Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Jessamine High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 3 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2013

I used to have a child going to this school. Bullying was very bad there, and it seem like the staff didn't know what to do. Since I had a job in NJ, I brought her here, where NJ has the most strict Anti-bullying laws in the nation. I was told that she was a bad seed by the principal and assistant pricipal. In NJ, she's doing great! So I feel due to bad management in that school, she didn't stand a chance to succed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

This school rides on the strength of its students. There is really bad administration, no teacher accountability, poor communication, no desire to work with parents, limited choices for students because of a five period day that they have to fill with required classes, etc. The strength of the school is the student population. Lots of good and smart kids go there. They encourage each other to do well despite what little learning happens in too many of the classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

great school and amazing teachers. everyone wwho graduates is ready for college and the world. students who dont attend well you missed out
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

I am a West Jessamine alumnus. When I graduated I had no grammar skills, and an otherwise less than average education. I took all offered AP classes and high level classes. However, remedial scholastic skills were something I had to learn on my own to survive in college. Move, or send your kid to private school. A new auditorium doesn't mean your kids can read better.


Posted March 9, 2007

I am currently a senior at West High and I absolutely love it! I've attended West since my freshman year and have very few complaints in all. It is a great school that has many things to offer. In the past four years I have been a part of the FCA, BETA, Honor Society, Key clubs as well as Student Senate and the greatest student section ever, the COLT CRAZIES! West has challenged me academically and I am confident that come next year in college I'll be ready. The teachers here care about their student and ultimately want them to succeed, and that shows every day in the classroom. I love West and will miss it dearly, definitely a great high school!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2006

I am a junior at West High. teachers do not teach, they just give out
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2005

I am currently a student at West. I have gone to schools in Jessamine county since I moved here and have always loved it. West is unlike any other school I've been to. If I was a parent, I would consider it the dream school for my child to go to. My favorite thing about my school is the music program. We have some of the best teachers in our state at our school. My choir director is amazing. We have over 10 people in our choir going to all-state this year, 3 of which are sophomores. Not only is there great music, but there are other great extracurricular activities. We have all the clubs you could want and more, as well as a good sports line up. Our sports teams are continually some of the best in the state. The teachers are amazing and God is alive at West.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2005

This is an excellent school. The environment is great. We have great classes, a healthy school size, plenty of room to accelerate in your learning, and people that will always be there for you. You can't imagine how good my friends are here. Asbury College is close so we get plenty of great students who are the children of people that attend the seminary or college. These kids make great friends and are often excellent students that make you strive to do good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2005

My 2 children did great this past year at West Jessamine. 4.0 averages from grades in accelerated classes. They are involved in great clubs like FCA and BETA and they love going to basketball games where they can be a part of the best and largest student section in the state, the 'colt crazies.' Going to this school has improved their morals and they feel no pressure to do drugs or other things a teenager shouldn't. Great Christian stduents attend and the facilities are great. It is in a great area with a growing community. This school can't be beat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2005

I am a student at West Jessamine High School. I feel really grateful to go here. It's a great size and everyone is great. The seniors hang out with the freshman and the teacher quality is great. It has a great Christian impact due to Asbury College and there are many international students from other countries due to the Seminary. It's a very cultural school. It's awsome. Due to the rapidly growing community there are a number of students pouring into our school and there have been many new facilities added to the school due to this. Class sizes are perfect and there is a great Advanced Placement line up. We have great athletics and music programs. If you are moving here are thinking of enrolling your student, don't hesitate. Our school is more Christian than most private Christian school. DEFINATELY NOT your average Kentucky high school. No question.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2005

The academic qualitys of this school is great. Students have done great. and parent involvement is good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2004

My oldest child is a 2004 Freshman. There are many good kids that attend here. Some of his friends have come from nearby private schools, some have moved in district just to go to West. It is a safe school and the teachers truly care about their students. He is thriving and I feel he will be well prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 51% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students59%
Female64%
Male55%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students43%
Female46%
Male39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

All Students80%
Female86%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2011.

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
58%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students59%
Female61%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students46%
Female48%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students69%
Female66%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students56%
Female54%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 81%
Black 3% 11%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2101 Wilmore Rd
Nicholasville, KY 40356
Phone: (859) 887-2421

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


East Jessamine High School
Nicholasville, KY



The Providence School
Nicholasville, KY


KORE Academy
Lexington, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT