Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
75 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Forest Hill Military Academy 2

Posted February 11, 2016
- a community member
The property of Millersburg Military Institute was sold at auction for $450K, February 2016. The sale comes a week after the Cadet Corps filed a civil suit against Farmers Deposit Bank. The Cadet Corps alleges that the bank breached its fiduciary duty and “unjustly enriched” itself. The school had been in receivership for two years. The school ceased operation in December 2014 because of low enrollment. Since then it has held camps for high-school youths on the property.

Forest Hill Military Academy 5

Posted November 03, 2014
- a community member
I am a student at forest hill I think this is a great school I think each of these kids are family they grow on you slowly. I really love this school we have many programs in the summer and we have a winter program in dec I think this school keeps getting better I love how much the staff tries they plan parties and bring in food for us they have heaters in every room the teachers push us to a higher level than a regular school and they always give us chances to make it up. Our staff always listen to what we have to say and they always find ways to fix it no matter how big our drill sergeant is the bomb at the end of the year every one thanks him for every thing cause he helps so many kids improve their lives I know several people who call him and thank him for making their kids better people I really love this school and I would recommend this school to every one I know. I love how staff pushes us to our full potential even if we think we don't have any that is why I am giving this school 5 stars


Forest Hill Military Academy 1

Posted August 31, 2014
- a parent
Complete disappointment! My nephew really wanted a military experience and this he did not get. As a teacher, their academics are way below standards. They claim they follow core curriculum, and this they do not! After months for being bullied, empty promises and being allowed to isolate from the other students we pulled him. Unfortunately, it was after paying our third installment. Though he never returned after the holiday break, and we were promised a full refund, we have yet to hear from them. Numerous calls and certified letters and NOTHING! Claimed they had to wait until camp money came in.....still nothing. Though there are a few that really care, the obstacles are against them. Overall, very unorganized and poor leadership!!

Forest Hill Military Academy 5

Posted August 27, 2014
- a teacher
BIG CHANGES ARE ON THE WAY! As we get ready to start our third year of academics, we are making significant changes that will not only challenge the students academically, but physically as well. Qualified high school students will now be able to register for dual-credit college courses (five are currently enrolled and attending classes). We are also teaming up with the Urban Ninja Project as an addition to our extracurricular and fitness program. Track, cross-country, swimming, and Airsoft teams will be formed this year. We are also fixing the problems of the past, and making the Cadet experience exciting and engaging. We are learning the lessons of the past and moving forward into the future. As a 26-year U.S. Army veteran, after working here for the past year, I'm confident we can continue to fix what ails us and make this a premier school, but we need your help. As a 501(c)3, we need donations to create endowments to improve our aging facilities and create student scholarships. Please look at our website and talk to us before you judge negative comments. We welcome personal tours of the facility, and are willing to answer any questions or concerns.

Forest Hill Military Academy 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
This is the third year my son has attended the school and he has also participated in their summer programs. He has become more disciplined and respectful to his parents. The new leadership of the organization is really doing a great job.


Forest Hill Military Academy 1

Posted July 27, 2014
- a parent
My son came home sick, neglected, removed from population and sleeping in an instructors office for 2 days after being threatened by a bully to be thrown out of a third story window. He was talking about things he learned sexually...new words, etc...new things...while fireguard had snuck out and cadre were chilling in front of a TV. The bully got to participate in the formation on parents night, my son DID not. He was sick and without an issued water container for days and there's no soap in the bathrooms. A wasted 3 k...do not send your child here if you care for them. I am so disappointed.

Forest Hill Military Academy 4

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
This school, has its ups and down but at the end of the year my child came back a better kid. I could tell his time there was very educational and full of benefits. I highly recommend this school

Forest Hill Military Academy 1

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
It is unbelievable that this "school" has not been shut down yet.They have NO Accreditation (Department of Education denies ANY affiliation) and members are extremely concerned about info regarding a former teacher.On top of this their "leadership" has changed several times within the course of months...Fire Marshall citing terrible conditions...little to NO supervision by an adult in the building at night...NO affiliation with the Army or ANY other government agency."Army Cadet Corps" is a fancy name created on Facebook.There are REAL LEGITAMATE military schools that ARE affiliated with the Army and JROTC...this "school" is not one of them.There is no staff to answer phones or handle paperwork/important information sharing..Bottom line...I would not send my dog here...and I am extremely concerned about every child enrolled.


Forest Hill Military Academy 1

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
The faculty and staff have absolutely no Army Background and no teaching experience. I would not recommend this school to anyone with a son as there is no discipline or extra curricula activities.

Forest Hill Military Academy 5

Posted March 20, 2013
- a parent
Can't beat the ratio. Kids really get personal attention they wouldn't get else where. The teachers all have graduate degrees and teach subjects they have extensive knowledge of.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Forest Hill Military Academy
1122 Main Street, Millersburg, KY  40348
(859) 484-2100
Last modified Forest Hill Military Academy is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Forest Hill Military Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top