff but leadership is bad and alot of kids are unruly. Not fair to good kids


Posted November 7, 2007

I have been a parent of Dixie Elementary for four years now and have had not one problem with the school! The staff at the school are more like family. They take every child's heart and education into consideration to give each child the best education that a child could receive! We have one of the districts best principals here at Dixie! He couches our teachers with great dignity and respect, which shows in the classroom! For the past few years the schools CATS scores have exceeded the goals! I would like to thank the teachers and staff at Dixie Elementary for supporting my children s educational needs and for being caring supporters to my children! I am one Proud parent of Dixie Elementary! Gooooo Dixie!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

Dixie Elementary is a wonderful school! Not only do I love the year round calendar, each child is important at Dixie. I transferred my daughter from Wilkerson to Dixie at the beginning of 1st grade. When she first got to Dixie, she could hardly read anything. By the end of the year, she was above the required 1st grade reading level!! She has been progressing each year since. Kudos to Dixie and all the wonderful teachers there!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

My daughter is just finishing her Pre-K year and will move on to Kindergarten at Dixie. She has learned so much from her teachers there and made so many friends. I read the review about the principal and had to question who they were talking about. He has been nothing but kind and loves all of the kids. In a school with that many kids for my daughter to walk through the door in just her first year and him to know her by name was astonishing to me and let me know that she would be well cared for and looked after in her years at Dixie to come. The school does an excellent job of keeping us informed about what is going on as well as inviting us to be involved in as many ways as possible. I wish I would have sent all of my kids to Dixie!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2006

Dixie is an excellent school! My child has been at Dixie for 3 years now. Her teacher's Mrs. Hoerter (K), Mrs. Patterson(Fussnecker) (1&2) created a safe, positive learning environment for my child. Mr. Sanford has done an excellent job motivating his staff and students to be the best they can be & more! My child's reading and math are above grade level, due to the staffs hardwork and the programs that Dixie has adopted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

My child went to Dixie Elementary school from K-5. She graduated from there in 2002. Mrs. Henderson was the principle and made everyone feel welcome. The school was 'our' school and our children was well taken care of. We loved the school in every way. Things changed a bit when Ms. Henderson left. During Mr. Sandfords first year, there was alot of issues. Hopefully it was only because he was new to the school. We loved Dixie until he took over but give him a chance he may have finnally realized that it is about the parents and the students and not about him being boss.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

I went to Dixie elem. for Kindergarten through 5th grade and I loved every year. The teachers at Dixie were the nicest teachers I have ever had. The staff was very friendly too. I enjoyed every year I attended at Dixie. They made each special area class fun and exciting. Alomst every parent was in some way involved at school whether they were on the PTA or just helping out.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
39%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
10%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students27%
Female30%
Male24%
African American19%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students29%
Female37%
Male19%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students43%
Female51%
Male31%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students41%
Female43%
Male39%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students27%
Female32%
Male19%
African American6%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students51%
Female60%
Male39%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students32%
Female30%
Male33%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students40%
Female37%
Male43%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students37%
Female37%
Male37%
African American8%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students18%
Female23%
Male13%
African American0%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White22%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
43%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
22%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
16%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 81%
Black 31% 11%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10201 Casa Landa Dr
Louisville, KY 40272
Phone: (502) 485-8238

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Clement School
Louisville, KY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT