Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Meyzeek Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1118 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2014

Love this school. Principal is super. Teachers for the most part have been very good. They really care about the kids and it shows. I feel confident my child will be prepared for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2013

My absolute favorite school I have attended. Prior to Meyzeek, I was an a and b student, but as soon as I was put in the competitive meyzeek environment where grades are everything, I became one if the best I my class. Additionally, I have never had such a unique cultural experience as I did at meyzeek. Some if my best friends were Muslim, hindu, and catholic and we all got along PERFECTLY. I know you think the neighborhood is sketchy,and I swear I ducked for bullets when I first got off the bus (thank goodness none came). The people of the neighborhood know they have family is inside that school building so they insure the schools security. Furthermore, being around children of a different socioeconomic standpoint from where I had been raised from, had a profound effect on me.


Posted October 27, 2013

While I am sure this school isnt perfect we are thrilled with it. The teachers motivate the students to learn and there is just a lot of neat innovation in this school. My son scored very high on the AP exam, but his grades were not good, he moved to the AP program at Meyzeek and his grades and attitude have soared! My other boy is in ece with an iep and we are also thrilled he will be attending next year now that we have gotten to know the administration and we know that they have a huge number of ece teachers. Great school, dont be put off by the neighborhood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2012

We are very happy with Meyzeek. This school has everything - great leadership, wonderful teachers, and challenging academic environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2011

I attended Meyzeek in the 1990's and it was a great experience. We moved a lot and this was my third and final middle school. There, I got a well rounded experience and my time there prepared me to do well at duPont Manual High School--one of the top schools in the country at the time. The teaching staff was memorable, especially the art and science teacher. They really made my 8th grade year wonderful. The track and cross country coaches very supportive and encouraging as well as the community school staff. I truly believe that it was the community school staff that made the biggest impact on me. The social worker was probably the best counselor I ever had because she cared so much more than just between school hours. The security was great on support staff as well and there were so many others! The principal's leadership was wonderful. The art competition made me a better artist and helped me to build my career on into adulthood. The class work was fun, but effective and rigorous and they always tied the field trips to a lesson we learned to assure our retention of the materials.


Posted October 15, 2010

Meyzeek is an amazing MST learning environment which is why it attracts kids from every corner of the city!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

My daughter graduated from Meyzeek and is currently in high school. She continues to have a strong relationship with the friends that she made at Meyzeek. The school is able to support a diverse population of students and cultures. I am proud to say that my daughter attended Meyzeek because I know that she was exposed to ideas/concepts/opportunities that are not available in other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

The first day of school, I was shocked to see all or alot of the staff greeting us making us feel protected and welcomed. It gave the school a sense of importance and it showed they were really interested in each childs wellbeing. So far, So good!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

My son attended Meyzeek from 6-8 grade and I am totally pleased with his academic performance and the teachers attitude towards my son. They really cared about his success and wanted him to get a quality education. They called me with concerns and offered to stay after school to give him exta help when he needed it. I would recommend anyone to send their child to Meyzeek. I have a daughter that will be entering middle school in 09/10 school year and Meyzeek will be our #1 choice school. I want to personally thank all my son's teachers for going that exta mile. We need more like you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2008

Meyzeek has many opportunities for students to engage in. These include not just athletic things like basketball and soccer, but also include academic activities like Science Olympiaf, Science Fair and Quick Recall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

i love this school it has good teachers and good after school programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2007

My daughter loves this school, her teachers are very responsive about any concerns I have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

I have nothing but great things to say about Meyzeek. My son loves it there! That's what counts for me. He enjoys all the activities and all the friends that he has made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2005

I love Meyzeek! Meyzeek has many activities to do! They have everything including Step Team, Painting, Art Club, Quick Recall, Science Olympiad, Soccer, Field Hockey, Dance, After School Orchestra, Jazz Band, and many, many more! Meyzeek is one of the smartest schools in the state. There is a lot of diversity. There was a poll last year which listed the many languages that we speak. There were around 40 different languages! The only bad thing about Meyzeek is possibly the location. Children can be very involved! This school is a great school, but many people don't enjoy it. I think that is the way with many middle schools. I am an 8th grader, and take it from me, your daughter/son should join!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 44% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 48% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 39% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students63%
Female63%
Male62%
African American31%
Asian97%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial55%
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students58%
Female57%
Male59%
African American17%
Asian98%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial46%
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female63%
Male65%
African American28%
Asian97%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial36%
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students68%
Female71%
Male65%
African American42%
Asian97%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial55%
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female57%
Male52%
African American26%
Asian100%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial39%
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities3%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female64%
Male60%
African American35%
Asian100%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial62%
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students63%
Female63%
Male63%
African American35%
Asian98%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial62%
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female66%
Male63%
African American41%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial62%
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students61%
Female63%
Male59%
African American38%
Asian95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial62%
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students72%
Female68%
Male76%
African American52%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial69%
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students40%
Female50%
Male32%
African American22%
Asian85%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial46%
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2011.

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 81%
Black 35% 11%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 1%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

828 South Jackson St
Louisville, KY 40203
Phone: (502) 485-8299

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Keller School
Louisville, KY




St. Francis School
Louisville, KY


Brown School
Louisville, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT