Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kammerer Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 2, 2009

My daughter loves KMS! There are lots of opportunities for involvement and the teachers have been very supportive. I would strongly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2009

I lov Kammerer the teacher lov ya and care for ya
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2009

Never believe bad reviews of kammerer. When it says parent reviews and all that stuff notice how pretty much none of them know how to spell. Yeah listen to the kids who actually go there and go to the teachers and knowwhat is actually going on. Kammerer is a great school and every student is successful unless they decide not to try but then again the teachers still help theyre not alone kammerer is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2009

I am just starting this year in 7th Grade and I haev a very good feeling about it. I had a bad experience in 6th Grade with one teacher who didn't seem to have any idea what they were teaching. Otherwise, it was a great experience. This year, all of my teachers seem well educated in the subject unlike the one last year. Jake M.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2009

you should never read a bad review about Kammerer Middle School because it is a fantastic middle school. I go there and i love it!! there have been a few bad things but other than 2 things that happened it is awesome!! go kammerer!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2008

I'm a seventh grader at this school! this is my second year here and i love it! granted, some bad things have happened here but does that mean all of us at the school are bad? also the teachers are great! in sixth grade, Mr. Mac, a geography teacher has many hands on activities and has fun and affective ways of getting the message in our head. This year, Mr Noah a history teacher, teaches all of the criteria neccasary. I feel challenged but at a way that i can complete my tasks and get good grades. even if some of the teachers are not your favorites, and trust me ive been there, and am there, it doesnt mean theyre bad teachers. even if theyre kind of boring, they are trying. take it from the pople who know the school best. The students! Please check it out! Rachel 7th grader
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2008

This school is wonderful! I love this school The principal is really wonderful. my daughter is in field hockey here and they won the championship it is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

It is interesting that the 'Good' comments come from students. However, most parental comments are not so nice. My daughter went there for 1/2 semester in 6th grade and it was a joke. She was not challenged academically, discipline is an issue and communication is downright dismal. I understand their constraints but most teachers now have to 'react' and cannot be pro active with all the discipline problems. As you can guess this hinders the other students ability to learn. Also, I cannot count how many movies or films that they watched. Waste of brainpower if you ask me. The whole public school system is abysmal and going down the tubes. We decided to homeschool and it has been wonderful. The kids are VERY WELL SOCIALIZED and challenged academically but without all the busy work. Not a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

Terrible scool! Too many dicipline problems and the teachers are apathetic. My child went to Kammerer in 6th grade and we put him in private school in 7th thinking it would take time for the new principal to adjust. We put him back in 8th grade, thinking he might do better socially. Wrong! He said all the teachers do is yell at the bad kids and that they get all of the attention. I have to agree. Communication with parents is the worst I''ve experienced in Jefferson County (We have 2 other children in elementary and high school). Definitely would NOT giv this school at good rating. Go somewhere else if possible or it's a waste of 3 important years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

This is our 2nd year at Kammerer. For 2007-2008 we have one in 6th and one in 7th. We weren't pleased with the school last year but figured we had a bad group of teachers & that our child was doing sub-par work. We're now on our 3rd 'group' of teachers. The school does not communicate with the parents. We recently found out (in going through our son's backpack) that he was missing over 20 assignments. Not one teacher contacted us. We found out, in a meeting withe principal, that the school 'preps' kids cor that CATS test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2007

this school is a good school. the orchestra, band, and choir got distinguished rating in KMEA. the teachers make you think and challenges us. they care about us too. there are plenty of things you can do after school and school. the school rox!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2007

This school is awsome. Some of the teams like field hockey annd lacrosse have placed first inthe championship. The academics program is outragious. The band, choir, and orchestra all got distinguished ratings in all county.The teachers care about the students. They work with them and help them with anything. This scool rocks! nick adams
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2007

This is incredible! They care about their students soooooooo much. Sometimes we get to go outside and play around and if you are in pe then you get to run around and get exercise. The music program is great.The school doesn't care about anything but their students. I love this school to death and the teachers are awesome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2007

This school is incredible. They excel in all subjects, and not just that, they are outstanding in their after-school activities. There are an abundance that you can choose to do, and it is a great way for your child to get involved. I'm on the field hockey team and we start practices & tryouts in the summer. When i walked into the school the first day, i already knew 5 people in my homeroom because of that experience. I made so many friends from just participating in the sport. After-school activities are so much fun, and Kammerer has a large amount of them to offer, along with parent involvement, disciplinary actions, outstanding KCCT scores, and a great music program. I really like our principal too, hes great. So why not next time, come on over and check out Kammerer. I think you'll be pleased.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2006

Kammerer Middle School is an excellent school if you have a special needs child. We could not have been happier. Entire school is supportive of kids and want to see them succeed. Parent involvement is important and encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2006

I think Kammerer is a nice school. Mrs. Parker tries her best with trying to make this school as neat and disiplined as it can be. Every day I walk into this school I do feel safe. Sometimes people can get a little out of hand but yes, we are human. But when it goes too far...the problem does get fixed. I am a 7th grade band student and I think that Mrs. Cornish is one of the best teachers I have ever met. I think band is one of the great qualities of Kammerer Middle School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2005

This is a great neighborhood school. The teacher's work together with the parents to ensure a proper education. The administration helps to keep incidents low. They are very active in maintainig a safe learning environment. P.E. was stopped per state, the reading scores needed to improve in an unreasonable amount of time, so P.E. was scrapped in favor of reading booster classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2005

This is not a good school to send your child to. The staff does not keep in contact with the parents and do not seem to care about grades. They do not offer P.E. anymore. I think it is because of budget, however they do have a full size gym that is never used accept for basketball games.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 44% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 48% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 39% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students38%
Female46%
Male30%
African American20%
Asian62%
Hispanic46%
Multiracial23%
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students35%
Female41%
Male29%
African American13%
Asian85%
Hispanic15%
Multiracial31%
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students41%
Female45%
Male37%
African American19%
Asian62%
Hispanic31%
Multiracial46%
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students35%
Female46%
Male25%
African American24%
Asian54%
Hispanic31%
Multiracial46%
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students31%
Female34%
Male27%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilities2%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students39%
Female48%
Male29%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students38%
Female42%
Male34%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
Female38%
Male43%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students43%
Female44%
Male42%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students52%
Female50%
Male54%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students31%
Female40%
Male24%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2011.

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 81%
Black 41% 11%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7315 Wesboro Rd
Louisville, KY 40222
Phone: (502) 485-8279

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Westport Middle School
Louisville, KY



The Brook-Kmi
Louisville, KY


Walden School Corporation
Woodlawn Park, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT