Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

James Madison Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 16, 2011

i hate this school! I wouldnt even give it a star! they never give children fun time or any thing that kids would love to do unlike Browning Springs they always give they kids at least fun things once a month.The dress code is really uncalled for BSMS does let you wear clothing of your choice.If i had to i wouldnt even give it a star.Really Dissapointed teachers are lazy and show tooooo much favouritism.This school sucks.


Posted January 6, 2009

I've been going here for two years now. I'm in the 7th grade. I really hate the dress code, and the fact that we never get rewarded for good behavior and things like that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 23, 2007

Almost all of the teachers here are well-qualified, wonderful educators. I received an outstanding education here, and it is a much better choice than Browning Springs (awful). The only thing that I dislike about this school is the very strict dress code. 90% of the students, and most parents, absolutely revile it. Luckily for me, they implemented it in 2005, my last year. The school is clean, and well-kept. I'm proud to say I attended JMMS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2007

I think that James Madison Middle School is not that great of a school. If i could i would take my child out of this school and put them into a different one, but unfornuately that is the school in our district. I do not like the teachers at all, they are way too strict and give way too much homework. The dress code is very stupid and there is no use in it. It is so hard to find cloths for my little girl and she can not express her individuality at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2004

James Madison Middle School is a great school. The teachers are very friendly and the students are generally always on their best behavior. I would definitely recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 12, 2004

I would like to compliment the choral and band teachers. The music program at this school is awesome! I just hope that our school can receive the state funding, that it needs, to keep our choral education for our children. I have found a significant break-down in communication with educators/principals, students and parents. Hopefully this will be resolved when the new principal takes over in 2004/2005.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2004

I am highly disappointed with the disciplinary proceedures at this school. The vice-principal(Gillium), is notT following the code of conduct rules. Depending on who you are in the community, is how the child is punished. There is alot of favortism at this school and the children know it. Also, the bullying is terrible! The facuality is well aware of this problem but just don't know how or won't stop this problem. My child has been teased, humiliated and various other things for the entire three years that he/she has attended. I have been there numerous times over the problem, with no satisfactory results. I feel as if the problems at this school are 'swept under the rug'. I would never send any of my children here again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2004

I have had disappointing rezults when confrencing with the principal and vice-principal. There is a lot of favortism among teachers with the students. My child has experienced theft, bullying, harrassment, and humiliation by the other students. When reported to them, by my child, there is not any action taken. The reports, made by students, are not taken seriously. It is a shame that our children have to suffer and do not have a voice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 44% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 48% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 39% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students45%
Female50%
Male40%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students56%
Female59%
Male54%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students47%
Female53%
Male41%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students44%
Female60%
Male30%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
Female51%
Male51%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female62%
Male63%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students68%
Female63%
Male74%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female59%
Male60%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female71%
Male64%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students71%
Female70%
Male73%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students62%
Female76%
Male48%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2011.

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 81%
Black 9% 11%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

510 Brown Rd
Madisonville, KY 42431
Phone: (270) 825-6160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Christ The King School
Madisonville, KY


Grace Baptist School
Madisonville, KY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT