Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brandeis Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

The academics are outstanding. However, I was concerned, as well as other parents in my daughters class, about the declining self esteem that we witnessed in our children. I knew of some children who had to see counselors because of this. The school's discipline runs off a light system, like most schools. The children are not allowed to socialize with each other at all unless they are on the playground, which is limited to only the nice days outside. Every Friday they had a class party during lunch that only the "good" kids could attend and if a child received more than 2 yellow or red lights they were forced to eat BY THEMSELVES in the lunch room and forbidden to speak to anyone while eating lunch. This is absolutely absurd and needs to change. My poor five year old is a little hyper and she was stuck eating lunch by herself every Friday while her friends got to eat lunch in the classroom and watch a Disney movie. I worked very hard to get my child into this school and I'm not sure it's really worth it. I will be sending my daughter to another school for 1st grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

We have had a spectacular experience with Brandeis Elementary. Everything seems so well thought out to provide the most enrichment for our children. The other day I asked my Kindergartener how his day was and he was shocked that I even asked "Awesome, as always!". This is our fourth school due to moves and we are grateful every day. In the end the very best part has been the diversity in the students and the parent involvement. This is a very dedicated group of parents from all different backgrounds and together with the staff they have created a very special learning environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

Brandeis Elementary is a great school full of Professionals that truly care about not only the students but Families as well!! They have a dedicated reputation of believing in our children and eager to see them succeed! The Principal is a strong positive leader and I love how the teachers challenge my daughter academically. It has honestly put her ahead!!! I feel a connection with everyone, from front office staff, security, teachers etc.. Every since my daughter has been a student at Brandeis I see her growth and development above her grade level!! There is so much positive energy in the school. I just would like for all of the staff at Brandeis Elementary School to know that you are APPRECIATED!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

I was a student at this school, graduating in 2009. I am now a freshman in high school and if i hadn't gone to Brandeis and received the wonderful, caring, personal education i received, i would not be who i am today. The staff at this school are exceptional! I believe that this school rivals a private school in education quality. I never saw any real behavior or bullying problems. Once again, this is the best elementary school in Jefferson County!


Posted January 24, 2012

I was a student and all I have to say is that this school is awesome! Its has a great staff and the teachers are all nice! All the lessons are hands on, and I have gotten top scores on the KCCT all the years I have been there. There are good extra-curricular programs like chess, fencing, quick recall, and problem solving. I love this school!!!!!


Posted January 31, 2010

I love this school! its standard of teaching is really good and my kindergarten daughter loves each and every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

Great principal leadership. Teachers for my son in 2nd and 3rd grade and for my daughter in kindergarden have all been excellent. Teachers consistently push children to perform at their highest potential. If child demonstrates that standard curriculum is not challenging enough, then teachers have the flexibility to provide additional material that will prove challenging. Kids learn in a safe, no nonsense, disciplined environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

Brandeis offers an exciting learning environment with highly motivated and effective teachers. The cultural and racial diversity of the student body is phenomenal! This school offers kids the daily experience of dealing with individuals of very diverse backgrounds which better prepares them for our increasingly global economy. The staff is so dedicated and innovative. I feel like my three kids are being truly prepared and have developed a love of learning that I think will last a lifetime. Signed, an obviously supremely satisfied parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

Brandies is an excellent school with an advanced curriculum and the teachers motivate the kids to set the bar higher than their level. I switched my kid from a private school to Brandies and I can see her competitive spirit to be on the top has made her excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

Brandeis is an excellent learning environment. The teachers and staff are hardworking. The kids love all the exciting and hand-on activities the get to participate in on a daily basis. My children are never bored. The accelerated curriculum keeps my children very engaged in learning. We are happy with our choice of public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

Great school-very well diverse in culture and very respectful of all the different cultures. The staff is awesome -they really challenge the children to do their very best. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

We toured so many school trying to find the right fit for my son. Brandeis is that perfect fit. Both he and his little sister are know by name by most of the staff. The teachers are wonderful and make learning intresting as well as fun. I feel my children will be leave brandeis with a wealth of knowledge and the ability to be a free thinker/problem solver.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

5 stars! this school is the best!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

We chose Brandeis over our neighborhood schools because the teaching staff and academics are excellent. If you want an accelerated public education for your kids, Brandeis is a wonderful option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

Brandeis is a public magnet school, focusing on math, science and technology. It is a wonderful school with caring and qualified teachers. The principal is very involved with parents and students. She was extremely helpful with relocation issues. My daughter loves her teacher and looks forward to going to school everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2007

I went to brandeis from headstart to fifth grade it was a grade diverse school now im a 10th grader at central high school. I'm very proud to say i went to brandeis
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 14, 2005

Thanks to being a Science Math magnet, Brandeis is a better school than many others in the county. It is mostly because it attracts best students from across the city to blend them with its reside students. Education level can be substantially improved especailly in mathematics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

I am pleased with the accelerated rate of learning at Brandeis, especially in reading, writing and social studies. There is a lot of parent involvement which is a big part of what makes it a great place. Most of the teachers are very good. Most importantly, my kids say they like school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

Brandies has one of A few magnet programs in this city, attracting hightly expectation kids coming from all around the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2003

We have really enjoyed the diversity and education our children have received here. They are much more advanced than their peers in many areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female66%
Male77%
African American47%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female63%
Male71%
African American47%
Asian80%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students76%
Female82%
Male67%
African American65%
Asian85%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students70%
Female76%
Male63%
African American32%
Asian89%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female86%
Male81%
African American65%
Asian96%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students90%
Female93%
Male86%
African American76%
Asian96%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female64%
Male79%
African American43%
Asian95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female64%
Male64%
African American41%
Asian84%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students86%
Female83%
Male87%
African American70%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students64%
Female67%
Male62%
African American46%
Asian84%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 11%
White 31% 81%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 21% 1%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2817 West Kentucky
Louisville, KY 40211
Phone: (502) 485-8214

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Byck Elementary School
Louisville, KY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT