Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jeffersontown Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 782 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2014

This school is where u want to go if u don't want a future they are not very smart teachers the are inept and kids do what ever they want honestly if u want to call jtown a good school u need to go to the mental hospital until u get it straight ehich will happen to your kid. For cutting them self because they are a. Nobodt
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2014

I'm glad for my children to be out of this school. Whoever hired the principal needs to be fired!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

I wish I would have known this site existed before I enrolled my child there. She would have either went to a private school or been home-schooled. That place was a nightmare. I would suggest that anyone reading the reviews and considering enrolling their child that they try and make contact with another parent or parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

J-town is an awesome school! All the teachers are nice, teaches you what you need to learn and the principal is fun and loving and is involved with a a lot of the activities that the PTA makes. This is the best school ever!!


Posted July 16, 2013

J-Town Elementary is an AWESOME school! I wouldn't send my daughter anywhere else! She will be entering the 4th grade in the fall and has been at this school since Pre-School. She is a straight A student who loves school! The PTA is very active and very supportive. They have a number of activities throughout the school year for the entire family that are either free or very reasonably priced. These activities are always VERY well-attended and the students look forward to them. The teachers are quite special as well. They take the time to develop a relationship with their students and they really care about them. Many of them have been at the school for a number of years. Even though there are quite a few students at J-Town, it doesn't feel that way. My child isn't just a random student, I am not a random parent. They KNOW who we are because they CARE!! We matter! The theme at J-Town is "Teamwork makes the Dream Work" and I believe that is true! Everyone works together to make sure the students learn and feel safe and nurtured. Jeffersontown Elementary School is a FAMILY!! Why would you send your child anywhere else? I know I wouldn't!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

Jeffersontown Elementary is more than a school, it's a family and home away from home for my daughter. The staff shows a strong unity and true devotion for educating their students. They embed a love for learning and provide students the means to reach success in their own unique ways. The principal, assistant principal and counselors work to create an environment where students know they are important, feel they belong, and feel safe to grow and mature. The vast array of artistic, athletic and extracurricular activities make the first years of school exciting for students and affords all the opportunity to discover new interests and talents. I highly recommend this school. Since I'm not homeschooling my daughter, there's nowhere else I would want her to be. We are proud to be J-town Jaguars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

My school is Jeffersontown Elementary and I have nothing but the best experience with this school. The principal is great. The teachers are awesome and they are there if you have any problems. They take their time with the students if they are having problems. My daughter is in the 4th grade and loves going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2011

This is a great school... The teachers/staff here are wonderful, they listen and actually care about the kids here... I have two children who attend this school and they both love it... It's like their second home, ( since kids are in school as much as home).. would recommend this school to anyone...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

I am so proud to say my daughter attends J-Town Elementary! The staff and PTA are second to none !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

Our daughter attended Pre-K and Kindergarten at J-town Elementary and has had a wonderful experience. Both of her teachers have been more than we could have hoped for and more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

Excellent school. My child has adjusted well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

I love J-Town Elementary, my daughter is just going into the 1st grade, but we have had a great experience so far. I love being involved and everyone is great there!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

An awesome principal, staff and environment. I am proud to send my children to J-town Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

My child is in the 1st grade at J-town Elementary and we could not be happier! Their art classes are impressive, as is the reading, math, science! They have recess every day if the weather permits. It is important to promote physical fitness with obesity on the rise and many schools are leaving that out. The principal and teachers are fantastic with children and make learning fun! My child loves to go to school and is learning the appropriate skills for her age! I went to private schools growing up and she is learning more than I did in 1st grade. I would definitely recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

As a teacher in Jefferson Co., I was encouraged by other teachers to send my son to a traditional school. I decided to check out J-town anyway since it was our home school and close to the middle school where I teach. I spent 2 hours with the Principal grilling him about test scores, discipline, and curriculum. We decided to give J-town a try and we have been extremely pleased with the staff and my son's progress. He was reading books before he left kindergarten and he is a math whiz! My hat goes off to Mrs. Mouser and Mrs. Baker for a job well done. I also want to thank Mr. Foley for always listening ---you are a great leader!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female52%
Male59%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learners40%

Reading

All Students57%
Female55%
Male59%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learners40%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students51%
Female63%
Male42%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learners36%

Math

All Students48%
Female53%
Male45%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners27%

Reading

All Students48%
Female53%
Male45%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners9%

Science

All Students66%
Female76%
Male59%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners9%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female50%
Male55%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female48%
Male53%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students61%
Female56%
Male65%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students29%
Female44%
Male18%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 81%
Black 24% 11%
Hispanic 13% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3610 Cedarwood Way
Louisville, KY 40299
Phone: (502) 485-8274

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Edward School
Louisville, KY






St Gabriel School
Louisville, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT