Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Owensboro, KY
Students enrolled: 676

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Highland Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
HES is a wonderful school. I have a 5th grader and a Kindergarten student that LOVE going to school every day. Teachers are loving, caring, and want the best for the students. Great communication between the school and home. We have a new Principal and Vice Principal who are doing a great job and are very friendly and out going. Both of my children are challenged and want to do their very best work.

Highland Elementary School 3

Posted May 13, 2011
- a parent
I agree that this school is very $$ hungry! My kids transferred in from Audubon Elementary. According the AES they were doing great! They were exceeding all expectations. HES didn't see it the same and told me kids needed to be held back. I've saw many students held back and it seems high CATS test grades are what they are looking for. It is a good school overall but be warned that do try to push for the $$ and I often feel that that is their ultimate goal - to make good students so they can bring in more $. ((while on the subject of $, there are fundraisers all the time...some of the fundraiser rewards aren't very fair - if your student has the money and can bring in lots you get rewarded while the other children that don't have as much money to donate get stuck watching the rich kids play. ))


Highland Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
This school is better than excellent. My son attended K&1st grade there before we relocated to Virginia. Here we are paying 11k a year in private school tution and the school still can't compare to Highland. My son misses the caring teachers and friendly environment so much that we are moving back so that he can start 3rd grade at the "best school ever" as HE calls it! There is a reason Highland is graded a perfect 10, because it IS that good!

Highland Elementary School 4

Posted March 17, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Highland Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2010
- a parent
The school is awesome. The best (well most of them, anyway) teachers in Daviess County teach here.


Highland Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 02, 2010
- a parent
It amazes me how this school is the Blue Ribbon School in Owensboro! My opinion of this school is that they care only about the $ made off of each body that walks through their front door and not about the education success and development of our children! If possible my kids will be in a different school come Fall 2010!!

Highland Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 21, 2009
- a parent
It is amazing that the school does so well. The principal is a tyrant and the staff is powerless to do anything about it. She is close to retirement, so we will just keep our fingers crossed that she goes soon.

Highland Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2009
- a parent
I can't say enough good about HES! My oldest child has gone on to middle school now but was extremely successful in his years at Highland. My youngest is in 4th Grade and is constantly challenged! He is a very bright little boy with a tendency to bore easily. He is able to work at a higher ability level to avoid that! Staff goes above and beyond on a daily basis!


Highland Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2009
- a parent
I can't say enough good about HES! My oldest child has gone on to middle school now but was extremely successful in his years at Highland. My youngest is in 4th Grade and is constantly challenged! He is a very bright little boy with a tendency to bore easily. He is able to work at a higher ability level to avoid that! Staff goes above and beyond on a daily basis!

Highland Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2008
- a parent
Highland is a wonderful school that keeps the students as well as parents involved. My kids love going to Highland, and I feel very secure in knowing that they are getting a quality education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Elementary School
2909 Kentucky 54, Owensboro, KY  42303
(270) 852-7370
Last modified Highland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Highland Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top