Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Klondike Elementary School 4

Posted January 16, 2016
- a community member
The school has grown over the past two years from a "Needs Progressing" school to a "Distinguished-Progressing/High-Performing/High-Progressing" school based on the state accountability 2015 results. The school has moved from the 74th percentile to the 94th percentile which is 1 percentile point away from being categorized as a "School of Distinction." The goal for 2015 was 67.9 and the school surpassed the goal by scoring a 75.5. Overall, students demonstrated a 74.6% growth in reading and math within one year. Based on feedback from parents through the Comprehensive School Survey (2015), parents believe the following: - The school provides a caring and supportive environment (95.3%) - Their child is safe to and from school on the bus (90.9%) - Their child feels safe and secure at school (98.3%) - The principal at my child's school provides effective leadership (97.3%) - Their child is provided with healthy meal choices at his/her school (91.2%) - Verbal bulling is not a problem (71%), physical bullying is not a problem (78.5%), and internet bullying is not a problem (85.3%) - Believe the school provides a caring and supportive environment for parents (93.2%) - I am satisfied with my child's school (94.3%) Based on feedback from students through the Comprehensive School Survey (2015), students believe the following: -They feel safe at school (93.7%) -Their principal is a good leader (96.5%) -They have great teachers (95.3%) -Students do Science experiments in school (81.4%) -The adults in my school take care of safety problems quickly (90.8%) -Believe the adults in the school will take care of any unsafe situation (94.3%) Other data: - 39.7% of students arrive Kindergarten Ready - Comprehensive School Survey Parent Agreement Trend: 2012 (91.5%), 2013 (91.2%), 2014 (90.1%), 2015 (92.8%) - 438/475 Students Without an Office Discipline Referral (40% of referrals happen on the bus to or from school) -164 parents from approximately 500 students voted during SBDM elections

Klondike Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
This school breaks kids down. I think the principal is a significant part of the problem. The entire staff changed the year be came. It's been in a downward spiral since.


Klondike Elementary School 4

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
I couldn't be happier with this school! My child had a wonderful year last year (2013-2014) after transferring from another school where the experience left a lot to be desired. I had great communication with my child's teacher and the office staff. I wish all JCPS schools had staff like Klondike!

Klondike Elementary School 1

Posted June 01, 2014
- a parent
Please note that all the positive reviews here are before 2014. We used to love this school, but in the past year, everything went straight to hell. Over the summer, all our favorite teachers suddenly transferred out. The principal was gone a few months into the school year. Out ability to communicate with the teachers and administration on concerns (which had been great) dropped to zero. Our child was harassed and physically assaulted and her teachers did nothing. Our requests for help when our child was struggling academically were ignored. The entire feel of the school changed and we made the difficult decision after three years of loving the school to transfer our child out. I do not know what happened over the summer of 2013, but it resulted in a very different school than the one depicted in the other reviews here. That having been said, the DO have a GREAT before/after school care program run by the YMCA. Mr. Robert is a saint.

Klondike Elementary School 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a parent
I love Klondike! Great principal and teachers. They also have a great before and after school YMCA child care. The staff is so friendly and they make it fun for the kids!!


Klondike Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2011
- a parent
this is one of the best elementary schools if not in kentucky but in louisville. i currently have 2 children in the school, one is in the 5th grade and the second in 3rd grade. my 2 daughters went through the school also- one is doing well in central an my second daughter is in JCTMS. The teachers are awesome- they love their jobs and are very friendly-the principal is simply terrific- she loves the students and of course her job; discipline is enforced without been harsh with the students. i simply love the school and i am thankful to God that 2 of my children already passed through the school and 2 are currently there.

Klondike Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
The school is dedicated to the educational foundation that is needed to succeed. My child was previously in the number one private school here in the county, he struggled through out the school year and I was quiklu told that my child had various learning disabilities and the teacher was eager to label him in some sort of diagnosis, ADHD, developemental delays, needing medication , they even went as far as to hold him back a year. Upon changing him to Klondike he has been the star-pupil, he is eager to learn and is actually excited! He has carried straight A's and earned a writing and science award this year. If you have teachers that CARE about the children, they will suceed. The teachers there are very informative and keep me up with the class and future projects. I am thankful for the school and all the professionals there, they could have easily kept my child in the same rut as the private school, they believed in my child and his abilities.

Klondike Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
i love this school because it has excellent teachers,great rules, and great school activities


Klondike Elementary School 4

Posted December 28, 2009
- a parent
A great place to raise your children. Very active PTA and lots of programs for the children to enjoy!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Klondike Elementary School
3807 Klondike Ln, Louisville, KY  40218
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (502) 485-8286
Last modified Klondike Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top