Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Foster Traditional Academy

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

Foster Traditional Academy is an institute that focuses on education and giving youth leadership opportunities. Principal Gunn is a dynamic leader and he believes in our youth and cares about them. Foster is a great school because it cares about its community and really works towards involving parents in the neighborhood to be a part of their children learning and connecting with the teachers. I would recommend Foster to any parent who wants a place that strives to make sure that their children are successful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

My sister has 7 children, all of which attend/attended this school. I have heard nothing but great things about Foster. I recently attended an event at Foster that was geared toward the preparation of the newly implemented KCCT and let me tell you, I couldn't have been more impressed! They have a new principal that had JUST started working there for the 2012-2013 school year & faculty, students, & parents love him! Just in that amount of time, he has made so many improvements within the school & he even knew & greeted every child by name! A staff member even told me that she now looks forward to coming to work! He had scheduled the event that I had attended to not only enlighten the parents on the KCCT and what it consisted of, but to implore the parents to GET INVOLVED & prepare their children for it. As a parent of students who attend Frayser Elementary, it was very discerning & upsetting to see that my children's school wasn't as involved as Foster. They offer so much for their students & it's very easy to tell that the staff actually care about each & every individual child! I even spoke to the principle about my children's school & he personally brought me the transfer forms!


Posted October 7, 2011

I am so happy that my son attends this school! He started there under the guidance of Ms. Murphy in Kindergarten and is now in first grade being taught by Ms. Reidling. He is so excited about school and these teachers communicate so well with myself and my husband concerning his progress and any needs. I have only had experience with these teachers and I am VERY pleased with both of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

My daughter is a first grader in the traditional program. This is her first year at Foster. She loves it here. Her teacher Ms. Diers is wonderful. Her performance here has been outstanding. Im glad that we chose Foster. So far it has been an excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

Foster has the best teacher ever! My daughter had the privilege of being taught by Ms. Riedling last year in 1st grade. She started out reading Dr. Suess books and by the end of the school year was reading chapter books at a 3rd grade level. She now has a love for books that will continue for the rest of her life. Ms. Riedling gets each of her students to work up to their individual potential. Foster needs more teachers like her!!! Every school does!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I think Foster is a wonderful school my son is in the second grade and I think he is doing wonderful with the staff that is working with him
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

I am a fourth grader here now fifth. I have learned so much! I recently went to Kenwood for the first three weeks of school and i had so much homework i cried everynight. I have about 3 pages each day. I love it here and it is way better than Kenwood including teachers and princables!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2007

I love this school my son is in 1st grade and my daughter will be attending next year for pre-k. My mother is a teacher aid at this school and has worked there for over 5 years. The teachers and staff are wonderful. I would strongly recommend this school to everyone! My son has a great attitude about school and his grades and I know that is because of the teachers and staff. I am very involved in my children's education and participate in all activates for them. I wish all parents were able to that. I would like to give a special thanks to Ms. Nancy Grant and Ms. Lynn Reidling, these are the two best teachers in the world. Thank you for caring so much for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2006

my son has been going here for 3 years. Never really had problems at the school untill this year he was being bullied to the point of not wanting to go to school anymore, when I brought this to Ms. Miller's attention, she took care of it immediatly and things are much better now for him. The bus ride is a different story though. Too long of a ride and no discipiline for the students who really need it. Jake has a wonderful teacher who I can't say enough nice things about and Mrs. Miller knows how to handle the kids pretty well. Overall its been a good experience for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

i believe youre school is not invovled enough with the kids ...theres no activites or enjoyment for them no programs .you don'nt get parents envoved enough or keep us informaded enough .its about the children keep that in mind. just a concerned parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2004

I am extremely excited about this school. My daughter completed Kindergarten and will be starting 1st grade next month. She had a tough teacher but one wo taught her so much! I was surprised to see the principal leadership at only a 3 since Dr. Miller is extremely involved and caring. I have seen her stand out in the hall rotunda in the mornings and call kids out by their name and talk to them and encourage them. I think there could definitely be room for parental involvement but still it is pretty good from what I have heard of other schools. I have been very pleased with the school and am very glad I explored other options. My daughter has a longer bus ride but I feel it is a small price to pay. I am grateful for Foster Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2004

I feel that the teachers are very suppotive of one another. They are very friendly but also professional. It is important to the quality of a school to have such wonderful teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2004

The teachers and students are a great bunch, but unfortunately, the school is horribly run. The principal wants nothing to do with the teachers, parents or even the students. If it weren't for the high quality of the teaching staff, this school would have been run into the ground a long time ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I think Stephen Foster Academy is a great school because you have teachers their that really take time with the students and care about them very much. Every teacher at Stehpen Foster cares about every student there. Mrs. Miller, the principal is a great pricipal and a leader to our children. I would recommend stephen foster academy to anyone who has a child and cares about their childs future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This school is wonderful! There are 24 students in the classes with a teacher and an aid. I was skeptical about the school until I went for a tour. It has first class everything. The office staff goes out of their way to help get you enrolled and they help with situations that arise during the school year. My son left kindergarten last year able to read and do simple math problems. They also offer one-on-one assistance for any student who is falling behind. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

My experience at this school has been positive. The teachers seems to be truely concerned about and committed to the education of each student. Reading and math are stressed in k and 1 more than in other schools. The students love it so much that they rarely miss school. But I don't think this is a type of school that a problem child would flourish in.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
18%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
23%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
12%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
31%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students15%
Female12%
Male19%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White14%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students20%
Female14%
Male28%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White19%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students28%
Female44%
Male14%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students19%
Female23%
Male16%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students20%
Female26%
Male16%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students28%
Female33%
Male24%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students13%
Female14%
Male12%
African American9%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White29%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students26%
Female30%
Male23%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students34%
Female32%
Male36%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students14%
Female18%
Male10%
African American11%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White18%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
42%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
23%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 74% 11%
White 20% 81%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1401 South 41st St
Louisville, KY 40211
Phone: (502) 485-8253

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





King Elementary School
Louisville, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT