Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crosby Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 20, 2014

About 7 years ago Crosby was the best middle school, now it's turning into the worst. I know that the majority of schools have fights but Crosby has way too many. Since Crosby starting letting kids from bad areas, the school started becoming horrible. The punishments for students aren't enough and encourages kids to do trouble. I think Crosby needs to stop letting in kids from bad areas because they are the reasons that Crosby might close in the near future. There also needs to be more disciplinary actions because there is too much bullying, which could lead to suicide. My last compliant is that there needs to be more drug and suicide prevention because there aren't many actions to help prevent these kids from doing drugs or committing suicide. Some of the staff that is in charge of consequences and bullying, punishes the victims of bullying rather than the aggressors. Crosby has way too many bad kids that care only about being bad to gain attention, which makes the learning environment hazardous for other students. I hope that next year, my experience at Crosby will be better.


Posted September 29, 2013

Do NOT send your kids to Crosby if they have an IEP or qualify for ECE services, unless they qualify due to an obvious disability. Kids with ADHD or other "hidden" disabilities will NOT get the supports they need. Crosby has standard accommodations for everything. For example, my son does not do well on tests. Crosby's answer: give the student extra time to complete. More time does not help when the main problem is reading comprehension. What was really needed was to provide an area with an aide where my son could read each question aloud, then restate it in his own words to confirm that he understood the question before putting pen to paper. We even had one teacher who just gave him extra points to level the playing field. What?!! Crosby's overall test scores do not tell the whole story. If your child is extremely compliant and can produce the highest quality of work with little or no help from the teachers, then Crosby may work for you. Just don't expect them to welcome you (as a parent) with open arms. They do not like it when parents get in their way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

My school is nice, but it's really dirty there and it's full of mean kids and crazy kids. I learned a lot more in my other school, and I wish there was no dress code, our uniforms are extremely uncomfortable, they said uniforms improved our performances, but I don't see any change. Plus they are ugly and the teachers can be lazy.


Posted August 19, 2012

I hate crosby! Its full of mean, crazy kids who pick on everyone! I hate it! There is a ton of bullies! I used to go to a catholic school and boy it was a lot harder, i learned a lot more at my old school!


Posted July 14, 2012

i am an alumni of Crosby, and i can honestly say, out of all of the middle schools in JCPS, this is the best. We surpass the district in academics, sports, and a good environment. the academics are challenging, the teachers are wonderful, and the students are taught how not only to be great students, but great young Men and Women. I am so happy and blessed to have been able to go to Crosby. GO COUGARS!!!!!!


Posted May 19, 2012

Crosby Middle School is a wonderful school, it gives students a chance to express themselves in a number of ways from sports to art to future educators! I was forced to switch schools, and this upset me. I never realized how strict and orderly Crosby really was! There was only a single bullying problem, which was addressed as soon as it appeared, and the teachers are very supportive. They make you strive to reach goals, and they never stop asking for your best. The principle walks around everyday going into every class, and checking up on everything, as well as his three assistant principles who are each assigned a grade. Crosby has a VERY high population, but somehow each teacher on your team of 150+ students knows your name, and something special about you. I couldn't have asked for better 7th grade teachers, this may sound odd, but 7th grade is a hard year! There are lots of changes, and let's face it, 13 year olds smell funky! But somehow they put up with our back talking, and still love us. I miss my wonderful school, Crosby. I highly recommend this school. --- Former Student


Posted December 4, 2011

I transferred to Crosby for 7th grade. I came from one of the larger catholic private schools, St. Agnes. There is TONS of bullying at this school. The academic curriculum at Crosby compared to my old school is a joke. I never have to study for tests and I get an A. Parent's are not involved at all. The classes are huge and I feel like the teacher's don't even notice me. All they care about are the CATS scores. I hate it here. At my old school we were all one, big, family. Here, it's every man for themselves. Most of the stuff I have learned during 7th grade I learned in 6th grade at my old school. Any parent who loves their child and cares about their education and future WILL NOT send them here.


Posted August 9, 2011

This school is good, but there is a lot of bullying. If the kids tell our assiantant principles they will handle it until then the problem is still going to be unresolved. The school is too small for all the kids that are there. When you walk in this hallway by the lunchroom when the bell first rings there is going to be alot of people and sometimes you are late for class and the teachers don't let you explain why. Crosby is very strict, they have a lot of rules you need to follow. But the school is GOOD. So are the teachers. Crosby has teams and one team is the outcast and the teachers are like no its not and we know it is and the very best team gets more field trips. I know because i was on the outcast team last year. It was horrible! We were suppose to have 6 field trips and we only had 2. I hope this review was helpful to you, Former CMS student


Posted August 4, 2011

This school is great! I love it! BEST SCHOOL EVER! COME HERE FOR MIDDLE SCHOOL!


Posted March 30, 2010

I hate croby it has unfair teachers, mean kids and they say there is no bullying o but is that a lie. The bathrooms are dirty and i can't stand that school
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2010

I agree but please stop looking at the stupid test scores....I work at a school...my kids went to Crosby. Look at the school and teachers and what it does for your child. People are so hung up on these stupid test scores....some kids don't test well. Me for one and I am a college graduate with a BS. .Parents need to sit back again and take into consideration where our priorities lie. It's not in test scores....it is in teaching our children .....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

Crosby is the best school ever. lots of people will try and tell you that some schools (coughnoecoughmeyzeekcough) are better but they're really not. Crosby doesn't get to choose almost any of the students that go there like noe and meyzeek, and crosby's test scores are higher. The teachers are great and Mr Lattimore (principal) was recently in i believe the top 3 principals in the nation. That really says something about the school and it's leadership. great academics and great sports teams- both basketball teams went undefeated in jcps play. the boys were the state runners up. Crosby ROCKS and i wish everyone could go there!! IT'S THE BEST
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2009

This was the worst school I ever went to. It was old, dirty,crowded,mean kids. The worst school I've ever ever ever been to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2009

I am in my third year at crosby and for the most part i relly liked it i felt that the dress is a bit to strict in some areas and that some of the teachers need to improve on their teaching skills but overall it's a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2009

Crosby may have a strict dress code and be overcrowded, but Crosby is the best school ever. The school is built to have about 800 kids in it but it had close to 1400 this year, making it either the biggest or second biggest school in JCPS. However, this summer they are making crosby bigger and accepting less students. They are estimating about 1000-1100 students next year, so it will be a lot less crowded. Also, the bell system works so on every bell either 2 grades or 1 grade leaves class. This makes it a lot less crowded than it would be. Also, my language arts teacher has taught at private schools and even Trinity High School, and she said that the quality of students and teachers at Crosby surpass any school she has ever heard of. The band and orchestra are phenomenal. The principal rocks. Go Cougars!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2009

My daughter has adjusted beutifully to middle school at Crosby. I am very impressed with all the programs and the quality of the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

This is a really good school. I went their last year andI enjoyed ever ear that I went their. I made a lot of friends and even family members their. CROSBY is the BEST
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2009

I am going to Crosby this year and I really like it. The music program is awesome. I am in Orchestra this year and I was a beginner and I learned how to play the violin in less than 2 months. Also Mr. Lattimore is a great person and he is a great leader.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2009

i love crosby the teachers and staff really care about us
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2009

I go to Crosby now and i think it is the best school ever. Although there is a strict dress code. you have to wear a belt everyday or you get sent to or (opportunity room). I think they make the dress code strict for a reason though. There are some fights some times but the teachers and principal and teachers take care of it. If you are in the fight, you get an automatic 5 day suspension and if u stand around and watch it or cheer it on, you alson get consequences
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 44% in 2013.

471 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

471 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

471 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 48% in 2013.

471 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

448 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

448 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

448 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

453 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

453 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

453 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 39% in 2013.

453 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students53%
Female60%
Male45%
African American27%
Asian67%
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students51%
Female54%
Male47%
African American17%
Asian73%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students52%
Female58%
Male45%
African American21%
Asian73%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students57%
Female68%
Male45%
African American32%
Asian80%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female58%
Male53%
African American22%
Asian74%
Hispanic30%
Multiracial23%
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female70%
Male60%
African American35%
Asian84%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial54%
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students63%
Female63%
Male63%
African American26%
Asian79%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial46%
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female62%
Male64%
African American36%
Asian89%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female66%
Male57%
African American37%
Asian61%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students69%
Female68%
Male71%
African American44%
Asian78%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students48%
Female55%
Male41%
African American27%
Asian61%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2011.

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 81%
Black 28% 11%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

303 Gatehouse Ln
Louisville, KY 40243
Phone: (502) 485-8235

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Maryhurst
Louisville, KY


Holy Angels Academy
Louisville, KY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT