Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Mary School

Private | PK-8 | 112 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Paris

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $91,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2011

St. Mary School, while not without the typical issues of many nonpublic schools whennit comes to financial situations, is a top notch school. Most of the teachers hold a Master's Degree or higher in Education. The students are taught compassion for eachother and the world around them while excelling in academics. The school has produced many students who have gone on to be valedictorian and salutatorian in high school. Low teacher/child ratios result in higher quality education. The positive atmosphere fueled by a top notch faculty and new principal are setting a tone for an amazing future for the school. If your main concerns for your child's education include lunch and recess facilities. St. Mary School is not for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

A new principal and new start for a long-established small town Catholic school. Although not free from struggles that are common to parish schools or to small town politics, the quality of the school community is outstanding. If you think a school is a just building, or you kids don't have the moxie to walk a block in the winter, then its not the place for you. If you want your children to be challenged in a respectful environment, and to be exposed to committed teachers and successful parents of a strong Catholic faith community, this is the place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2010

This school is not up with other private school curriculums. I have checked other private schools and I am very upset to be paying this kind of tuition for what I am getting. Teachers are not evaluated, the principal says one thing and does another. The school is in major debt they have no cafeteria, gym, and music consists of singing hymns. The school needs new administration or it won't last, enrollment continues to drop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

St Mary School falls short of being a good school for several reasons. It does not have a cafeteria, forcing children to eat at their desks; it does not have adequately-sized classrooms making it impossible to include more modern technology in he classrooms; the play area is asphalt with no play/climbing stuctures. There is no gymnasium forcing the children to walk three blocks to the local YMCA in all weather. The school does not have a full-time principle. This has created a situation whereby unqualified staff has taken on administrative responsibilities. That lack of management has fostered an environment where gossip and personal judgment by the staff and teachers is an acceptable part of the school's culture. The school has a history of extreme financial difficulties due to the number of families who have left the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

St. Mary is known for excellent academics and a great atmosphere for students to learn and grow. In the past two years, the school has added Spanish, two new computer labs, and SMARTboard equipment. The school has updated its Reading, Social Studies, and Science materials and its middle school Math program allows advanced students to move ahead at individual paces (many of these students have tested out of Algebra I before freashmen year in high school!) I wouldn't want to send my 3 children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

St. Mary is a 5 star school. Not only is it well known for academics and scores highly on the national testing. It has great morals, ethics and religion. You feel secure when your child is at school. As for the 'nasty' comment previously written. The mentality, typing, spelling etc. says it all. That is the education you receive when you leave St. Mary...seriously doubt they were ever there and definitely didn't need to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2004

We have been privileged to send our three daughters to St.Mary School. It has been an outstanding experience. The small class sizes are conducive to individualized teaching and boast a very comfortable environment. The teachers are exceptional and very accesible. The principal is dynamic, involved, and very organized. The quality of education is outstanding, and the environment is spiritual and compassionate. I recommend this school without reservations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2004

It is a horrible school i had two children enroled in the school and they hated the environment. It was a nasty experience for my childrens education! I highly recomed that you take your children to bourbon central elementry or bourbon county middle and high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

We have had two children to graduate from St.Mary School and currently have one enrolled. We have so enjoyed our experience with the school and the people involved. The teachers are wonderful and accessable, the kids receive a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 85%
Hispanic 9% 3%
Asian 3% N/A
Black 1% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Lexington
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1121 Main St
Paris, KY 40361
Phone: (859) 987-3815

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT