Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Highland Elementary School 4

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
My child looked forward to going to school most days while at HES. Her main teachers were very attentive, and encouraged her to develop her talents in creative ways. They spent a great deal of extra time assisting her with extra projects she wanted to do. The principal, academic team coach, librarian and music teacher were all kind and supportive. The negative experience was when she was bullied by another student, who was physically much larger than her. It took several months and multiple conferences to remedy this situation.

Highland Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
HES is a wonderful school. I have a 5th grader and a Kindergarten student that LOVE going to school every day. Teachers are loving, caring, and want the best for the students. Great communication between the school and home. We have a new Principal and Vice Principal who are doing a great job and are very friendly and out going. Both of my children are challenged and want to do their very best work.


Highland Elementary School 3

Posted May 13, 2011
- a parent
I agree that this school is very $$ hungry! My kids transferred in from Audubon Elementary. According the AES they were doing great! They were exceeding all expectations. HES didn't see it the same and told me kids needed to be held back. I've saw many students held back and it seems high CATS test grades are what they are looking for. It is a good school overall but be warned that do try to push for the $$ and I often feel that that is their ultimate goal - to make good students so they can bring in more $. ((while on the subject of $, there are fundraisers all the time...some of the fundraiser rewards aren't very fair - if your student has the money and can bring in lots you get rewarded while the other children that don't have as much money to donate get stuck watching the rich kids play. ))

Highland Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
This school is better than excellent. My son attended K&1st grade there before we relocated to Virginia. Here we are paying 11k a year in private school tution and the school still can't compare to Highland. My son misses the caring teachers and friendly environment so much that we are moving back so that he can start 3rd grade at the "best school ever" as HE calls it! There is a reason Highland is graded a perfect 10, because it IS that good!

Highland Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2010
- a parent
The school is awesome. The best (well most of them, anyway) teachers in Daviess County teach here.


Highland Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 02, 2010
- a parent
It amazes me how this school is the Blue Ribbon School in Owensboro! My opinion of this school is that they care only about the $ made off of each body that walks through their front door and not about the education success and development of our children! If possible my kids will be in a different school come Fall 2010!!

Highland Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 21, 2009
- a parent
It is amazing that the school does so well. The principal is a tyrant and the staff is powerless to do anything about it. She is close to retirement, so we will just keep our fingers crossed that she goes soon.

Highland Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2009
- a parent
I can't say enough good about HES! My oldest child has gone on to middle school now but was extremely successful in his years at Highland. My youngest is in 4th Grade and is constantly challenged! He is a very bright little boy with a tendency to bore easily. He is able to work at a higher ability level to avoid that! Staff goes above and beyond on a daily basis!


Highland Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2009
- a parent
I can't say enough good about HES! My oldest child has gone on to middle school now but was extremely successful in his years at Highland. My youngest is in 4th Grade and is constantly challenged! He is a very bright little boy with a tendency to bore easily. He is able to work at a higher ability level to avoid that! Staff goes above and beyond on a daily basis!

Highland Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2008
- a parent
Highland is a wonderful school that keeps the students as well as parents involved. My kids love going to Highland, and I feel very secure in knowing that they are getting a quality education.

Nearby schools

Highland Elementary School
2909 Kentucky 54, Owensboro, KY  42303
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (270) 852-7370
Last modified Highland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top