Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Highland Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 31, 2016
- a community member
I want to say thank you to Ms. Torres for being such a wonderful person. she is really one of the sweetest people to ever live. I want to thank Mrs. Marks Morgan for being such an amazing teacher and person. I also want to say thank you to Mr Fraiser, Mr. Eberenz, Ms. Straub, and Coach Hammonds for being such awesome and creative teachers.

Highland Middle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted March 31, 2016
- a community member
Highland middle School does NOT assign any homework. At all. I have only had like 10 homework assignments the entire 2.5 years i was there.


Highland Middle School 1

Posted March 31, 2016
- a community member
Im currently homeschooled, but I went to Highland for 2.5 years and I could not be happier to get out. Here are the pros and the cons of this school. Pros: -the chorus teacher is the BEST chorus teacher ever. She's sweet, funny, amazing, and does an amazing job at teaching the students. Im still taking lessons with her privately! -There are two world languages you can take: Spanish and French. -You can take 2D art or 3D art -Lots of after school activities -The counselors are super nice Cons: -Most of the teachers cannot teach whatsoever. -Too many problematic kids -Bomb threats are almost monthly -The principle sucks at his job -The core content teachers suck at actually making you feel smart -I barely paid any attention in most of my classes and I got A's and B's -The French teacher sucks at her job. I once wrote down the lyrics to "never gonna give you up" by rick astley on apaper and I got an A. -It's not super easy to make friends -LOTS OF FIGHTS OH MY GOSH -There are three types of teachers. The super strict teachers that actually like their students and want them to succeed (Ms. Torres is a Spanish teacher there and she is a prime example of that kind of teacher) The teacher that just gives lectures and doesn't even care if the students aren't listening, and the teacher who is super fun but doesn't teach much due to them cracking so many jokes. -Don't go here.

Highland Middle School 2

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
My advanced placement child regrets choosing this school. She is sometimes put into classes with kids who do not care to learn. When asked for a transfer, the answer was no. If you look at these reviews the best reviews were years ago. Looks like this school is not longer what it used to be.

Highland Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
In advanced classes the teacher appear to be effective but not in the other classes.


Highland Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
My student spends plenty of time working on her studies. But we will see if she is prepared for high school.

Highland Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
The fact that my student has good grades in spite of the non-disciplined atmosphere of some classes. That is hoping she has actually learned and her grades are not because of no challenges.

Highland Middle School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
No respect if the students can not be controlled so those wanting to learn can hear the teacher.


Highland Middle School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
My student did not receive any compassion caring or empathy from the admin when she asked to be transferred to a more disciplined class.

Highland Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
From what my students says some students can not be controlled. My student regrets her decision to go to this school because there are many loud and uncontrolled students

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Middle School
1700 Norris Place, Louisville, KY  40205
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. (502) 485-8266
Last modified Highland Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top