Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wilt Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 448 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2014

I am so thankful my children attend Wilt. The most important thing is that my kids are learning and are in fact achieving at higher levels than their peers. If there are any problems at the school, it's probably a result of a handful of deadbeat parents who do not engage their children at home or ever for that matter and expect somone else to raise them. The teachers at Wilt genuinally care, not in some fluffy feel good way, they actually want students to be successful and hard workers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2013

I've posted on here when my daughter was in attendance from K-3. I was less than satisfied with grades 4-5. After having a very active, involved, and excellent 3rd grade teacher; 4th and 5th grade teachers were completely different. I found that many teachers are in cliques with the principal and office staff. The staff children were treated differently, the students, and parents know it. When I asked the principal why my daugher wasn't picked to take the advanced test, I was given alot of run around, including that the guidance counselor felt that she wasn't a good canidate because she didn't pass the year before. However; other children whom I know personally did not pass, was choosen to take the test again; they reluctantly let her take the test. My daughter took this bad incident and turned it around. She tested into a good middle school, was promoted to the Honor's program, and the guidance counselor says if she keep it up, she can get into the magnet program. Some kids take longer to learn test techniques. Parents please stay involved with your children, because the standards and expectations you have for them, isn't always the standard they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2011

I don't like carpool line. As stated in another post kids have to walk down the side walk and around the building (out of site) by themselves. I really don't care for the office staff/principal at this school. Although one of my children had a rough start (didn't care for the teacher) since this has been changed both of my children have had great teachers! Mrs. Harned, Mrs. Barber and Mrs. Unterriner have been wonderful teachers! They make my children work hard and have high expectations for them. This is not the school I would have chose based on ratings but now that we are there we LOVE it!! My kids have had great friends and we have not experienced anything negative from other parents or students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

I don't care for the principal Mrs. Kent. I think that she keeps the teachers down. If she was not there I believe the school rating would be higher than a 3.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2009

My daughter has been at Wilt since Kindergarten. She is in third grade. We have had fantastic teachers every year. I have had no serious issues or concerns. Anything I have addressed with the teachers or administration, I have recieved prompt replys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

My Son and Daughter are in the 1st grade this year and one had Ms Commissar and she is the best teacher that i have ever seen she pushing the students to be the best that they can be and she makes them use there minds . And she does'nt just stop work and let the children off on class work because of the last day are breaks coming . It's because of her and Ms Wrothl that my daughter has passed my son up and she was born early and did'nt talk into she was three so I Ms Bowden would like to say there is teacher around that does care and thank you so much . Am sorry to see you move to the 4th grade you will be missed. Ms Shade is one of the best teachers also she helps the parents and calls back with any concern
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

My child has been a student at Wilt every since she was in first grade. She is now a fifth grader. When we first got to Wilt I was worried about the environment and location. Once we met Ms.Greenfield ( Lewis) we were totally at ease. I love the transistion process they have with the teachers moving up with the students. My daughter was in first , second and thrid grade with the same teacher. This helped her so much. She is a outstanding student thanks to her teachers and her hard work . I am not real high up on the office and support staff . I totally get upset over the fact that car riders are dropped off at the side of the building with no staff member there to watch after them. This is a problem especially on icy sidewalks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2007

First, I want to say that Wilt is moving in positive directions. Mrs. Jones and Mrs. Worth, your are awesome. My daughter is in the first grade this year, and I'm glad that I kept her in this school. When I talk to other parents about the classwork and homework, my daughter recieves; they are always suprised of the level of work she is doing compared to their child's school. I have not had any problems thus far with bullying or fights. My daugters teachers and the offices staff have always been responsive to any questions, phone calls or notes that I have sent. However, the only improvement I would like seen, is in the special areas classes. I would like to be filled in more often of their special area lessons; so I can practice with her at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2004

Wilt Elementrary is a great school, the teachers are wonderful and I feel that my children are getting a wonderful education, thanks to the teachers at Wilt. The overall atmosphere of the school is a little unstable, you will have to get past the unwelcoming feeling as you walk in the school, to get to your childs classroom where the teachers make you feel very welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
44%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female58%
Male41%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners36%

Reading

All Students40%
Female46%
Male36%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners9%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students54%
Female46%
Male60%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students49%
Female39%
Male57%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students43%
Female39%
Male46%
African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students71%
Female64%
Male77%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female71%
Male62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students48%
Female54%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students66%
Female61%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students32%
Female50%
Male18%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 81%
Black 19% 11%
Hispanic 15% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6700 Price Ln
Louisville, KY 40229
Phone: (502) 485-8353

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Athanasius
Louisville, KY


Whitefield Academy
Louisville, KY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT