Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Jessamine Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 896 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 3, 2011

East has only one concern: test scores. I have heard staff members say that a student was a waste of resources because her test scores wouldn't count for the school. Excellent teachers have been let go because they fought for the students. This school has gone downhill under this leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Very impressed to see this school was chosen as one of the 'Ky Schools To Watch' this year. The technology program received several awards and is looked as a model by other schools. An extremely happy parent of 2 children of East Jessamine Middle School !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

We moved here over the summer from a small community where the school my daughter attended was a excellent school and was afraid not knowing the area wouldn't find a good school. I am so pleased with EJMS and the staff for the concern for the students. It was a little tough because of them building a new school and not having open house before the year started but in the long run it was okay anyways. We hope to stay in Nicholasville when our lease is up cause the school is excellent and would recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

EJMS has come a very long way! The new and much improved principal is so wonderful, her approach with the children and parents is very 'open door' at all times and she is genuinely concerned and involved with each family that comes to her about anything. The teachers and other leaders in the school are committed to the children in such a positive way and truley all the fears I once had about my child being at East have been subsided. It is a great school and my child loves it. Don't be afraid of public schools, there are wonderful people there that care so much. A very thankful EJMS mom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

It is surprising to me to see a posting from Aug. 2008 next to one from 2005. I am also surpised by the lack of ' praise ' EJMS has gotten for the changes and growth it has made. The Pricipal, staff, teachers & students are all to be commended. They have excelled in all aspects. Expectations are higher and expected for both teacher and student and are achieved. Communications between teacher and parent are easily managed. Disipline is maintained and safety is first. I am very pleased to have my children attend EJMS. I feel that whether they are in class, at an away basketball game or academic team meeting , my children have the best teachers, advisors, coaches and staff looking out for them. ~A Very Happy EJMS Mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

The principal is doing a good job communicating with parents and encouraging parent participation at the school. The PTO is sponsoring events almost monthly for the sstudents and sometimes families. The teachers are doing a good job and test scores are improving to almost passing level on some goals. Unfortunately NLCB and the news agencies mention only Pass/Fail. Morale and community image are improving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

After 6 years in the private sector, we moved our son to the public school system in January to attend EJMS. Our experience has exceeded what we had expected. The administration and teachers both have been very supportive and communicative in keeping us abreast of our child's progress. There are excellent teachers at this school who truly care about bringing the best out of students and making them think 'out of the box.' My son is smiling again and having 'fun' and learning at the same time. This is what education is really about 'mentoring.'. He is in excell classes and is taking pre-engineering as an elective in 7th grade. I would like to see more extra curricular activites such as a middle school baseball team and golf team at this level. The new principle is committed to making this school perform at its highest level. Overall we've had a positive
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

Too much teacher turnover every year- top heavy in administration, with little results from additional administration, too many transitions in gifted programs/learning style launches and failures of model approaches. Admin tends to give PR answers to pacify instead of clearly stating what they know to be problems and solving in what would seem a logical way. Parents feel like their children are being used as research models rather than truly having needs met, but when confronting admin, are given assurances this isn't true- illusions verses common sense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2005

I am a student at East Middle and the quality of the acadenic programs is not very good in my opinion. The availability of extracurricular activites isn't good but there are some activities. Also, the level of saftey isn't very high because i have experienced it first hand and have got in a few fights I didn't start and there was teachers who could have stopped it but they didn't. The level of parental involvment is one of the only few good things about East Middle.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2005

I am a student at East. I love this school. We have some of the best academic programs. An we have the best avilble art teachers in the state. Parents are invold aolt with every thing we do. And they are about 1,000 and something kids not 800 and something kids. We have outstanding boys and girls sports teams.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2004

I'm currently an eighth grader at EJMS and am having a blast! All the teachers are great, and we actually learn, but have fun at the same time! We have five minutes between classes and lunch to socialise. We don't have homeroom, but we do have advisory, wich makes up for homeroom, advisory is the fourth block class everyday where you can sometimes socialise and work on work from other classes. Its really an awesome school and I'm very proud to be a student here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

My daughter is currently an eighth grader at EJMS. Overall, the teachers are qualified, innovative, professional and seem to truly care about the children and their academic success. The BOOST after school program is an enormous benefit to my child, who tends to struggle somewhat with her homework. The BOOST staff is knowledgeable, caring and patient and the program helps my child excel while giving her a heightened sense of self confidence in her abilities. Safety at the school is strong and the staff generally seems alert and attentive to the safety of the students. I think that discipline of the students is one of the weaker points of the school. Very serious safety issues, however (such as a recent death threat) are not tolerated and swift action is taken. Overall, I do believe my child is in a safe environment at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 44% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 48% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 39% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students29%
Female33%
Male25%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students26%
Female24%
Male28%
African American11%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students30%
Female31%
Male29%
African American16%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students20%
Female33%
Male10%
African American16%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students32%
Female31%
Male33%
African American11%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students55%
Female58%
Male52%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students55%
Female52%
Male59%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Female38%
Male37%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students44%
Female47%
Male42%
African American19%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students53%
Female53%
Male54%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students16%
Female22%
Male11%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White15%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2011.

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2011.

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 81%
Black 5% 11%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

901 Union Mill Road
Nicholasville, KY 40356
Phone: (859) 885-5561

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Providence School
Nicholasville, KY




KORE Academy
Lexington, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT