Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lassiter Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

My school is one of the best middle schools Ive ever seen. My mother and father both teach at middle schools (my daddy teaches band at Lassiter) Im in 6th grade and I really like middle school so far. In math we have a lot of homework, but its middle school. #GOLASSITER


Posted July 28, 2013

My child has attended Lassiter Middle for 6th, 7th & now 8th grade. We haven't had a bad experience yet. It seems the new principal along w/all the other great teachers & staff may have gotten things set on the right path. My child has excelled in many areas that they struggled w/in elementary school. Been in advanced classes @ Lassiter since 6th & has been on Honor Roll two years consecutive. One of the best things my child decided to do was join the music program & be a part of Chorus. Absolutely loves it! The Chorus teacher has been at Lassiter for over 30 yrs! It's been my experience that there are good & bad teachers/staff @ every school. Even your so called "good schools", public or private! Every child can get a great education if THEY want to @ ANY school. It is what they make it. It's my job as a parent to teach my child about manners & respect @ home. This reflects on how they behave @ school a little. Might make it a tad easier on our teachers to actually "teach" our kids instead of trying to raise them for us. I think we should all take a bit of the responsibility. Kids are a reflection of us as parents. Some should be very ashamed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2012

HORRIBLE school! This is my daughters first and hopefully last year at this school. Teachers are horrible and I was told that this would be one of the best schools for my disabled child, but it is not. I hate this school and everything about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

I should have taken my daughter out of Lassiter a long time ago. I didn't want her to go there to start with but was told she had to attend there because it was our district school. The teachers can't control a bunch of bad kids who disrupt many classes. They say they are trying to get them under control. They've been trying for the 2 years my daughter has been there. Schools with a lot of free lunch program kids, use that as an excuse to not care about educating their students. Note how the number of free and reduced lunches are on school statistics. That means if your poor you are too stupid to learn, so don't blame the faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

My son had a's & b"s, until he started Lassiter! Now its went down hill! I am not pleased with this school at all! I would not recommend this middle school to anyone! There is know way grades should fall like this, very very disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2010

My daughter is in the 7th grade this year at Lassiter, she also attended Lassiter for 6th grade. I am very concerned with the education she is receiving at this school. She struggled last year with her grades and is again this year. This is a child who has always had A's & B's. I fill that the staff has completely lost all control of this school. There are very few teachers I have come across that put forth the very much needed extra effort to help our children learn. My child will not continue at this school. I will tell you what I told the principal last year. My child is not failing Lassiter, Lassiter is failing my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Lassiter has the best special education teachers in all of Louisville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

This is a great school for EE (environmental education) and is trying to become a EE magnet school in the district
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I think it needs help in all area learning activity's sports, teams for the children to get involved in their test scores are low for this school they don't have books for the kids because they can not afford them my daughter has been here for two years and will not go next year do to the poor scores and undergrade teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2007

i love it my baby has improved so much ! ! ! ! !
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 44% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
13%
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
18%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 48% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
20%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
17%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
14%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
13%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
18%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
22%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 39% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
16%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students19%
Female18%
Male19%
African American19%
Asian33%
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White19%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students20%
Female19%
Male20%
African American14%
Asian33%
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White23%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities3%
English language learners6%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students23%
Female27%
Male20%
African American17%
Asian33%
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students36%
Female48%
Male28%
African American25%
Asian58%
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities3%
English language learners25%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students17%
Female20%
Male14%
African American7%
Asiann/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilities3%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students30%
Female38%
Male25%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students42%
Female47%
Male39%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learners9%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students18%
Female18%
Male19%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learners5%

Reading

All Students20%
Female22%
Male18%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White19%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learners0%

Social Studies

All Students27%
Female27%
Male27%
African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners11%

Writing

All Students19%
Female26%
Male14%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White23%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners0%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2011.

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
23%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
27%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2011.

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
15%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 81%
Black 32% 11%
Hispanic 11% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8200 Candleworth Dr
Louisville, KY 40214
Phone: (502) 485-8288

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Nicholas Academy
Louisville, KY




St Paul School
Louisville, KY


Stuart Middle School
Louisville, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT