Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
46 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kammerer Middle School 2

Posted February 20, 2016
- a community member
This is my first year at Kammerer, I am an eighth grader coming from another school. I have never hated going to school so much, if your child is different in any way do not send them to this school, they will be bullied. The children at Kammerer are very smart and athletic, but they are also very cruel and mean. During the day, I have trouble just walking around the hallways, turning every corner and being a afraid of hearing someone say something about my appearance. I DO NOT recommend this school, it is both physically and emotionally exhausting.

Kammerer Middle School 5

Posted October 31, 2014
- a parent
My fifth year with students at this school. Of course, it is not perfect but it functions perfectly by the rules of the JCPS administration--which hands down poor, ineffective and inefficient solutions not just for KMS but for all JCPS middle schools. My children are learning to deal with diversity--social and economic--and learning that life is not fair regardless of what you do or don't do. The new principal is awesome. The district threw the prior principal under the bus by sending her to KMS. She, too, is a great principle..just not for a school like KMS where the district increases their enrollment overnight by over 100 UNDERperforming students without the resources in place to support their advancement. I'm giving the school 5 stars because 90% of the teachers are awesome! The other 10% just teach our children to deal with reality of life. Administration & staff are 100% awesome.


Kammerer Middle School 1

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
Just had a teacher call. My daughter asked for tutoring for some additional help. Teacher's response? She couldn't possibly. She has 28 students in her class. Really? They don't send home textbooks here. So, good luck kid. Not impressed. My other daughter is very intelligent. Finishing her work in a few minutes and reading all day long. If you are a middle of the roader, welcome to Kammerer! Middle of the road is all they seem to cater to here!

Kammerer Middle School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is a 6th grader this year & we've been so impressed! Kammerer is an outstanding school with a fully involved staff that truly cares about making this school the best. The parent involvement is huge & the extra curricular activities have an amazing group that leads them. We're so glad that Mr. Armour is back and committed to making Kammerer a top notch school!

Kammerer Middle School 1

Posted September 21, 2014
- a community member
I graduated from this school 3 years ago. There were fights everywhere and the students had absolutely no respect for the teachers and staff. I learned basically nothing at this school. There were fights at least twice a week and I couldn't walk through the hallway without worrying someone was going to pick on me. This school is what made me have the problems I have with anxiety up to this day. Really hope it's gotten better since then...


Kammerer Middle School 4

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
Open door policy with this administration is key. This school is going through a lot of change right now. If you don't understand some of the changes or why they are being made ask. Shoot a simple email or sit in on a PTSA meeting. I guarantee you will get your answer. Couldn't be happier about what is going on at Kammerer Middle School. GO CUBS!

Kammerer Middle School 4

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
This school is definitely on the upswing. Since the start of the 2014-2015 school year began, starting with orientation, I have seen long awaited positive change. This school is under much needed new leadership and is transitioning into a school that will produce smart, respectful and ambitious students. I have been told by daughter that it's tough right now, talking in the halls is limited during the changing of classes and even the slightest questionable behavior is not tolerated. It's all for the greater good! This school needed an IRON FIST and it has finally arrived!! KUDOS!

Kammerer Middle School 3

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
This school needs better communication with parents. There should be smaller class sizes,the teachers are trying to make lemonade out of lemons, but there seems to be a constant focus on test scores, I'm not sure that core principles/concepts are being understood. I hope that the new principal will make the necessary changes to help the students and the teachers.


Kammerer Middle School 1

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
This school is by far one of the worst schools I have ever been involved with. Major issues that you will encounter: poor leadership, teachers who only want to teach the "well-behaved" student, BULLYING by students and STAFF, incompetent teachers, and out of control behavior. My child has dealt with all of these issues and nothing is done about this school. Some teachers not lack integrity and WILL NOT teach your child. There is much division with AP vs honors and comp...this includes whites and blacks. Your child will leave this school with low self esteem, lack of an education (if they're not well-behaved or have a mild learning disability), and hating thus school. Good luck if you choose this school.

Kammerer Middle School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
My son is in his second year in Kammerer and we can't be more please with the academics and the staff, they really work hard everyday to ensure that the children receive the best possible education and parent involvement is phenomenal. I'll recommend to every prospective parent in the school boundaries to consider this school before make a decision.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kammerer Middle School
7315 Wesboro Rd, Louisville, KY  40222
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (502) 485-8279
Last modified Kammerer Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top