Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Deer Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 30, 2014

Simply the BEST! Deer Park has helped all of my children find their talents and grow those talents. One of my children was gifted and she had opportunities to do projects that she enjoyed and could learn deeply about the subject. My son enjoys the clubs and extra things the school does to make learning fun. My youngest got to be on the news show and that made his year. The librarian and the counselor are the nicest people ever. The principal and the teachers really care about my children and I am thankful that my children go to school at an International Baccelaurette school that teaches about helping our community and all the important academic stuff too. THANK YOU DEER PARK!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

my daughter was just a year and did very well, very good attention from teachers, and very good demand academic. thank you very much Deer Park...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

Deer Park teachers and staff are some of the most professional and caring educators in Owensboro! Their commitment to students and families is amazing! We are very fortunate to have Deer Park as an IB school! Go Rangers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Deer Park has a great staff working in every area. Thanks to each and every one of you Deer Park workers. My granddaughter is doing great there and on the A-B honor roll. I have been very pleased with her progress during her almost 6 years here. She started at Deer Park in kindergarten and now is in 5th grade. I am not looking forward to the move to middle school next year. However, I am sure it will prove to be a success as well. Thanks everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

I have two children that attend school at Deer Park. We love, love, love the school! The principal, teachers, and every staff member always seem genuinely happy to be there and have really challenge my children. The first day of school, all the teachers were out in front of the school cheering about the kids COMING BACK! I got a little teary-eyed thinking how touching it is to see these teachers and other school workers cheering and yelling MY child's name as we drove into the parking lot! I paid too much money for my house just to get a house in the Deer Park school zone. I have never been sorry!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

This is my sons second year at Deer Park and we love it!! He's an A-B student (which he wasn't at his other school) Last year, his 3rd grade year one nine weeks he was on the all A honor roll. Other than that he was on the the A-B honor role. My son was quite an introvert, and I don't know what it is about this school but he has finally popped out of his shell. I think I owe all of that to his teachers, the teachers helpers, lunchroom ladies, librarian and many more adults and teachers alike at Deer Park. My only regret is that we didn't get to Deer Park sooner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

I love this school! My children have had many wonderful experiences and have learned more than I would have ever imagined. However, if you ever have to send your kids to afterschool, I would strongly suggest the YMCA or a private sitter. The afterschool program has a lot to be desired. Out of all the staff in the whole school, you can expect smiles and kind words at every turn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

So far we love Deer Park this is our first year, and all the staff are very friendly they encourage parent involvement and most of all make you feel needed once you are there. Everyone smiles and speaks as they pass you in the hall. I know my son has music and a keyboard is provided for each student plus 2 computer labs. Also the teachers have a microphone system in the class room so that all children can hear her even if she is facing the board. I have nothing negative to say at all. I'm impressed how my son is improving in reading and he is in kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female53%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students53%
Female64%
Male42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students77%
Female89%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students62%
Female63%
Male62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female63%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students87%
Female94%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Female36%
Male54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students53%
Female42%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students76%
Female67%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students39%
Female46%
Male34%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 81%
Black 5% 11%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4959 New Hartford Rd
Owensboro, KY 42303
Phone: (270) 852-7270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Majesty Academy
Owensboro, KY


Majesty Academy
Owensboro, KY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT