Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


East Jessamine High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 13, 2016
- a community member
Someone I want to say thanks to is Mr. James Mock the Marching and Concert Band Director ,along with many other classes that he teaches. You taught me so much my freshman year about music and how to be an adult and create good habits and get rid of bad ones like laziness and giving up when something is too hard. Thank you Mr. Mock for all of the effort you put in to teaching me in how to succeed in this world.

East Jessamine High School 5

Posted March 13, 2016
- a community member
Teachers and Staff care about my goal to go to college ,and my opinions and feelings.Most of you people who gave east a bad rating couldn't even wright or spell a proper sentence which shows you obviously did not go to east because they teach us how to succeed and make good work habits and most importantly 21 century skills (STEAM)


East Jessamine High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
They ignore bullying; they do not have respect for children with disabilities; they do not respect children who are advanced and excelling; they don't follow their own policies.

East Jessamine High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
The staff doesn't show compassion or caring so how could the students possibly develop these traits?

East Jessamine High School 1

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
This school is disorganized, doesn't follow their own policies but expects the students to; Two of my children have anxiety and the school has no respect for children with disabilities; they actually choose to make it harder for these kids; so my son, who was in advanced classes, is on home bound because he couldn't stand it anymore. My daughter, who is an honor student and graduating early, has been harassed by the staff repeatedly and can barely stand being there for her last two months. They've made in practically intolerable. Aside from one of the counselors, the staff is severely lacking. I have two younger children that I will send to private school because I don't want them to go through the same hell.


East Jessamine High School 2

Posted August 02, 2011
- a parent
One of my biggest problem with EJHS was that they showed nine rated R movies to my 16 yr old during the first semester. When questioned about it, the school and district offices stated they have a "Opt out" program, in which your child does NOT need a permission slip to see the movie but DOES need a permission slip to leave the class while the movies are being shown. Think what you want about the value of showing that many rated R movies and calling it education, I felt they were being very deceitful in using an "opt out" program instead of a traditional permission slip.

East Jessamine High School 5

Posted November 05, 2010
- a student
I am a sophomore at EJHS. And I can honestly say I love the experience.There are tons of resources and the faculty all care about your education and how your performance. Another thing that makes want to stay at EJHS, is the option to take courses at JCTC. Which is another school in the region, the school provides buses to transport students there. That school has so many electives for any major from agriculture, law, childcare services, medical biology, information technology, engineering, languages, business, and financing. This diversity is allowing me to prepare me for the field I'm interested in, Computer Science. This is a great school, that if you go to it and actually want to have a good future. This school will go beyond to make sure you get there.

East Jessamine High School 1

Posted September 12, 2009
- a parent
My child has resently moved to EJH from a public school in PA and she is very upset at the conditions. She was in advanxed programs at her old school on a fast track to collage classes, now she is forced to take corses shes already done, at a slower and simplifyed level, simply because of cridit requiremets. The teachers are apathetic and the children have no respect for the facalty and no motivation to work. This School is a Joke.


East Jessamine High School 5

Posted August 09, 2009
- a student
This school saved my life. I know that sounds dramatic, but it's true. I moved schools all through high school and ended up at East for my senior year. My counselor, Mrs. Zabilka was great and helped me get a great scholarship. At my other schools, no one really noticed me. And we have the best principal in the world! My aunt came up from FLorida for my graduation and she told me that she could tell that my principal was special. After we get our diplomas, Mrs. Granada hugs each of us and tells us something individually. Oh, we hug her back. Everyone loves her because she cares about us. All of my teachers also were interested in me. If you want a school where the people there actually are interested in you and helping you be your best, if you are lucky, you will find your way here!

East Jessamine High School 5

Posted February 18, 2009
- a student
I am currently a Junior at EJHS and I love it, i went to the middle school all three years and have been at east for these last three, i agree that some of the teachers dont try hard enough and that there is to much busy work when we are stuck with Kids that dont try but that doesnt mean that it isnt a good school... we have excellent resources.. we have a library that is full of text books that the students can check out and the atmosphere although rude and pushing to arrogance depending on the day the students usually have a great attitude and are willing to learn.. our principal is awesome and she works to make sure she is involved in our life... over all it is a wonderful school

Nearby schools

East Jessamine High School
815 Sulphur Well Rd, Nicholasville, KY  40356
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (859) 885-7240
Last modified East Jessamine High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top