Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Louisville Male High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1728 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2007

Sure they were strict but many of those kids needed it. Sometimes the dress code would be taken to far but that's only a small problem. I am SO prepared for college and I owe all that to Male. I stay in touch with so many of my teachers and am proud to say I went to Male High School. It's faboulously run and there is so much to. I was in the choir all four years and that only made my experience better. It was the most fun anyone could every have. I will most definitly send my children here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2007

I graduated from Male in 2005 and Male was also my mother's idea also. I have been in the traditional program for 12 years and although I was well prepared academically for college, I was NOT well prepared for the social aspect of college and I partially blame my experience at Male High School. Other than that, the teachers are very good at what they do.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 15, 2006

My daughter just graduated from Male and had a wonderful experience. I would definitely recommend this school for anyone for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

The academic progams offered here are very good. There are many challenging classes and classes that prepare you for college. The music and art categories are excellent and always recieve good ratings. Sports are top sports in the state as well. There isnt much parent involvement voluntarily unless they are made too or inless they get something out of it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2006

As a graduate of the class of 1995 I can say that Male prepared my former classmates and I to the highest extent possible. Ten years out and I continually run into old friends who are doctors, lawyers, psychologists, famous musicians and artists. Male prepared me to be well-rounded with my experiences in academic, athletics, and music clubs after school. Male was recently ranked as one of the best public schools in the nation and it's easy to see why. There are great leaders, teachers and involvement from students, parents and alumni. You never worry when going to school if there will be a fight like some other schools in town. The students are well-behaved and more focused on getting the best grades and getting into college. I am very proud to have gone to Male High School.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 15, 2005

Attending Louisville Male was my mother's decision from the jump. I am currently in college and do not have kids, but when I do, I would never allow my children to endure the torture of having to walk the halls of Louisville Male on a day-to-day basis for four years. I'd send them to non-traditional first.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 16, 2005

I'm not a parent, but I graduated from the 2005 class at Male. Now in college, I'm realizing just how much Male prepared me for collegiate level work. I keep in touch with a few of my teachers, and I really miss seeing them--they were so supportive and still are. Male was an amazing high school to attend. It provided a lot of extracurricular options of which I fully took advantage of my last two years. I would advise anyone attending to take part in the music programs. I was in Show Choir for four years and it was an amazing experience that taught me confidence and group cooperation. I miss my high school and I wish it so much luck for the future. There is no other high school that even compares to Male.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 19, 2005

As a senior at Male, I find it appropriate to pay homage to my school. Male is a fantastic facility that I will greatly miss once I graduate. The teachers are excellent, the students are hilarious, and the classes offered are fun and educating. In all honestly, the parents don't participate as much as they should, but the teachers do what they can to support us in everything we do. The teachers and students I encounter day after day motiviate me to continue going to school. Male is my home and it embodies what a high school should be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2005

I am a senior at Male High School. Most students are always complaining that our school is terrible and such but when you think about it it's not at all. I look at how much stuff I get to do at my school that I never would at other schools. There are many opportunities that come up at this school that others could only wish to have happen to them. I have learned alot at male and now feel secure in myself to proceed onto college and the rest of my life. I love our music program. I am in the chorus and there is nothing better that you could be in at male then the chorus! We get to take several trips and get the opportunities to get national attention. I see parents at our school some but i guess not as often as we would like. I love male!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 51% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students74%
Female78%
Male70%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students46%
Female46%
Male46%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

All Students81%
Female84%
Male78%
African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

429 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
85%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

412 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students62%
Female57%
Male67%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students60%
Female58%
Male63%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students77%
Female79%
Male75%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students69%
Female62%
Male79%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 82%
Black 31% 11%
Asian 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4409 Preston Hwy
Louisville, KY 40213
Phone: (502) 485-8292

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Liberty High School
Louisville, KY


Churchill Park
Louisville, KY





Holy Rosary Academy
Louisville, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT