Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


East Jessamine Middle School 5

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
We love this school, The teachers are wonderful very attentive. The football program is amazing. East is definitely a school to watch the score does not reflect all the wonderful things we have witnessed!!! We are very impressed with the teachers, especially Mr. KENEALY, Mrs. Roller, Mr. Burburich So many others. We just moved here in January We are very pleasantly surprised the kids are so welcoming very respectful. Awesome school.

East Jessamine Middle School 2

Posted July 03, 2011
- a parent
East has only one concern: test scores. I have heard staff members say that a student was a waste of resources because her test scores wouldn't count for the school. Excellent teachers have been let go because they fought for the students. This school has gone downhill under this leadership.


East Jessamine Middle School
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Very impressed to see this school was chosen as one of the 'Ky Schools To Watch' this year. The technology program received several awards and is looked as a model by other schools. An extremely happy parent of 2 children of East Jessamine Middle School !!

East Jessamine Middle School 5

Posted February 01, 2010
- a parent
We moved here over the summer from a small community where the school my daughter attended was a excellent school and was afraid not knowing the area wouldn't find a good school. I am so pleased with EJMS and the staff for the concern for the students. It was a little tough because of them building a new school and not having open house before the year started but in the long run it was okay anyways. We hope to stay in Nicholasville when our lease is up cause the school is excellent and would recommend it to anyone!

East Jessamine Middle School
no rating

Posted September 12, 2008
- a parent
EJMS has come a very long way! The new and much improved principal is so wonderful, her approach with the children and parents is very 'open door' at all times and she is genuinely concerned and involved with each family that comes to her about anything. The teachers and other leaders in the school are committed to the children in such a positive way and truley all the fears I once had about my child being at East have been subsided. It is a great school and my child loves it. Don't be afraid of public schools, there are wonderful people there that care so much. A very thankful EJMS mom.


East Jessamine Middle School 5

Posted August 27, 2008
- a parent
It is surprising to me to see a posting from Aug. 2008 next to one from 2005. I am also surpised by the lack of ' praise ' EJMS has gotten for the changes and growth it has made. The Pricipal, staff, teachers & students are all to be commended. They have excelled in all aspects. Expectations are higher and expected for both teacher and student and are achieved. Communications between teacher and parent are easily managed. Disipline is maintained and safety is first. I am very pleased to have my children attend EJMS. I feel that whether they are in class, at an away basketball game or academic team meeting , my children have the best teachers, advisors, coaches and staff looking out for them. ~A Very Happy EJMS Mom

East Jessamine Middle School 4

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
The principal is doing a good job communicating with parents and encouraging parent participation at the school. The PTO is sponsoring events almost monthly for the sstudents and sometimes families. The teachers are doing a good job and test scores are improving to almost passing level on some goals. Unfortunately NLCB and the news agencies mention only Pass/Fail. Morale and community image are improving.

East Jessamine Middle School 4

Posted August 19, 2008
- a parent
After 6 years in the private sector, we moved our son to the public school system in January to attend EJMS. Our experience has exceeded what we had expected. The administration and teachers both have been very supportive and communicative in keeping us abreast of our child's progress. There are excellent teachers at this school who truly care about bringing the best out of students and making them think 'out of the box.' My son is smiling again and having 'fun' and learning at the same time. This is what education is really about 'mentoring.'. He is in excell classes and is taking pre-engineering as an elective in 7th grade. I would like to see more extra curricular activites such as a middle school baseball team and golf team at this level. The new principle is committed to making this school perform at its highest level. Overall we've had a positive


East Jessamine Middle School 3

Posted May 03, 2005
- a parent
Too much teacher turnover every year- top heavy in administration, with little results from additional administration, too many transitions in gifted programs/learning style launches and failures of model approaches. Admin tends to give PR answers to pacify instead of clearly stating what they know to be problems and solving in what would seem a logical way. Parents feel like their children are being used as research models rather than truly having needs met, but when confronting admin, are given assurances this isn't true- illusions verses common sense.

East Jessamine Middle School 3

Posted March 14, 2005
- a student
I am a student at East Middle and the quality of the acadenic programs is not very good in my opinion. The availability of extracurricular activites isn't good but there are some activities. Also, the level of saftey isn't very high because i have experienced it first hand and have got in a few fights I didn't start and there was teachers who could have stopped it but they didn't. The level of parental involvment is one of the only few good things about East Middle.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East Jessamine Middle School
901 Union Mill Road, Nicholasville, KY  40356
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (859) 885-5561
Last modified East Jessamine Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top