Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lowe Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
We have been a part of the Lowe Elementary community for 5 years now. Next year we will have a 5th grade & Kindergarten student enrolled. Lowe was our first pick of elementary schools. Over the years, the school has gone through leadership changes. We've experienced (3) principals - one was a long-time figure at Lowe and left for Chicago, another entered our school briefly and quickly returned to middle school, and now we have Mr. Allain. He is a shining star in the school and very focused on its culture. Any time I am in the school, he is walking the halls and knows every child by name. Lowe offers a variety of activities, some through school and others through community partners that conduct programs on-site. More is offered as your student reaches 4th-5th grade. I've seen a few mentions about the office staff. Yes, they've been in place for a long time. Yes, they can be stern because they deal with the "trickle down" others do not - but mainly, they care about our kids and take good care of them, holding a sick bucket in one hand and the phone in the other trying to call a parent. We've always had great communication with our teachers as well, which makes us excited to start over with our Kindergarten student. Conferences are offered 2x/year but I've found the teachers are available any time - in person, phone and email. I've been a room parent for several years and have always been treated warmly and with respect. Lowe also has a strong PTA. It is working hard to get more parents involved - not just with fundraising but with the programs it sponsors throughout the year. The PTA contributes funds from field trip buses to family dances and math/literacy nights. These parents work hard behind the scenes because they love the students and teachers at Lowe. Lastly, Lowe is located in a great neighborhood. Several local businesses support the school's efforts - whether it sponsors a spirit night or donates landscaping supplies for campus beautification.

Lowe Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
Coach Conroy encouraged my son to walk/run the Triple Crown races. It was a great experience!


Lowe Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
Lowe has several long-term teachers that have great reputations among its families and students. I have never felt excluded or unheard by the teachers and frequently check in with my child on his experience.

Lowe Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
Homework changes with every grade level, from its amount to how it is distributed. Plan on homework each night; however, it might range from 15 - 45 minutes depending on your student's level. For bigger projects, the school has offered advance notice and several reminders.

Lowe Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
The school focuses on individualized learning with teachers specializing on subjects. For example, if a 4th grader excels in Math, he/she will be placed with others and they review 5th grade level Math.


Lowe Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
The school focuses on classroom discussions that encourage compassion & empathy. They develop topics based on grade levels.

Lowe Elementary School 2

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
We recently pulled our child out of Lowe. We have had oddball issues since Kindergarten. None behavior related. Children need to be children. They need to be able to talk in lunch. They are forced to eat quickly without any time to get the chatter and wiggles out. Classes are overcrowded, and while some teachers communicate regularly and are ready to help, I believe they have their hands tied due to the current administration. Some of the office ladies could use a class in manners, especially for the new incoming families. We went into Lowe with the greatest of expectations only to to be let down. I hope others share their reviews because I know we weren't the only family to leave. The only good thing to say is that Lowe is in a great neighborhood.

Lowe Elementary School 5

Posted December 12, 2014
- a parent
The teachers, staff and parents are highly engaged. Our son is in his second year and we are very pleased with his academic and social progress. Lots of extracurricular activities--90 kids on the cross country team. We would like to see a girls basketball team.


Lowe Elementary School 3

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
I have had children attend Lowe and while I must say Lowe has high test scores the staff at Lowe is unpleasant at best they are rude and i have observed the staff yelling at the children on numerous occasions Lowe is an "in crowed school" my advice if you send your children to Lowe be ready to volunteer many hours and open your pocket book if you want your children to have a good experience at Lowe also if your child is social this is not the school for them Lowe expects children to be seen and not heard even while at lunch and if your child misbehaves they will be scolded in front of others I have witnessed this from teaches to the principal yelling at children to the point they were in tears while making a decision on where to send your child keep in mind that while test scores are important so is your childs experience in school and if your child is not being taught in a pleasant environment how much will they truly learn

Lowe Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
My wife and I have both been extremely pleased with Lowe Elementary. We have two children enrolled and are lucky to be within the school district. The teachers have been great so far and the PTA does an amazing job.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lowe Elementary School
210 Oxfordshire Ln, Louisville, KY  40222
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. (502) 485-8293
Last modified Lowe Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top