Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Myers Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 719 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 26, 2011

I was a student at Myers, and i can assure ALL of you that Myers is a Wonderful school. The AP program was actually very challenging, I was in the program all three years and the teachers never gave up on us. They were always encouraging us to do our best and nothing but that. All of these rumors about Touring the school and seeing wild behavior was a LIE. If you got the chance to tour the school CONGRATULATIONS, but you have NO right what so ever to judge the school by a tour. You act like you've never been to a school when the hallways were busy and students were switching classes ! The assistant principles were also very wonderful and encouraging but when it came down to it, they provided the right Discipline. I cannot say that everyday i went to school, i didn't learn something New, because i did and everything i learned was more than just for a test or quiz, it was a life lesson. I wish that i could rewind time and go back to Myers, I remember 8th grade graduation everyone was balling their eyes out, but everyone was proud and happy at how far they had made it. I still go back and visit myers every month or two because it was a part of my life i can never forget. Myers-Awesome


Posted July 19, 2011

This school was horribly disappointing. Our daughter was in the AP program yet the work assigned was unchallenging and the teachers were unprofessional. She is being transferred out for her 7th grade year. I would seriously avoid this school at all costs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

we have had nothing but problems in the 2 months my child has been at this school.. teachers not informing parents about no homework being turned in .. lunch room never keeps accts straight .. so now my child brings his lunch .. and today he was told he cannot bring certain things in his lunch.. why do you need to waist my tax money for 3 assistant principles.. nothing about this school is great .. very poor.. also we have just been informed that there are 20 text books for all of the 6th grade students to share .. science reading etc.. ridiculous where are my tax dollars going?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

The School Is Very Professional . If You Tour The School And You See Chaos , Ignore It . It's Just A Few Kids Ruining It For The Others . The Only Thing I'm Concerned With Is The Dress-code ! I don't like uniform !
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

My grandson goes to this school and he is doing really well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2008

i'm a student there and i can asure you it's the best school ever. Josh s.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2008

My son attended this school last year (2006-07) and I tend to agree with the earlier review that stated the school was a zoo. Whenever I went to the school during school hours, the kids were loud and seemed to be unsupervised. I did have a good experience with the principal but I got the impression that the teachers either didn't care anymore or were doing the best they could with a suboptimal situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2007

I've read the reviews and I'm amazed at what the last person said. I toured the school with my daughter and was very impressed with what I saw. What we saw was a very safe school, and the kids were very polite. Everyone was working and the teachers were very professional looking and seemed to be teaching very hard. If I were you I would tour the school and see for yourself. Everyone I have spoken to says the same thing. After two month of school this year Samantha, loves her teachers, classmates, and feels very safe. We recommend Myers without hesitation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2006

This school has had a lot of problems, and I would not recommend it. When we moved here I did not realize I had a choice where to send my child to school. I wish I had! Although the principal seems to have made some positive changes this year, overall the animals are running the zoo at Myers. The children are out of control and the staff feels powerless. More efforts are placed on enforcing the school uniform code than preventing the children from being violent with each other. It's nuts! This is Myers. Beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

My son is in the Multi-disability Unit w/Mr.Pike and Ms.Wheatley.They are wonderful! Ms.McBee, his aide,has also helped him so much.We will miss them.They put much effort and care. They are always thinking of what is best for him. He has been helped Socially as well as w/academics.They are concerned he becomes a better person.They encourage and raise the bar when needed. I trust their judgement and that says a lot.Good people make a good school.My son has not had a bad teacher at Myers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2005

Hi I am a 8th grader here at Myers Middle School and the teachers have done a wonderful job of the school and the activites and athletic department is real good I am actually on the cheerleading team its real good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2005

I am a former student of Myers Middle. I would not recommend this school to anyone. The quality of academic programs was minimal. The people in charge of planning for the school did not do a very good job and many problems would occur at the beginning six-weeks because of that. Their Different Ways of Learning program doesn't seem to help the school. There were always fights and the music program is just about the worst in the state. I was in band and we never started playing until the fourth week of school. At the middle school I am at now we started our first piece of sheet music on the second day! Not much parental involvement and atheletics were horrible as well as extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 44% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
16%
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
18%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 48% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
16%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
27%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 39% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students18%
Female26%
Male12%
African American12%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White28%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners12%
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students10%
Female17%
Male4%
African American6%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White9%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learners15%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students18%
Female20%
Male16%
African American12%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners18%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students28%
Female39%
Male20%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners24%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students12%
Female11%
Male12%
African American6%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White13%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learners16%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students24%
Female26%
Male23%
African American16%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners16%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students19%
Female13%
Male24%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White24%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners13%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students12%
Female14%
Male11%
African American6%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged8%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learners5%

Reading

All Students25%
Female24%
Male27%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learners15%

Social Studies

All Students25%
Female24%
Male27%
African American19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners15%

Writing

All Students19%
Female21%
Male17%
African American12%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learners15%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2011.

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
24%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2011.

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 48% 11%
White 38% 82%
Hispanic 10% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3741 Pulliam Dr
Louisville, KY 40218
Phone: (502) 485-8305

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



John Paul II Academy
Louisville, KY



Binet School
Louisville, KY


Meredith-Dunn School
Louisville, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT