Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Browning Springs Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2014

I guess it is because we moved here from Michigan but we had issues with the school. The building and facilities are absolutely beautiful and remodeled recently. Very light and airy feel. My husband and I are in the scientific and engineering fields and have been forced to have conversations with the teachers regarding information he was being taught. The information was wrong scientifically and mathematically. This was very disturbing to me and my husband. My son was (finding) the correct information and revising his work just to fail on it because it wasn't in the teachers book. As for the math teacher for two of his years he would flunk him if the work wasn't done "common core". I don't know common core and he couldn't teach my child common core in a way he could understand so I had to teach him. The work was shown and the answers were correct he wanted to fail him based on the type of learning style. Lastly, there was bullying when he was there and he stood up for a girl and he was beaten up in first period no teacher was present and the boy had to walk over from another class to come punch him. I had told my son DO NOT fight back and he didn't and was suspended anyway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

I am a current student at browning springs , and I can honestly tell you it's the worst school I've ever been to . The teachers don't know what they are teaching , half the time the have to ask the students what this and that is because they "forgot." The students are very rude and bully each other so much that it is nearly impossible for a student to focus on their work . I've encountered many situations where children are getting bullied or there may be something quite rude said , and the teachers just ignore them . I've never been treated so cruely by teachers and class mates ever until I went to bsms . I've also been treated unequally amongst people before . If you want your child to learn , don't take them to browning springs.


Posted March 9, 2010

This school is unsanitary and not a great learning environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2008

i'm an 8th grade student at BSMS and its awesome. Our school soes have kind of a bad rep but there's really nothing bad about it. It's just the typical middle school stuff you find everywhere. You should send your kids there :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2007

I'm an 8th grade student here at BSMS and I love this school. The teachers are awesome and i would recommend this school for any new students moving to Madisonville. Our scores went way up and has finished the remodling. You should definately go here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2007

This school is very nice. THe teachers are very friendly and help you out with any homework they may have. The school has excellant leadership, and the students work very hard! I give this BSMS a excellent rating!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

Browning Springs excels in many sports and academics. It is a great school, and has changed alot over the years. If you are moving to Madisonville I would recommend enrolling your child or children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

Hello. I am a student at Browning Springs. It is the best school ever!!! I would never let my mom move me schools. Its truly great. I would say that if you are moving to Madisonville, and your child is im middle school, you schould send them to BSMS!! thanks=]
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2007

Browning Springs is a very great school. They have a new school and all new 8th grade teachers. My daughter is in 8th grade and she loves it. In all the schools she has gone to this is the best. Their teat scores in Arts & Humanities have went from a 74 to a 95. that is good. The sports teams have exeled this year too. Now all we need is for the cheerleaders to win WKAC. (Which they will.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

I think that this school is a very interesting school. It is fun and my daughter is on the basketball team and loves it. I think the school looks better on the inside out because it is newly remodeled, and the outside looks nice as well since they got a new sign. The teachers are all friendly. My daughter comes home and always talks about Mr.Snyders class. I think that he is her favorite teacher. All of the past reviews are very true and real. Their test scores improved a lot. It went from a 74 to a 95 in Arts and Humanities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

When I drop my daughter off at school I feel that she is safe. Browning Springs has the finest learning in Madisonville. Their test scores have gone up and they make sure each student is treated equally. My daughter loves BSMS. She likes middle school more than elementary school. So I just wanted to tell you how much my daughter LOVES BSMS. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

I love this school it is so fun to go here I love all the teachers here. We do lots of fun stuff here I am glad I go to this scool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2007

This is a great school. its very nice ever since it was remodeled. I think it gets a bad rap since its a a not so good part of town. but I think its a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2007

I think that Browning Springs is a great school. My daughter never gets in trouble and has great complements about her teachers. =)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

I am a new teacher at Browning Springs and I feel this is a great school. I have previously taught in Orlando, Florida and Evansville, Indiana and BSMS should be proud. We have dedicated teachers, supportive administration, and wonderful students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 44% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 48% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
18%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
35%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 39% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students47%
Female58%
Male37%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students21%
Female24%
Male18%
African American6%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities3%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students43%
Female53%
Male34%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students46%
Female53%
Male40%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students22%
Female15%
Male29%
African American10%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial27%
Native Americann/a
White23%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students45%
Female47%
Male43%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial55%
Native Americann/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students54%
Female52%
Male56%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial64%
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students26%
Female33%
Male20%
African American9%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students46%
Female52%
Male41%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students52%
Female55%
Male50%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students28%
Female43%
Male16%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2011.

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2011.

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 81%
Black 18% 11%
Two or more races 7% 2%
Hispanic 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

357 West Arch St
Madisonville, KY 42431
Phone: (270) 825-6006

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Christ The King School
Madisonville, KY



Grace Baptist School
Madisonville, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT