Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coleridge-Taylor Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 5, 2013

This school is a complete joke. It is absolutely not a montessori school. My son currently attends Coleridge Taylor and we have been completely underwhelmed. There is a TON of yelling and discipline. The teachers we have experienced are very strict and seem to always be on edge. I am saddened by my experience because we were ecstatic when our son was accepted. I toured several schools and Coleridge Taylor was by far my favorite. I Observed in the classroom, took a tour etc. The school is nothing like it was during the preview. Good luck if this is your choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

Montessori is an amazing philosophy, where children learn independently at their own pace, using hand-on materials. Definitely come see this philosophy in action- its rather difficult to describe. Montessori is especially helpful with math instruction where working hands on with math makes a big impact, or with science, where you can actively be involved with the science lesson rather than just reading about it in a book. Kids remember things they do, not always what they just hear about. Coleridge Taylor has a rather scary outside but don't be put off. Inside you will find (mostly!) wam and caring teachers who allow students to work at their own levels. Many interesting and intelligent parents are involved here, and the prinicipal is very caring and concerned. Montessori is a great system for bright students who might otherwise be bored in class, waiting for others to catch up. My child has been allowed to work several grade levels ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2011

Test results are one way to rate a school. A better way to provide a more holistic rating is to get to know the teachers, see how much they care for the children, and observe the children when they move on to middle school. My daughter transitioned from Coleridge Taylor to a challenging middle school this year and did so with ease. Her experience at CT prepared her for the future as a thoughtful, engaged learner with the ability to navigate not only academically, but also socially as she grows into an amazing adult. This is a 5 star school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

Coleridge Taylor is a great school. My two sons have been attending for the past two years, and we've had an excellent experience there. The teachers are very good and the school offers a sense of community. One teacher told me last year that this is the best school to teach in - I thought that said a lot for the school itself, that a teacher who's been working there for some years has such a genuinely positive feeling about it. I think the Montessori method has been great for both my kids - for the older one (now in 5th) in terms of developing self-motivation, and for the younger one (now in 1st) because he's very "hands on". However, a weakness is math instruction. The 5th grader didn't have to learn his multiplication tables in 3rd grade... so he's struggling a little with long division now. And for the younger one, I'm observing closely to determine if Coleridge Taylor will continue to be the best fit for him because he has trouble paying attention and listening.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2010

This school is awesome!!! My son has thrived here. The Montessori environment is wonderful for keeping students interested and for learning self-discipline. He would be bored in a traditional school. The teachers are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2010

My daughters attend this school. They are all doing very well. Most of their teachers have been wonderful, with the exception of Ms. Petway who was probably a good teacher at one time but should retire now. The principal is wonderful. The counselor is mediocre at best. The best part about the school is the Montessori environment. The worst part is that there is not enough parental involvement. Many of the children are behind in reading and it tends to hold my own children back when math lessons must be interrupted to focus on being able to read the word problems. All in all, however, it is probably one of the better public elementary schools in the city, though I'd probably choose a private school instead if it was affordable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

My son is in the second grade and has just started his second year at Coleridge Taylor. We absolutely love it! He attended a different school for kindergarten and after a horrible first year, we moved to a different part of the city in order to get him in a better school. Though Coleridge Taylor wasn't my initial first choice, I will be forever grateful that my final decision was to send him to Coleridge Taylor. It is an amazing school with great teachers and leadership. My son has flourished even more than I expected since being at this school. I honestly believe that both the Montessori way of teaching and the amazing teachers my son has been so lucky to have have a lot to do with his amazing growth while at this school. I recommend this school to any and every parent I come across!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2004

Both of my children (5 and 3) have done beautifullyl here. They are encouraged, loved, guided, and inspired that I cannot imagine a better school for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Female32%
Male46%
African American16%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students46%
Female43%
Male51%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students61%
Female75%
Male47%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students45%
Female44%
Male47%
African American34%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female58%
Male49%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students62%
Female63%
Male62%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Female42%
Male50%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students43%
Female37%
Male50%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students65%
Female59%
Male73%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students25%
Female34%
Male15%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 61% 11%
White 33% 81%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1115 West Chestnut St
Louisville, KY 40203
Website: Click here
Phone: (502) 485-8232

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Francis School
Louisville, KY


Brown School
Louisville, KY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT