Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Noe Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1298 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2007

this is our first year with Noe and the teachers have all been wonderful. if you have a question or problem they are so quick to say let me see if I can help I like. Esp. on the blazers team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2007

I would like to rate Noe Middle School, my daughter is getting ready to attend her last year at Noe and I have been completely happy with the education that she has received. She is a straight A student in all AP courses and she has been challenged the whole time. I look forward to her last year there and hope that it is just as good as the past 2.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

I rate Noe 'below average' because my child's experience there as a 6th grader last year was less than acceptable. Her academic needs as an AP student were not met. She did not qualify for Noe's highly touted Gifted & Talented program. Yet this same child was previously identified in grade school as highly gifted in reading and language arts. Relegated to the standard Advanced Placement program, she quickly became bored in several classes & began to read & write on her own during class time. It seems that unless your child is on the GT team, she will not get the support needed to excel academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2007

I am a current eighth grader at Noe and Noe middle is such a good shoool. It has great diversity, and the teachers are well educated. Its on of the best middle schools in Jefferson County.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2007

I am a seventh grader at Noe, and i'm on 7 challengers, the GT team. I love it here, and last year was an awesome year. i loved the 6 pacesetter teachers. they rocked. i made so many friends really quickly. It's a totally awesome school. I play clarinet in the band, and ms.lyles is great too!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2006

I am a recent graduate of Noe Middle School.I attended the school from grades 6-8 and must say that I very much liked the atmosphere of the school. There is a lot of diversity in the school, and in my opinion, everyone is much more accepted and liked because of their individuality. I also believe the open class rooms are great when it comes to helping students focus. Because students must learn to block out all the noise around them and really focus on their class, when they move on to traditional class rooms again, they'll have no problem keeping their attention on their teacher and in the class room. In the upcoming school year, I will be attending duPont Manual Magnet High School. I know that Noe has really prepared me for life as a high schooler!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 24, 2006

I go to Noe middle school and personally I love it!! The teachers there make learning fun! They have really strong rules and there are teachers everywhere watching over the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2006

I believe that Noe Middle School is one of the best middle schools in Jefferson County. I used to attend Noe from 1998-2001. I am now a Freshman at the University of Louisville. Noe's diverse atmosphere prepared me more for college than my high school did. It puts students in close proximity with each other and lets them interact as teams. There is also great diversity of the ethnicity of the students. I made many friends from different cultures, one from Vietnam, Bosnia, and Korea, who I would probably never had the experiencing of meeting if not for Noe. There are many academic programs that have been given high recognition in the past. There is also a outstanding orchestra who, when I went there placed first in the state's competitions, higher than the high schools. Visual arts, dance, drama, chorus are all highly recognized as some of the best. Go there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2005

I used to go to Noe. I'm in the 10th grade and Fairdale High now. There are some things that need improvement here. The discipline in the halls isn't very good and bullying is bad there. I don't give this school a very good rating because of the open walled classrooms it was hard to learn there. I give noe a 1 out of 10.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 12, 2005

I am a current 7th grader at Noe Middle. I love it alot. I have alot of cool and diverse friends. I am on 7 explorers. My favorite teacher is Mrs. Nall formily as Ms. Kim. Some may not act like it but they truely are deep inside. That is what Noe does it helps find you, the smart, intelligent you. Noe has helped me so much to become a better student individually and as a team. We have alot of different programs for the different types of students. We have GP, AP, and a visual arts program who feel they express themselves through art rather than with words. We have 6th grade and a varsity basketball teams. We have things such as step team, dance team, a lot of academic teams. Parents are encouraged to participate as much as possible. Through PTA and through field trips and other school functions.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2005

I'm currently an eigth grader at Noe Middle School. Noe features a GT program, AP program and teachers that can help you through alot. I think that my favorite teacher would be Mrs.Paxton (chorus). She makes the music come alive for you, teaching you how to actually read the music instead of learning by ear. The staff is very good, Mrs.Lindsey from 8 Flyers just won a grant from McDonalds for a plan dealing with a reading program! Any student that comes here will love it. It may get tough at times but the the staff will help you through anything that you don't understand and also understand when you can't turn something in because you aren't quite sure what you are supposed to do for that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2005

I was a student who went to Noe from the years 2002-2005. I am now a 9th grader at PRP high school. The teachers that I want to give a shout out to are my L.A. teacher/homeroom teacher Mrs.Joiner-Johnson(Ms.JJ) and my chrous teacher Mrs.Paxton. I had these teachers all 3 years that I went to Noe. They helped me alot and I just wanted to thank them so much. I love them dearly and with all my heart. If you ever get Mrs.JJ or Mrs.Paxton you will love them. The school is wonderful! It gave me an experiance I will never forget so parents here is a school for your child if u want them to have fun and a good education at the same time. love always, Emily Ann Greenwell
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 20, 2005

I'm going to be an eighth grader at Noe Middle, and I love it. For those students who are exceptionally smart, there is a wonderful GT program with students just like them. There are also strong performing arts classes, filled with talented teaches that do an exceptional job of teaching. The principal and teachers are great, and try their best to make sure that every student tries there hardest...plus, there are a ton of extracurricular activities, from quick recall and math counts, to an art club and national winning dance team. For the brains, performers, and everyone else, there is a place for anyone here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2004

My name is Renee miles a former student at noe middle Just 1 and a half years ago I was an 7th and 8th grader and I like the school I liked the counselers and the teams I would just liker to say hi to my teachers and counselers for being there for me and please email me back.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 44% in 2013.

468 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

468 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

468 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 48% in 2013.

468 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 39% in 2013.

436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students56%
Female63%
Male47%
African American31%
Asian73%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial80%
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students52%
Female60%
Male42%
African American22%
Asian73%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial70%
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners4%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female68%
Male49%
African American30%
Asian87%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial80%
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learners8%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students62%
Female71%
Male49%
African American33%
Asian80%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial80%
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learners12%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female57%
Male48%
African American26%
Asian73%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female75%
Male59%
African American40%
Asian91%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learners9%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students63%
Female69%
Male56%
African American40%
Asian73%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners14%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female65%
Male47%
African American25%
Asian78%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learners9%

Reading

All Students68%
Female77%
Male52%
African American44%
Asian78%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners26%

Social Studies

All Students67%
Female74%
Male53%
African American39%
Asian74%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learners17%

Writing

All Students56%
Female68%
Male37%
African American33%
Asian70%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners13%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2011.

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 82%
Black 37% 11%
Asian 4% 1%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

121 West Lee St
Louisville, KY 40208
Phone: (502) 485-8307

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Rose School
Louisville, KY


St. Johns Academy
Louisville, KY


Churchill Park
Louisville, KY


Keller School
Louisville, KY


Meyzeek Middle School
Louisville, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT