Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Community Christian Academy K-12

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Paducah

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $117,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $559.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2014

We have been involved at CCA going on 13 years. Our oldest child will be a Senior this year. The school has provided her with an outstanding academic education as well as opportunities in athletics that she might not have had at other schools. If you are looking for a quality education in a safe, Christian environment. CCA is your school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

We just moved to CCA from a public school and we are loving it!!! It is very nice to have the girls challenged in class and not just "teaching to the standardized testing". I cant express my appreciation for the "kind culture" you experience as a member of the CCA family. If you are wanting to have close relationship with your child, teachers, administration and other parents, then getting involved at CCA will provide. There are many volunteer opportunities at CCA which allows you the opportunity to see your child with his/her peers. It has been a true blessing for us. We did not expect perfection and we are so pleased with the overall experience. It is also interesting to note, the recent year graduates are scoring very well on the ACT and are receiving amazing scholarship opporunties. Please make your own opinion about the school and call for information if you are wanting a kind and nuturing environment for your child on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2011

CCA has superb Principals, dedicated faculty and committed staff. It is the one school in McCracken County dedicated to a thoroughly Biblical worldview. CCA has produced outstanding graduates in many fields.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

The best school is Paducah, KY! I loved it and if I live in Paducah when I have my children they will go to CCA


Posted September 13, 2008

I attended CCA for 4 years and absolutely loved it. It isn't perfect, no school is, even a Christian one. But it was definitely better than Christian schools I had attended previously. It does teach from secular texts, but the teachers always give a Christian view. Most Christian textbooks I have used in other schools were outdated and incomplete in an effort to make the text Christian. Instead CCA teaches the whole story and explains what the Bible has to say about things. The staff is generally loving and takes a real interest in student's lives. I thank God that I attended CCA for four years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2008

Student's are snotty, cruel,and menacing to those who are not up to their standards of money and friends, and the staff does nothing to the students whose parents donate the most or have gone their the longest. The staff pick favoriates and it is to the point of effecting grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

My child went to this school beginning in second grade . We kept him there for 4 years. He never did feel accepted. Some of the parents are leary of a child that comes into this school from having started some where else. They tend to support some students more than others. My child is in a great public school now and doing fine. CCA wasn't for us but they do read the bible everyday and that is something in a public school you don't see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

My family has been affliated with CCA for over 12 years. We have graudated one who is off to college with two others still in high school. I will echo that CCA is not perfect, no instituion is, even a home school setting. Yet, the last few years has seen some change and transistion which is helping the school come back to its roots of a 'Christ' centered education. I wish that all the texts could be centered around the Bible but that is not practical as we attemtp to receive a 'well rounded' education. The emphasis is to provide a Biblical view in all classes. I do feel that the majority of the teachers have a deep committement to the students' education and well being. The school is the best bang for your buck with only 75% of the cost of education being provided through tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

My son is in his second year at the elementary. He is doing so much better than in public preschool and kindegarten. The teachers and staff are caring, compassionate, and Christian. It is expensive but worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

Paducah needs another option for a Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

I have three boys that have gone to CCA. One graduated and two still in high school. There is no doubt in my mind that they were all better off going to CCA rather than a public school. Although the school has it's faults and is not perfect. All things considered they have gotten a better education w/smaller classes, better parent involvement, less worry about outside influences brought into campus (drugs, alcohol, sex, language, weapons), and a family atmosphere you don't normally find at a public school. Even though the student body is made up of several denominations, the Bible is taught at CCA everyday. No public school can say that. As a Christian that is important to me to know my boys are at least opening their bible everyday of school. The teaching that counts is then up to Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

I'm disappointed that Jesus is not the central focus of the school in the hearts of the teachers, administrators, and students. CCAs tuition is also outrageously expensive. They nickel and dime you to death with misc 'fees.' The elementary school is fine, but I have real problems with the MS and HS. It's unfortunate that at a supposedly Christian school that Jesus is not first. I also have problems with a Christian school using secular textbooks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

I went to CCA my freshman year, and it was by far, the worst school experience I have ever had. The students are cruel and punitive, and the administration has a few darlings on which they lavish attention, ignoring the rest for the most part. -Julia Marshall
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 26, 2006

I went to CCA and I loved it! I had a wonderful experience there and would not trade it for anything!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 14, 2006

i went to cca and at first i liked it but then it just got ridiculous i will say cca is much safer than public schools but the satff and the principle clearly play favorites
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 81%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3230 Buckner Lane
Paducah, KY 42001
Phone: (270) 575-0025

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT