Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Reidland High School

Public | 9-12 | 507 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2014

i attended reidland high school last lear and it was terrible. not the worst school experience i have ever had but pretty darn close. the teachers dont know how to teach. the administration was awful. but im actually shocked that there wasnt really a lot of bullying or seniority stuff. but still all of the teachers were really bad. i am not attending MCHS and its a whole lot better!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2011

Reidland High School has dropped 90 points in school ranking since 2009. In the past 10 years this school has seen a progressive decline in every subject. Especially math from a 49.55 to a 30.91 and all other subjects have followed suit. I have had five students at this high school. Since 1998 it has become an embarrassment. Enrollment has also declined. It is ranked 187 out of 224 schools. You be the judge. Go to schooldigger.com and check the statistics. I am sorry for all students of Reidland High School. Several problems with teachers, especially Geometry and principal issues as well. Just a terrible situation at Reidland High School. Parents need to become more aware of these rankings and realize that their students are not getting a quality education at Reidland High School in McCracken County, Paducah, KY
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

Education is like everything else. You get what you put into it. The opportunity is there, just have to look past the junk that is brought in from the 'outside.' RHS didn't fail me!


Posted June 14, 2010

As a former student of Reidland, I can tell you we're known for being the worst school in Paducah/McCracken county. My senior year we started out with a little more than 160, by graduation only 118 left with diploma, the rest dropped out. I graduated in 2008, and the majority of my class did not go to college. I was one of the few that actually did (About 20 of us went to a university). After a year about half of the kids that went off to school, had to come back home and go to community college. Reidland has a major problem dealing with sex education. From middle school to high school over 30 girls out of my class had kids. I believe we had the highest pregnancy rate among high schools, this end of the state in 2007. Send your kids to lone oak or marshall.


Posted February 23, 2010

We are fully involved parents in this school. Yes it does have it pitfalls, but so does every other school that we have been a part of, having several children. This high school is a combination of multiple elementary schools that join at the middle school level. The teachers/administration at this school have more than the average amount of more than the average problems that are brought to school. Is there room for improvement? Always! Take notice, most of the post are from several years ago, and there have been many changes during that time. There are some things that will always be an uphill battle for this school that the other two high schools in this district don't have to deal with. And by the way, you only get out of something what you are willing to put into it, including researching the area that you are purchasing a house.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2009

ffirst and foremost, what happened to the 'zero tolerance' rules about safety and threats in school? reidland high school is a joke. i am not suprised that with the quality of teachers and overall programs below-par ratings (especially compared to ky wide schools) that reidland continually lags behind the majority of high schools. challenge your child and give them the opportunity to learn- not available at RHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2006

Leadership and discipline at Reidland is biased. Rules are not enforced equally among the students. If the teachers favor you, you can do no wrong. This bias is tolerated by the school administrators, who turn a blind eye to the real problems associated with the school. Instead of facing the problems head on and correcting them, the Reidland leadership would prefer to sweep them under the rug as not to 'tarnish' their reputation. What they fail to realize is that their reputation is already soiled and would best be served by getting new leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

I have a daughter in Reidland right now, and I agree on the others who have written here. Reidland caters to the football player and the softball players more than anything. As for the learning my daughter does well except for when a teacher doesnt like her. Yes they do pick out certain ones. (TEACHERS YES) I too went to Reidland and glad that I do not have to be there now. Also the principle doesnt take threats toward students serious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2005

I graduated in 2003 and went on to college only to learn I didn't acquire the right studying skills and had no idea how to write good papers. I am suffering in college now because of a lack of learning in high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 30, 2004

I have 1 child in this school now,this school needs more leadership,morles and values. also could have a better safety messure. principal needs to lead all students and be fair to all, than cater to surtain students. staff needs to let students know this is a place to learn, not a place to goof off. this school need a staff that cares about the students. and were it stands now, theres no leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2004

I graduated from RHS in 1987 and let me tell you, nothing has changed! The principal is terrible. He only cares about his atheletes, that arent't very good! What about the band??? There needs to be much more attention paid to the band. These students work their tails off, for what? It is a shame that RHS is only a 1A band. It used to be 100 members strong. What happened?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2004

Everything about this school is average! Average attention to both academics and athletics. If you want your child challenged then this school is not for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 51% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students66%
Female70%
Male59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students44%
Female49%
Male38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

All Students68%
Female82%
Male54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2011.

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
43%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
36%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
20%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
28%
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
54%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students27%
Female30%
Male23%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students40%
Female45%
Male33%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students61%
Female65%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students63%
Female55%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 82%
Black 5% 11%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5349 Old Benton Rd
Paducah, KY 42003
Phone: (270) 538-4210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT