Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
100 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Maximilian Montessori Academy
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted January 16, 2016
- a parent
Homework was never given unless the child failed to finish the two pages per subject required each day.

Maximilian Montessori Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted January 16, 2016
- a parent
The children are left to fend for themselves. It seems to be a misplaced understanding of the Montessori method.


Maximilian Montessori Academy
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted January 16, 2016
- a parent
Children are not encouraged to play in organized activities or develop friendships in the classrooms or during the activity periods.

Maximilian Montessori Academy 2

Posted January 16, 2016
- a parent
Here are a few things to know about Maximillian Montessori Academy, Owensboro, KY. 1) If you are looking for a true Montessori school, this is not it. The majority of the teachers are not Montessori certified. The school is basically a catholic school that uses some Montessori materials. 2) Some of the teachers have their babies in the classrooms. During last school year, the first grade teacher had her baby in the classroom all day. This year, the newly hired second grade teacher has her breast feeding baby in the classroom during the school day. Both the kids and the teacher were distracted and there was no order in the classroom. On top of that, the second grade teacher does not do good job at tracking the progress of the kids. One of the mothers complained to me that her son had to complete the same study materials several times because the teacher kept messing up the progress report. Also this was discovered by the mother, not the teacher of the student. 3) If you have smart kids and want them to be more challenged, this school is not it. Last school year I felt that my son was not challenged enough in math. When I talked to the teacher, I was told that the child has to finish all the materials before he could move on to a different level. This year, when my son started the second grade, I had a similar situation. I ended up going to talk with the principal at which point he was finally tested and moved to a more advanced level. If I was not reviewing all the material the kids work on and demanding changes, my child would still be stuck doing the same thing. When we switched to an alternate school, we realized that my second grader was behind on writing, spelling and solving math word problems simply because these were not covered enough in the Montessori school. 4) The school was ill organized on a global scale. The school materials were chosen at the end of summer and some classes did not have them for the start of school. Some books were ordered and never used. The science component for the first three years consists of solely learning the planets. Finally, the test to evaluate students at the end of the year has changed every year and results are never discussed. If you do cost benefit analysis, this is not a good choice of school. You have other better choices in the area like Catholic School or Highland school.

Maximilian Montessori Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Many of the teachers do not have an education background and do not put in much time into researching what the students should be learning.


Maximilian Montessori Academy
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
There is no homework unless the children do not finish their daily works. However, the amount of daily work is often lacking itself.

Maximilian Montessori Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Students are often passed along or remain on the same work level while told they are moving up grades.

Maximilian Montessori Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Students of families who have a great deal of money to give or are family relations are given top priority. Students who's family is different in any way are talked bad about and the children are judged more critically.


Maximilian Montessori Academy 2

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
This school works well for preschool aged children as children are free to learn at their own pace and are also encouraged in practical life skills. However, be very weary of allowing your child to continue their education at this school. Not all of the teachers have an education background and there is no regulations, standardized testing, or other form of ensuring that your child is learning what they should. It is often found that once a child transfers to another school they are held back a grade level. An attempt to update materials is typically frowned upon which has left students using outdated text. There are no opportunities for extra curricular activities or for a well rounded education.

Maximilian Montessori Academy 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Maximilian Montessori Academy serves a diverse sample of families from the Owensboro area. MMA students are able to learn core academics at their own individualized pace using the Montessori Method of education. Beyond academics, the students learn practical life skills and values that will equip them to be responsible citizens of the world. Students learn in unique classroom settings that foster a natural love for learning and personal responsibility. MMA offers students the opportunity to reach their full potential at every stage of development. The school receives no government funding and relies solely on tuition and students/parent fundraisers to operate. Families that desire to send their children to MMA are not turned away for financial reasons. Several MMA families who are not able to pay full tuition complete work around the school to offset the expense of school for their child. Our teachers are also extremely dedicated to their work, even though they receive salaries that are far below the average for most teachers. As a mother of 6 kids, all of whom attend MMA, this school far exceeds my expectations of the environment in which I want my children to learn.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maximilian Montessori Academy
1401B Spring Bank Drive, Owensboro, KY  42303
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (270) 689-1402
Last modified Maximilian Montessori Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top