Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pleasant Grove Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 541 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2013

We love this school. The teachers, staff and students are usually cheerful, committed, and on task. As a parent, anytime I have ever had a concern, the teacher, principal and counselors have dealt with it respectfully and with the best interest of my child at heart. It seems like when I visit, people really like being there. In my opinion, an elementary school has to focus on the whole child, offer excellent academics, clubs, and fun activities. This school does that. It promotes academic excellence, but also a nurturing, warm environment. The counselor, Mrs. Corbin, is exceptional. Our family has moved A LOT and this is one of the best run elementary schools we've seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

My daughter is in 4th and my younger daughter in first. They have always had wonderful teachers and staff! I truly am greatful for the education they receive at PGES!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

My daughter attends kindergarten at Pleasant Grove Elementary. She has excelled beyond our expectations. She has the most wonderful teachers and I can't say enough good things about them or her principal (Mr. Reister). We had considered putting our daughter in a private school but after her experience this year she will remain in this wonderful school. Thank you Ms. Crumbacker and Ms. Turlington for a wonderful year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

My son is in all day kindergarden at this school, and He has accompolished so much here. He can read small books, loves to do math: adding and subtracting at the age of 5 and 6 that is just awesome. knowing how to tell time, he has had a lot of knowledge in his one year of school. His teachers are very well informed. Thank you Ms. Dugger and Mrs.vinson for a job well done. a very pleased parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2007

I think this is a wonderful school. My son came from a very small private school in Jefferson County. I was worried about him adjusting, but the teachers have been great and he is doing very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2006

There are some great teachers and a counselor at this school. I was glad to see they finally got a assistant principal.I have never felt my children were treated fairly in this school, until this year with the new assistant principal.Parents need to stand up for their children,especially if they have learning disabilities,if your child is Ileap it is all good,but if not they just kinda push you aside and you get whatever they want your child to have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2006

They really need to focus more on ALL the children besides the one who come from well to do families.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 15, 2006

I am glad to hear that some children are getting the education they deserve at this school. On the other hand I think if you polled all the parents that have had children there you may get a different feeling about it. I am not saying it is the most horrible place to send your child but they do lack in a lot of areas. Have the principal run from you or ignore your phone calls and then you may have a different opinion. I am only speaking from my own personal experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

I totally disagree with any negative reviews that were given for this school. My daughter is in First grade and has ADHD. She came from another school this past year and has learned so much. Her teacher cares so much about how she is doing at school and at home. She was average academically going into the school year, but she is now two grade levels above where she should be at with her reading. The entire school staff has been helpful and very friendly to our family since the move this summer, from the secretary in the office, to the teaching staff, and the Principal is very involved in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

I feel that there were no challenges in this school, and that the kids who did better as students overall were given the most attention from teachers and staff. I also think that whenever there is a conflict that it is very hard to solve your problem without your parent(s). There are some awesome teachers in this school; but overall I very much-so disliked this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 11, 2005

My daugter is in her first year at PGES in Kind. and she is reading books and doing math very well. I am so proud of her and the staff at the school. I have gotten excellent feedback from the teachers when needed. I am very happy with PGES.. A. Downs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2004

I have to disagree with the ravings about this school. My child was treated as if they had a learning disability and treated very unfairly by most of the teachers. The Principal was of no help and was quite gruff when trying to get help with the situation with my child. The only positive experience that we got out of PGES is the fact they made me open my eyes and see how children are treated differently and if they are not in the 'in crowd' they are forgotten. Had I known then what I know now I would have never put my child through that torture. Parents need to visit and see what is really going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2004

I have raised 5 sons in the Mt. Washington elementary schools. My 4 oldest attended Mt. Washington Elementary, and my youngest attended Old Mill. I was happy with both schools. Upon moving to the Pleasant Grove Elementary district, I was a bit concerned, for I didn't know anyone who had attended there, nor did I know the principal and teachers. I would have to say I've been more than a little pleased with this school. Both principal and teachers have made my son and me feel welcomed. There has never been a time I've needed to consult with anyone that their schedule has been too busy for me. They are some of the friendliest people in the county, and I am very glad to have had my son in Pleasant Grove Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2004

PGES is a fantastic school! The teachers are great and I've never before seen such involvement from a principal. He's a wonderful role model for the students. My son loves going to school at PGES and has learned more than I ever dreamed he would in the first grade. He can't wait to get back to school! We love PGES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

This is a wonderful school that not only shows great concern and caring about the childrens education, but also the complete well-being of each and every child. The principal along with teachers go the extra mile to provide a safe and extremely educational environment for each child. I could not be happier with my childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female59%
Male59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female72%
Male46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students58%
Female66%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students36%
Female27%
Male45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female61%
Male48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students75%
Female77%
Male72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female51%
Male60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female49%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students58%
Female54%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students56%
Female60%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 81%
Black 2% 11%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6415 Hwy 44 East
Mount Washington, KY 40047
Phone: (502) 538-3129

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Crossroads Elementary School
Mount Washington, KY


Freedom Elementary School
Shepherdsville, KY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT