Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Iroquois High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 7 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2010

I am a parent and uncle of teens that attend and have graduated from Iroqouis High School. They have made so many change and improvement to the school and their education process. I am very proud of what they help my daughter become. She was educated and supported and encourged to be all that she can be. Iroqouis is a very culturally diverse school and the Principle Mr. Riddle has done an excellent job and continues to do so! His door is always open and he listen to students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

I'm a junior there, and I would rather be at school then at home. I love the school. I've met some of the most amazing kids there. Their like family <3 I never want to leave.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2009

I am a graduating senior and Iroquois helped me grow into an amazing young lady, and thanks to this school I know that I will be successful in anything I do because of what they have taught me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2009

I am a freshmen at IHS. it is an amazing school. there freshmen academy helps when transitioning from middle to highschool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2008

I personally attend Iroquoia and i think it is an awesome school. I'm a freshman there and i was scared to death to go because of some of the stuff people had said but Iroquois is nothing like what everyone said. It's not dirty, some people call it 'the dirty I' and its not bad kids that go there. they have amazing programs and the teachers main priority is making sure the students understand. i love this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2008

I heard horrible things about Iroquois from many people. And silly me believed all of the horrible things until I set foot inside of Iroquois. The funny thing about what all the things I heard and believed was that the people who were telling me things had never even set foot inside the school so what they heard and thought was true really wasn't. I thought the school would be dirty just like the nickname they gave the school,'Dirty I'. But the school has awards for being one of the c;eanest in Jefferson County,who would've thought? They told me the teachers don't care about the students and the kids don't learn anything. Well all of my teachers were there to support me when I did well and on my back when I slacked off. Yes there are bad apples of the bunch like always but you can't judge everyone by them!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2008

I believe that Iroquois is a great School I went there for Freshmen and part of Soph. I have to say People there are much nicer then my current school. and Plus the Teachers there helps you when you are needed most!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2008

As a student of Iroquois high i can say how much i love this school. With the best girls basketball team in state and a highly devolped music program. A highly ranked chess team and rifle team. This is the best school in state. No matter what anyone says.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2008

As student I am pleased to say that I have attended Iroquois High School for three years and plan to attend Iroquois high until I graduate. Iroquois has a plethora of opportunities for students to get involved and succeed. I myself am involved in many activities and know that Iroquois is a wonderful and exciting school. Yes, much like other schools, Iroquois has its bad apples but they cannot be used to label all the other students attending this school, nor, can the failures of those students be used to describe the teaching staff. Each student at Iroquois has the oportunity, and is encouraged, to be a successful. There are many wonderful students and teachers at Iroquois and they are naturally over looked by pessimistic people who know nothing about Iroquois. Please attend the school before you judge it. Iroquois is getting better each day thanks to those who truly care.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 31, 2007

i love iroquois high school...i actually attend iroquois high...i'm in all honors classes, and the music program is awesome. i am also on the girls basketball team. iroquois has some great programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2007

both of my sons when to IHS, we didn't have any problems....they both were involved in after school activities (sports, newspaper, year book). the only problems that I saw was a low parent involvement...but the worse was the dress code is way too lax... I think that the students would be better prepared for learning if they were dressed 'neater'...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Being a student at Iroquois High School, attending for the fourth year I can honestly say that Iroquois High School has turned out for the better. Our Principal really cares about us, and trys his best to interact with the students. He comes into my Advanced Placement classes, and asks us students at the top to be great role models for the underclassmen, our friends, and people on the outside. The teachers, as well as other staff are all great, and they have a passion for helping with the betterment of I.H.S despite of the negativity Iroquois has received, I believe our school is rising to the top!


Posted September 9, 2003

I think iroquois is a great school. I have 2 kids that attends there and 2 that have graduate from there and in college right now. At first I heard alot of bad thing about the school but I have found out for myself good thing about the school and I can say the new principal there is super. And the asst principal is great they r doing alot to improve the school so I rate the school good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I am the parent of a child that is a 2003 grad. from Iroquois and I think that it is a fine school. If not for the teachers help there my daughter would probably not be in college today. She is doing wonderful in college and I want to praise the teachers and principal for all they did to help my daughter achieve her goals in life. I think that parents should go to the school they want their child to go to and just spend some time in the halls and office. At Iroquois they make you feel wanted and not just wondering why you are there and what they have to do to help get you out the door. My daughter attended another High School in Louisville for her first 2 years and that school never made me or her feel the way Iroquois did. Thanks Iroquois.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I am a student at Iroquois and i know all that has been said about the school, mostly bad comments but they are usually not true. I am in my last year there and i would'nt want to go anywhere else its a great school. Parents always go by what they have been told and when they hear that thier childs friend attends Iroquois they assume thats a bad kid and thats false. Most of they students there are great kids but the parents don't give Iroquios a chance to show them wrong. I feel that before you send your child to a school you should check the school out whether you hear bad or good things because you would be surprised at your discovery, most of the schools you see good are the ones that aren't at all.


Posted May 28, 2003

There seems to be a few teachers who 'carry' the involvement sector. The lack of parental involvement is reflected by the teens' character. It is incredibly sad. The overall good and aspiration that is implemented will not be enough to propel this school to a higher standard [in regards to test scores, athletic programs, etc]. I plan to organize a fundraiser for the betterment of future students although I will not allow my child to attend next year. This decision was made when I picked him up from school early due to sickness. He had been sitting upright in an uncomfortable chair for over an hour. There is not even a sickbed, room or nurse. That is unacceptable!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 51% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
15%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students12%
Female15%
Male10%
African American10%
Asian13%
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White18%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Students with disabilities2%
English language learners2%

Writing

All Students10%
Female11%
Male9%
African American8%
Asian7%
Hispanic7%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White16%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Students with disabilities2%
English language learners2%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

All Students45%
Female55%
Male36%
African American42%
Asian28%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learners20%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2011.

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2011.

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
14%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
16%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
30%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
13%
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
29%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
20%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students20%
Female17%
Male23%
African American10%
Asian41%
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners32%

Biology I

All Students26%
Female33%
Male21%
African American16%
Asian32%
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learners9%

English II

All Students20%
Female20%
Male19%
African American17%
Asian12%
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White29%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities2%
English language learners4%

U.S. History

All Students14%
Female4%
Male20%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White13%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners0%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20143What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

3 This rating is based on average composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 52% 11%
White 34% 81%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 1%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Rugby
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4615 Taylor Blvd
Louisville, KY 40215
Phone: (502) 485-8269

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Rosary Academy
Louisville, KY


De Sales High School
Louisville, KY


St. James Academy
Louisville, KY


Doss High School
Louisville, KY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT