Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shacklette Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
As a staff member at the school, I feel that all of my co-worksers have the students best interest in mind. We work hard to create a positive safe learning environment for our students to learn and grow.

Shacklette Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 08, 2015
- a community member
The reading scores have been going up on a student to student level. Overall, the scores aren't great, but effectiveness is more than a test score. Kids seem to enjoy learning.


Shacklette Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted October 08, 2015
- a community member
I believe that because the parents are all working that the teachers don't assign a ton of homework, but that's good because so many kids are in ball practice and clubs.

Shacklette Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a community member
Part of learning is the struggle. The kids get to struggle without being given the answers so quickly.

Shacklette Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a community member
They've got school-wide expectations that they teach all kids. Every child is shown what respect looks like and sounds like.


Shacklette Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a community member
Empathy is a lesson that all students are taught in all classes. Kids are taught songs about "walking in someone else's shoes."

Shacklette Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a community member
Not every child is treated the same, but not every child is the same. Some kids who fight are put into counseling to help them learn different ways. Other schools just suspend. Kids are taught social skills in all of the classes.

Shacklette Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2015
- a community member
The principal (Garner) has really turned the culture around! Teachers are dedicated and the building is well kept. Teachers stay after school to provide extra assistance. There are quite a few clubs and students get to choose which clubs will be created through asking teachers to help them make new clubs. The guidance counselor (White) has been working with the 5th grade on how to average GPA and get into the best middle schools. She's really got an eye towards their future and (last I heard) 7/8 applicants to traditional middle schools were accepted. They are strongly student centered and the kids just seem happy to be there. It's welcoming and friendly.


Shacklette Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
I love this school. My daughter transferred schools two years ago when we bought a house that was out of district from her previous school Norton Elementary. I was extremely nervous sending her to a new school and making her start fresh in an all new atmosphere. We were pleasantly surprised when her first day she said she already loved it. Her teacher Miss Morgan is amazing. She is very approachable to the kids and works hard to keep them on track. She keeps us informed on what they are learning in class. The librarian also recommended our daughter into some art classes on Saturdays after seeing her sketches. She has grown so much since arriving at Shacklette. We are so pleased with this school and feel it was by far the best choice for our daughter.

Shacklette Elementary School 1

Posted August 14, 2012
- a community member
I attended shacklette for four years and i feel like it is a terrible school. Going into middle school i struggled because shacklette taught me nothing. I had great teachers but the curriculam was terrible. There is alot of bullying and favoritism and some of the subs are ridiculous. do not put your kid in this school.

Nearby schools

Shacklette Elementary School
5310 Mercury Dr, Louisville, KY  40258
(502) 485-8325
Last modified Shacklette Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top