Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Paducah, KY
Students enrolled: 478

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Reidland High School 2

Posted January 13, 2014
- a student
i attended reidland high school last lear and it was terrible. not the worst school experience i have ever had but pretty darn close. the teachers dont know how to teach. the administration was awful. but im actually shocked that there wasnt really a lot of bullying or seniority stuff. but still all of the teachers were really bad. i am not attending MCHS and its a whole lot better!

Reidland High School 1

Posted March 31, 2011
- a parent
Reidland High School has dropped 90 points in school ranking since 2009. In the past 10 years this school has seen a progressive decline in every subject. Especially math from a 49.55 to a 30.91 and all other subjects have followed suit. I have had five students at this high school. Since 1998 it has become an embarrassment. Enrollment has also declined. It is ranked 187 out of 224 schools. You be the judge. Go to schooldigger.com and check the statistics. I am sorry for all students of Reidland High School. Several problems with teachers, especially Geometry and principal issues as well. Just a terrible situation at Reidland High School. Parents need to become more aware of these rankings and realize that their students are not getting a quality education at Reidland High School in McCracken County, Paducah, KY


Reidland High School 5

Posted March 10, 2011
- a community member
Education is like everything else. You get what you put into it. The opportunity is there, just have to look past the junk that is brought in from the 'outside.' RHS didn't fail me!

Reidland High School 2

Posted June 14, 2010
- a community member
As a former student of Reidland, I can tell you we're known for being the worst school in Paducah/McCracken county. My senior year we started out with a little more than 160, by graduation only 118 left with diploma, the rest dropped out. I graduated in 2008, and the majority of my class did not go to college. I was one of the few that actually did (About 20 of us went to a university). After a year about half of the kids that went off to school, had to come back home and go to community college. Reidland has a major problem dealing with sex education. From middle school to high school over 30 girls out of my class had kids. I believe we had the highest pregnancy rate among high schools, this end of the state in 2007. Send your kids to lone oak or marshall.

Reidland High School 0
no rating

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
We are fully involved parents in this school. Yes it does have it pitfalls, but so does every other school that we have been a part of, having several children. This high school is a combination of multiple elementary schools that join at the middle school level. The teachers/administration at this school have more than the average amount of more than the average problems that are brought to school. Is there room for improvement? Always! Take notice, most of the post are from several years ago, and there have been many changes during that time. There are some things that will always be an uphill battle for this school that the other two high schools in this district don't have to deal with. And by the way, you only get out of something what you are willing to put into it, including researching the area that you are purchasing a house.


Reidland High School 0
no rating

Posted August 16, 2009
- a parent
ffirst and foremost, what happened to the 'zero tolerance' rules about safety and threats in school? reidland high school is a joke. i am not suprised that with the quality of teachers and overall programs below-par ratings (especially compared to ky wide schools) that reidland continually lags behind the majority of high schools. challenge your child and give them the opportunity to learn- not available at RHS.

Reidland High School 5

Posted December 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Reidland High School 3

Posted September 02, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Reidland High School 5

Posted February 12, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Reidland High School 2

Posted August 10, 2006
- a parent
Leadership and discipline at Reidland is biased. Rules are not enforced equally among the students. If the teachers favor you, you can do no wrong. This bias is tolerated by the school administrators, who turn a blind eye to the real problems associated with the school. Instead of facing the problems head on and correcting them, the Reidland leadership would prefer to sweep them under the rug as not to 'tarnish' their reputation. What they fail to realize is that their reputation is already soiled and would best be served by getting new leadership.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Reidland High School
5349 Old Benton Rd, Paducah, KY  42003
(270) 538-4210
Last modified Reidland High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Reidland High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top