Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Johnsontown Road Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 464 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 9, 2014

I went to this school as a child and i remember it clearly and feel that i have learned a lot from the teachers i had there and appreciate everything they did for me, even though i did not appreciate it at the time. I feel this school prepared me the most for the future as it had me ready for most of everything that i would encounter in middle school as a student., academically. Would recommend the school, but not the JCPS overlords that get a say in what the school does. The principal is caring and most of the teachers are as well.


Posted January 6, 2011

I find some of the teachers to be outstanding and caring yet others that are there because it is their job. I guess you can probably say that for all schools. I'm not sure how much leadership and family atmosphere the principal displays.


Posted December 22, 2009

Although I like the extra curricular activities that are provided by this school I am finding that academics and challenging those students above and beyond is a problem with this school, although not ever teacher. Also, it is my opinion that there is a lack of trust among staff and parents is somewhat alarming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2008

My son has gone to this school for two years now. I also attended this school as a child i love it but we are having mager problems with the bus. My son is being picked on by a child and has happened more than once. I plan on taking action in the morning and i hope all goes well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

Johnsontown Road is the best public elementary school in Jefferson County. The principal is great, as are the teachers. I wouldn't send my child to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2004

So far so good but my son did come home today with a paper stating that 1 child has lice. I don't no what the school will do but they need remove the child with head lice for a week so are children no recieve anything from one another. They do seem to have good staff and a friendly environment the princpal is very forward with having things in order thats what makes a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2003

This is a school with hard working students and great teachers. Liberty has been recognized as a national blue ribbon school. Students attend block classes giving them in-depth exposure to integrated subjects. I am privileged to have my student attend a school that launches successful students to endeavors outside of high school. I rank this school as one of the best in the state! Go Patriots!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
42%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students24%
Female19%
Male28%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White16%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students26%
Female23%
Male28%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students41%
Female42%
Male39%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students35%
Female28%
Male42%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students38%
Female31%
Male46%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students57%
Female53%
Male61%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students30%
Female29%
Male30%
African American8%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students41%
Female43%
Male39%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students38%
Female46%
Male30%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students7%
Female14%
Male0%
African American0%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White9%
Economically disadvantaged5%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
27%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
31%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 82%
Black 26% 11%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Asian 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7201 Johnsontown Rd
Louisville, KY 40272
Phone: (502) 485-8278

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St. Clement School
Louisville, KY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT