Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Byck Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 27, 2013

We love Byck! When choosing a kindergarten program for our daughter, we toured & researched many schools. We knew our child would do well wherever she went but we knew she would thrive at Byck due to the Waldorf Inspired & Talent Developement Magnet programs. At the end of her first week of kindergarten we were contacted by the school letting us know that they would like to move her up into a K1 split classroom, where more advanced kindergarteners are in the same class with 1st graders. We were thrilled to see that the teachers noticed within a week's time what we had been concerned about, that our child would be bored in a regular kindergarten classroom and that she may need to advance more rapidly than expected. We are now at the end of her first year and she has amazed us at every turn. Byck has been nothing but a positive experience for her. She is reading and testing in math & science 3 grade levels above her own & there is talk that she may skip the 1st grade entirely. This would never happen at a school where less attention is paid to a child's differences and where these differences are not celebrated as they are at Byck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2010

I have two children who attend Byck and I couldn't ask for a better school. My oldest child is very musically inclined, while my youngest child needs to be challenged academically and they both have had their needs met. All of the staff have bent over backwards to be accessible and helpful; I have even had teachers call me during lunch to address a concern I had. I would totally recommend Byck to any parent looking for a quality education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The Waldorf Program is wonderful and my daughter is learning so much! She wakes up on Saturday's disappointed that she's not going to school. Her teacher is wonderful and the school has many opportunities for parents to be involved in everyday activities. I love Byck, I couldn't ask for a better school for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2009

I love Byck!!! The faculity and staff has worked so well with my ADHD son to make his education life so much easier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Byck has a very good magnet program: Waldorf-Inspired. My kid likes to go there, and they have site based decision making.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

After conducting extensive research and tours of the schools available to us, we chose the Waldorf Inspired Magnet Program at Byck Elementary as our first choice. We were looking at Montessori programs and other magnet programs but the emphasis on the arts and the warm welcome we experienced while visiting Byck really won us over. Our son is in the Waldorf Kindergarten class this year and we are so pleased with his experience so far. He wants to be the first to school and is excited to tell us about his day. He sounds out letters and words while he is not in school and enjoys practicing his new math skills. Songs and poems set the structure of the day so the children always know what to expect. Artwork covers the walls, curtains hang in the windows, lamps with soft lighting are used along with natural light from the windows which all contribute to the comfortable feel of the school. The principal and staff are very enthusiastic about continuing to grow as a great school. The teachers smile in greeting in the hallway and have a quiet authority with their students. Byck also has a Talent Development Magnet program as well as a Gifted and Talented program for the older students. I enjoy volunteering at the school because I think it's a fun place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

This is an excellent school. My daughter loves the faculty and staff. My child has learned so much and has exceeded all of her required levels of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

My chidren are thriving at Byck-they are encouraged to excell both academically and creatively. They love their teachers and are excited to go to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

Byck has done a wonderful job with making my more than shy 1st grader become comfortable and safe in his new learning environment. They go out of their way to get to know each child and his /her family. They call me on a regular basis just to check-in and see how he is doing and they correct behavioral issues the other children might be having so the others kids can actually learn (and they as well). The Waldorf magnet focuses on teaching the mind, body & heart so they really emphasize proper behavior, kindness, caring for/helping others as well as the great core content that is taught so well. The other magnet program they have is called a Talent-Development magnet, which is based on finding each individual child's strengths and learning styles and teaching them accordingly. Wonderful out of the box thinkers/teachers at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

This school is great for people looking to keep music & art alive in the schools today. They focus on teaching all the Kentucky core content to the best of the student's abilities, but have a strong emphasis on the arts. On my open house tour we walked into the music teachers class and he & the kids were listening to Bob Dylan. He said they were learning about folk music and translating lyrics. Not your average style of teaching. That's what I loved about it. It was also very clear that the students all loved their teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
31%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
12%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students23%
Female29%
Male18%
African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students19%
Female29%
Male11%
African American8%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students21%
Female23%
Male16%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students23%
Female26%
Male18%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students22%
Female20%
Male26%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students29%
Female29%
Male29%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students35%
Female40%
Male31%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students42%
Female45%
Male40%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students43%
Female42%
Male44%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students20%
Female21%
Male19%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
44%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
31%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 64% 11%
White 23% 81%
Hispanic 9% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2328 Cedar St
Louisville, KY 40212
Phone: (502) 485-8221

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Atkinson Academy
Louisville, KY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT