Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wheatley Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
I saw a couple of staff that went beyond and above, but I also saw some really rude staff as well the lady inside the main office was RUDE! But the lady that is at the sign in desk who also works in the cafeteria is WONDERFUL, always a smile on her face.

Wheatley Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
THANK YOU TO THE FOLLOWING Ms. Patrick - It was an honor to have Michael in your class, a better 4th grade teacher for him this year I couldn't of asked for. Ms.Kang - Laila enjoyed when you joined the class. Mrs. Duncan - YOU are the best, maybe because we got to know each other more. This schools needs more teachers like you, teachers that keep in constant contact with the parents, who is respectful,kind,understandable, compassionate, and many much more


Wheatley Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
They try, but they really should test kids and have a couple of high achievers class

Wheatley Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
Easy they hardly get anything, or maybe is that since it's not challenging my kids always finish in a 1,2,3 and I have to step in and give them extra myself

Wheatley Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
They try, I've seen that they try, but this falls on the parents that don't pay attention to their kids and don't follow up on their kids


Wheatley Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
THE SCHOOL NO! They were lucky to have at least 3 good teachers Ms. Patrick , Mrs. Duncan & Ms.Kang THANK YOU my kids would of crumble with out you

Wheatley Elementary School 1

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
All I can say is, I AM GLAD !! My kids will go to a different school. I think aside from discipline this school also LACKS education. My children came from a different school in FL and starter Wheatly Elementary halfway the school year, and the whole time my children were at ABOVE GRADE LEVEL they were not challenged academically, and were learning below grade level. The children LACK discipline, my kids were bullied for being non-black, and for being geeks. The staff tries their best to resolve issues, but they don't resolve fast enough. MY CHILDREN ARE MORE THAN HAPPY TO LEAVE...

Wheatley Elementary School 4

Posted April 17, 2012
- a parent
I love this school. All three of my children attended here. They all got their basics for Wheatley. My son is headed to college this Fall. My daughter goes to Male High School. My Son goes to Dupont Manual. Learning starts at home, and is nurtured in a beautiful enviroment such as Wheatley. Teachers take pride in their students education there. The only thing I would change about this school is parent participation, stop standing on the sidelines.


Wheatley Elementary School 1

Posted November 25, 2009
- a parent
This has got to be the worse school in the city.If my kids ever have to go there again. I will just pull them out and home school them.My kids went there for one year.And they are now a year behind.If they cant do better than what they do.They should just close the school.If they arent going to teach the kids.

Wheatley Elementary School 3

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
My step-son attends Wheatley but not for long. The school is doing the best they can with what they have but the location is in what most people think of as the 'hood'. My child lives elsewhere and is bussed there. The faculty are also on the younger side, I assume because when they are able to transfer to another district they do. The school has a wonderful principal, we just aren't happy with the child safety guidelines. The children are aloud to leave the school before a parent picks them up - I just don't want my 4th grader walking 17th street alone.

Nearby schools

Wheatley Elementary School
1107 South 17th St, Louisville, KY  40210
(502) 485-8348
Last modified Wheatley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top