Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK, 6-8
Public
Louisville, KY
Students enrolled: 541

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carrithers Middle School 2

Posted August 21, 2013
- a community member
This School Is STRICT. Yes We Are Taught Very Well, & Are Respected By MOST of the teachers. But they Dont let us do anything, they treat Us as if were still in elementary school. We have to walk in a line on a blue piece on tape To every class, we dont get to sit where we at lunch, we have to sit with our class. We Wear Uniforms which is ok , but when we do get to dress out We Cant Wear What We want, you cant where skinny jeans, you only can wear 2 bracelets on your arm, were not allowed to wear a certain type of necklaces. I had an necklace that said barbie and they made me Take it Off. We cant Dye Our hair Any Color, A few students in our school would wear braids and get a little bit of color like light Brown & they will make you Take It Out. They Dont Treat All the students equal . As you can See 52% of The school is White , & about 8 out of 10 of the teachers are white too. And they Treat Most of the white Students Better. Overall carrithers Is a Good school But They Are Strict & dont treat Students Equally.

Carrithers Middle School 1

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
My child is a special needsv child and this school's program for thesev type children is horrible. They nevevwent by what his IEP read. Infact it was totally disreguarded. Bullying was a continous problem. My child was not only tormented for his disability he was physically beaten by 2 regular education kids. Plus the school seemed not willing to help resolve the situation. Needless to say I pulled my son out of the school after 2 months. We are now home schooling where I know my child is safe and his needs are met.


Carrithers Middle School 1

Posted January 20, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Carrithers Middle School 5

Posted January 19, 2010
- a student
I went to Carrithers Middle School my 7th and 8th grade year. I'm not sure why people think its such a bad school. All of the staff and especially my teachers were very nice and cared about us. What is such the big deal? Its not a bad school, and this is coming from a former student there.

Carrithers Middle School 0
no rating

Posted December 02, 2009
- a student
I went to carrithers for my 8th grade year and I thought it was an awesome school I dont see why people are always saying how bad it is.


Carrithers Middle School 1

Posted September 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Carrithers Middle School 1

Posted August 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Carrithers Middle School 5

Posted July 03, 2009
- a student
i dont like the idea of people judging a school when they dont even know anything about the school i was going to carrithers im a freshman now but when i was there for three years i always felt safe the teachers were kind and helpful i could talk to mrs.hume when i realy need to nothing bad every happened at our school no one every bought a gun or anything like that they did bring candy but what student doesnt i feel that people need to get there facts right before you judge


Carrithers Middle School 5

Posted April 26, 2009
- a student
Im a student going to Carrithers Middle School, im currently in the 8th grade. The parents who write bad things about CMS, have no idea about how bad the school is; because they dont' even attend there. I think the school is really wonderful and safe. I don't think the teachers yell at the students for no reason! The teachers only yell at the student because of the disrespect they dish out. I also love the guidance counseling they have! I feel very comfortable talking to Ms. Hume or Mrs. Mohr, I look foward to going to school and seeing my friends and teachers! :)

Carrithers Middle School 4

Posted March 26, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carrithers Middle School
4320 Billtown Rd, Louisville, KY  40299
(502) 485-8224
Last modified Carrithers Middle School is a Public school that serves grades PK, 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carrithers Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top