Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frederick Law Olmsted Academy South

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2013

i really like this school i went here and got honor roll every semester and people like boy girl schools i like this all GIRL school and i left and my grades have droped and its from the distractions around me i'm really trying to go back now but my grades have to improve i'm trying hard just to go it will make the students level go to 700 instead of 699 ill see you next semester welcome back to me ! (kendalwoolfolk) i miss my friends also my best ones angel and ashley see you there in dec probely or sooner omg i love that school i miss it now i go to this bad school myers ..................... love see you all i miss it really good schoot thanks _ me kendal im coming!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted September 1, 2010

i like this school my daughter is in the 8th grade and she was sick with a high fever and the school took the best care of her . i feel she is getting a good education . and she learns more then she ever did .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

My daughter started ims this year which is now olmsted academy south and it has excellent staff and learning policies i feel people have over judged olmsted after the year 08-09 it is now far from dirty so stop judging it as dirty and horrible just give a chance...And thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2007

I love this school. I have been working at this school for 6 years and I have seen wonderful changes. We have a dedicated staff and great administrators. Our Youth Services Center is one of the best and has helped in getting our parents involved in the school. We have Town Hall Meetings every 6 weeks where parents come in to pick up report cards, eat dinner (great food!!), and meet with teachers. We also have P.A.C.E. Nights where families come and get a free family portrait and connect with school staff. We have family fun activities where families can enjoy doing fun activities with school staff. As you can tell from reading this review I love this school, the students, and staff. We are not a perfect school, but we are not going to settle for anything but the very best!


Posted June 22, 2007

Iroquois has really improved!! My daughter had Ms. Schultz for 6th grade math--and for the first time she not only understood math, but she loved math!! The school has had some problems in the past, but they have really turned things around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2007

iroquois middle school is a very derty school but sence the board of edication made the law no children can have food during classes or no snacks pervided by the teachers every one can see the difference i was very shy before i atended IMS i was lacking social skills and IMS has helped i get over my fear of speaking in front of a gruop and sure there are fights that happen sure every school is going to have it though but the teachers stop it before it gets fysical
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2006

After moving my 8th grader attends IMS, I have found the lack of education, and environment in the classroom,and discipline to be appalling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

IMS is a middle school that is turning itself around. There are increased academic programs, extracurricular, and sports programs and participation. The school is now gender based and while it is a difficult year of growth (it's the first year for gender based), it is a prosperous year. Teachers are sincere and genuine, and students are more focused. There are fewer fights than in the past. And parents are becoming more involved. Yeah IMS!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 4, 2005

i think iroquois is a terrible school its is dirty and gross no one should send there child there at all plus ther are fights everyday.thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 44% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
14%
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
20%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 48% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
12%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
25%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
21%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
22%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 39% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students21%
Female21%
Malen/a
African American11%
Asian27%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White24%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students26%
Female26%
Malen/a
African American18%
Asian40%
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White26%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learners3%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students18%
Female18%
Malen/a
African American11%
Asian20%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White18%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students16%
Female16%
Malen/a
African American11%
Asian27%
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White20%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students22%
Female22%
Malen/a
African American15%
Asian29%
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners9%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students26%
Female26%
Malen/a
African American19%
Asian33%
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learners9%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students27%
Female27%
Malen/a
African American22%
Asian29%
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learners5%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students37%
Female37%
Malen/a
African American23%
Asian65%
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners46%

Reading

All Students31%
Female31%
Malen/a
African American22%
Asian35%
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners17%

Social Studies

All Students31%
Female31%
Malen/a
African American21%
Asian35%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners11%

Writing

All Students20%
Female20%
Malen/a
African American14%
Asian18%
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White26%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners11%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2011.

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
16%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
19%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2011.

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 45% 11%
White 36% 81%
Hispanic 11% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 1%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5650 Southern Parkway
Louisville, KY 40214
Website: Click here
Phone: (502) 485-8270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. James Academy
Louisville, KY


St Nicholas Academy
Louisville, KY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT