Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Madisonville North Hopkins High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1011 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2010

Now that we have a new principal, it seems as if we're being treated like small children. What have we really done to deserve this? 'No bottles outside of the cafeteria.' Wowww. I think many other students would agree with me when I say that MNHHS is more like a prison than an educating facility. Athletes are treated like Gods, agreed. We need to re-evaluate a few things in my opinion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2009

Extra activities are the best - The band is great - the girls soccor team is Super. and the grand kids just lve this schoo, and I do too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

North Hopkins is a special place in a special town. There are problems there, but they are just typical high school problems that occur anywhere. The school is an older building, but it's holding up. Some of the teachers are not the best, but for the most part, especially taking their low salaries into account, the teachers are great. The history, English, and math (for the most part) departments are awesome. The teachers are well educated and love their jobs. The student/teacher relationships at North is a very strong bond which helps better the school. Mr. Burgett took over principal when I was a junior and after a year of experimenting leadership styles, has it down. He's a motivator and truly wants best for the school. North Hopkins is a great school and has definitely shaped my life for the future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2007

There are some great teachers (Ashby, Scarlett, Sarles, Tabor, Patterson, Clark) at North, but some are not so great. Don't expect too much freshmen year, but if your student is a good student North offers many AP classes (French, Spanish, Government, World History, US History, Biology, Calculus, Stats, Chemistry, English Literature). North has a great band and the athletics are good, too. Thanks to Mr. Burgett, they are cracking down on smokers and the chaos that plagued the school while Martin was here. The strict dress code has been thrown out. North is making progress.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2007

I just graduated from North Friday night and figured I'd rate my former high school. There are some amazing teachers there, like Amy Bryan/Clark, Mr. Cline, and Mr. Roach. All of these teachers will do whatever they can to help you, and I will definitely say that Mrs. Clark is the best educator I've ever had. The school isn't the newest and there are so many things about the school that are ridiculous and pointless, but there are a handful of teachers that are oustanding. Also, since the new principal, Chad Burgett, took over, I've noticed a significant improvement in the school atmosphere. There are less fights and less PDA. The smoking in the bathrooms has been nearly eradicated, and Mr. Burgett has vastly improved the school. Hopefully he'll continue to improve the school in years to come and these teachers will be around for quite awhile.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 9, 2007

MNHHS is a miserable excuse for an educational facility. It provided little preparation for college, and the social hierarchy was positively maddening. The school spends far too much money on athletics, and student athletes are treated as demi gods amidst the other students. Also, the curriculum is centered on state testing. At the end of the year, it will benefit the school to perform well, however it will NEVER benefit a student to simply 'learn the test'. Gossip is rampant between students. There is no level of professionalism. To say the least, MNHHS has made me rethink the value of public education. If you love your child, send them elsewhere.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 2, 2006

As a present student of madisonville north hopkins high school, I feel that the school is a great place to learn and to challenge oneself, but knowledge only comes with effort. Many students at north put forth no effort which corresponds with the lack of knowledge and high test scores. But who is to blame? The principal? No, the new principal, chad burgett, does a fantastic job of leading the school with integrity, and enforces a strict learning environment. Key word: enforces! now that the 'tuck in your shirt' rule is no longer in play, the students have grown to like mr. Burgett.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2005

The problems that have been discussed on this forum are issues at any high school and even some middle schools. In my experience, parents are quick to criticize but generally hestitate when asked for suggestions or help.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 4, 2005

I wish that I could say something good about this school, but I can't. The harassment from other students is out of control! It is a shame that we had to take our child out of this school due to the inability of the teachers to control the harassing. Upon reporting such incidents, the some teachers fail to enforce the rules or to give the harassers an office referral. Parents, please go to the principal YOURSELF if your child is being harassed. He is willing to help. Do not assume that the teacher will take the appropriate steps to stop the harassment. Harassment IS against the law and should not be tolerated in our schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2005

well i think that MNHHS is the best!! i went to that school part of my freshman year and i had so much fun there.. but i think that school is AWSOME!! and i think im going back next school year. when im a SOPHMORE.. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2005

This school has been a huge disappointment for our family. The students have total control at this school. Where are the teachers when these students are smoking, 'making out' in the halls? My daughter has told me that cigarettes and drugs are widely available. The police come in with the drug dogs, but never check ALL of the lockers. Obviously, the teachers and principals are overworked. Maybe the school is understaffed? Sure the marching band is great. One of the best in the state! I can proudly say that my child is a member. There needs to be ALOT MORE supervision! I am seriously considering home school for my child. Parents BEWARE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

Sure the band is great but this school has many problems. These kids are getting away with all kinds of things! I personally have seen smoking and LOTS of inappropriate public displays of affection. The 'PDA' was, in fact, so bad, that it made me very uncomfortable to walk down the hall! WHERE ARE THE TEACHERS? I wish that I had never sent my child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2004

I graduated from this school in 1977. I feel that my education was mediocre at best. My stepson recently attended this school, and received virtually no education at all. He is an ADHD patient, which was recognized by the school. The assistance they gave was to give him copies of tests in advance, get the answers, and let him complete the test with the rest of the students in class, having already previewed the questions. Other schools in the preliminary grades encorraged him to do well, giving assistance when necessary. He excelled. Now, he's dropped out of High School. Sure, the band is great! But EDUCATION is the key.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

If it's illegal for a minor to buy tobacco in KY, why are students still smoking in the restrooms at school? I was told at the beginning of the year that a new program was being worked on to eliminate the problem but it's now the end of the year and they are still smoking there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2004

I think that this school is a good school, and there band is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2004

I am really disappointed in the leadership and principal at North Hopkins. When I hear how students whose parents work at the school board, get 'special' treatment I really wonder, what are they thinking? Also, the bathrooms are a mess! The students go in there every day and smoke and monitors stand outside in the hall, and when the tone sounds, sticks their head in and tells everyone time to go? Wonder why the monitor does not go inside the bathroom and monitor?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 51% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students54%
Female52%
Male56%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students41%
Female46%
Male35%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial20%
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

All Students63%
Female68%
Male59%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2011.

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
44%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
53%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
28%
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students70%
Female69%
Male71%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students32%
Female34%
Male31%
African American11%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial12%
Native Americann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students58%
Female61%
Male54%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students53%
Female47%
Male59%
African American34%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 82%
Black 14% 11%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4515 Hanson Rd
Madisonville, KY 42431
Phone: (270) 825-6017

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grace Baptist School
Madisonville, KY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT