Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
76 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Mary School 4

Posted September 28, 2011
- a parent
St. Mary School, while not without the typical issues of many nonpublic schools whennit comes to financial situations, is a top notch school. Most of the teachers hold a Master's Degree or higher in Education. The students are taught compassion for eachother and the world around them while excelling in academics. The school has produced many students who have gone on to be valedictorian and salutatorian in high school. Low teacher/child ratios result in higher quality education. The positive atmosphere fueled by a top notch faculty and new principal are setting a tone for an amazing future for the school. If your main concerns for your child's education include lunch and recess facilities. St. Mary School is not for you.

St Mary School 5

Posted August 16, 2011
- a parent
A new principal and new start for a long-established small town Catholic school. Although not free from struggles that are common to parish schools or to small town politics, the quality of the school community is outstanding. If you think a school is a just building, or you kids don't have the moxie to walk a block in the winter, then its not the place for you. If you want your children to be challenged in a respectful environment, and to be exposed to committed teachers and successful parents of a strong Catholic faith community, this is the place!


St Mary School 1

Posted September 10, 2010
- a parent
This school is not up with other private school curriculums. I have checked other private schools and I am very upset to be paying this kind of tuition for what I am getting. Teachers are not evaluated, the principal says one thing and does another. The school is in major debt they have no cafeteria, gym, and music consists of singing hymns. The school needs new administration or it won't last, enrollment continues to drop.

St Mary School 2

Posted June 21, 2010
- a parent
St Mary School falls short of being a good school for several reasons. It does not have a cafeteria, forcing children to eat at their desks; it does not have adequately-sized classrooms making it impossible to include more modern technology in he classrooms; the play area is asphalt with no play/climbing stuctures. There is no gymnasium forcing the children to walk three blocks to the local YMCA in all weather. The school does not have a full-time principle. This has created a situation whereby unqualified staff has taken on administrative responsibilities. That lack of management has fostered an environment where gossip and personal judgment by the staff and teachers is an acceptable part of the school's culture. The school has a history of extreme financial difficulties due to the number of families who have left the school.

St Mary School 5

Posted July 11, 2008
- a parent
St. Mary is known for excellent academics and a great atmosphere for students to learn and grow. In the past two years, the school has added Spanish, two new computer labs, and SMARTboard equipment. The school has updated its Reading, Social Studies, and Science materials and its middle school Math program allows advanced students to move ahead at individual paces (many of these students have tested out of Algebra I before freashmen year in high school!) I wouldn't want to send my 3 children anywhere else.


St Mary School 5

Posted February 19, 2005
- a parent
St. Mary is a 5 star school. Not only is it well known for academics and scores highly on the national testing. It has great morals, ethics and religion. You feel secure when your child is at school. As for the 'nasty' comment previously written. The mentality, typing, spelling etc. says it all. That is the education you receive when you leave St. Mary...seriously doubt they were ever there and definitely didn't need to be.

St Mary School 5

Posted November 27, 2004
- a parent
We have been privileged to send our three daughters to St.Mary School. It has been an outstanding experience. The small class sizes are conducive to individualized teaching and boast a very comfortable environment. The teachers are exceptional and very accesible. The principal is dynamic, involved, and very organized. The quality of education is outstanding, and the environment is spiritual and compassionate. I recommend this school without reservations.

St Mary School 1

Posted November 04, 2004
- a parent
It is a horrible school i had two children enroled in the school and they hated the environment. It was a nasty experience for my childrens education! I highly recomed that you take your children to bourbon central elementry or bourbon county middle and high school!


St Mary School
no rating

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
We have had two children to graduate from St.Mary School and currently have one enrolled. We have so enjoyed our experience with the school and the people involved. The teachers are wonderful and accessable, the kids receive a great education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Mary School
1121 Main Street, Paris, KY  40361
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (859) 987-3815
Last modified St Mary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top