Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Owensboro Catholic High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Owensboro

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $97,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $607.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

This school is the best around! it has bettered me in life. It prepared me for my life in college and after college. The sports are amazing and the teachers really care! Why wouldn't you want to go here? I originally started at Davies County. It was nothing compared to Catholic! GO ACES! I would recommend my school to anybody! The only bad thing about it is it tends to be on the pricier side. But you can go to a priest and they will pay part of your tuition. I also know a few people who fund-raised to get there. You don't have to be rich, just wiling to learn and participate in extracurriculars. If you dont do the extracurricular then its a waste. Myself did football, baseball, academic team, FCA, and KYA. Also theres a limited amount of kids here, so you can easily make new friends and if you already live in Owensboro then I'm sure you already have friends there. It's one big happy family! hope you come!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2011

i dont like this school very much at all. i am praying that my parents will let me go somewhere else. the students are stuck up and alot of the teachers are unhelpful. it seems like if you dont play sports you are thought of as differently. i would not reccomend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2009

It is the best school around! I am a student and i really love it there i would gladly recommend it to anyone, even if you are not Catholic.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2008

Owensboro Catholic High is the best school for our children. The staff is excellant in caring and teaching. They definitely go way above and beyond! We have had a daughter graduate with honors and definiely was prepared for College. Our son is now here, and he loves the faculty and the atheletics are top level, in coaching and giving of themselves. The one thing I love about a catholic school is they get religon and learn to be the best christians possible as they grow to be independent and get prepared for the real world .Catholic High considers each student as an individual and not a number. Smaller number of students and definitely a small family, from students to parents and faculty. I feel good every single day our child attends Catholic High. We are blessed to have a wonderful school in Owensboro as Catholic High! Acedemics/Atheletics/Clubs, fantastic caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

Catholic High is awesome and the extracurricular activities are the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2007

As I have witnessed my children move through the OCS system I am certain, that our family has choosen the right path for our childrens education. Ralph Waldo Emerson stated, 'The secret in education lies in respecting the student.' At OCS the students are treated with respect, as people, as our greatest assest, our future! Thank you OCS Family, keep up the good work.. John Brett
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2005

OCHS is a great family. Though I graduated in 2002, I am still friends with the majority of the teachers. They always went above & beyond the call of duty when it came to helping after hours or with extracurriculars. One teacher even helped me over the summer in a math class I took. OCHS understands what it means to be a family. Their academic programs are strong - evident from the ACT scores. They have an effective discipline system based in Catholic values. Extracurriculars are in abundance. The parents are very involved, coming to masses, volunteering when needed, etc. If it weren't for OCHS, I would need be as successful as I am in college. They truly understand & care, even now when I have been away from OCHS for almost 4 years.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 16, 2005

What you accomplish in that school depends on how much money your family has or what kind of sports you can play. The students there are cruel and the teachers are for the most part unhelpful when it comes to the welfare of their students. I was once a student at that school and I am proud to say that I was not a graduate. However, I do agree that Mrs. Howard, Mr. Lowe, and Mr. Fritz are awsome and helpful people. Without thier help, I would not have made it through as much as I have.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 12, 2005

i would like to give a big thank you to Mrs. Howard and Mrs.Pace for all the help they gave my nephew while he was in crisis. my nephew attends daviess county high well to make a long story short he was put in inhouse crisis for being in trouble..I needed some help in his latin course and could not recieve any help from daviess county but these two ladies came to his rescue and help him and I with his Latin Once again thank you two for so much I just wish my nephew could attend this school the teachers really care once again thank you. Steve Bair
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

Catholic High provides me with the experience of a life time. Now in my first year of college, it has become quite evident to me that the academic program goes above and beyond that of the standard school. I have entered college prepared, and have succeeded. I believe that OCHS is a huge reason for that success. In addition to the academic perspective, OCHS provides numerous athletic and extracurricular activities, and the parent involved is great. Attending OCHS is like being a member of a huge family. Once you have joined the family, you never leave it. It is a truly wonderful school!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 81%
Black 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Owensboro
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1524 West Parrish Avenue
Owensboro, KY 42301
Phone: (270) 684-3215

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Owensboro High School
Owensboro, KY


Majesty Academy
Owensboro, KY


Majesty Academy
Owensboro, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT