Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Madison Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 444 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2012

First of all, drugs , alcohol, and bullying happen at ALL schools. Madison Middle has gotten a bad reputation due to parents that dog the school in these ways. Parents that trash talk the school this way have to partially take the blame upon themselves. It doesn't happen at ALL when you sit back and complain about everything the school isn't doing, when you can walk yourself up to "The Hill" and do something about it! Madison Middle is a GREAT school, and doesn't get enough credit due to criticizing parents. Sincerely, a former Panther


Posted January 12, 2011

Not sure my feelings on this school, bullying going on in locker rooms during PE, Clothes being stole from kids lockers. Which by the way they have to share. Principal reactions seems to be slow coming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

Madison middle school is a great school! The best part of the school is the band program. The band teacher has won many awards for the school and recently we have gottten a distinguished rating in the district 11 middle school band festival for the 6th grade and proficient for the 7th and 8th grade. If you are looking for something fun to do here, join the mms band.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 20, 2010

madison middle school is a great school!I Both the vice principal are great people.Although,they have uniform, it is packed with lots of fun and great student and teachers. they also excel academically.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2009

madison middle school does need help, the principle and some of the teachers seem to be too envolved in activities outside of school that is affecting the way they go to work and teach our kids. The best person at the school is Butch, always greets with a smile and will stop and tell you if he had to get on your child about anything. My son attends there and he seems too like Mr. Anderson but Ive never been able to talk to him myself when I have called there for some reason or other. We parents need to take control of some of the things that go on there and get more envolved before our kids are again just part of the system. The board of education and this new superintendent needs too take a close look at whats going on there and take action.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2008

Madison Middle school is a school that is improving. The new assistant principal is amazing. He is the reason for the difference this year. He is making positive changes. They have many good teachers and Mrs. Fritz works very hard to help stop the bullying. I wish more parents would get involved in this school. Do not just trash it. Help the good educators make it better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

Our family relocated here in Richmond from South Florida, with great expectations. We love the area however, have been so dissapointed in Madison Middle to the point, that if we could't get our child out for the next school term we were going to home school. Our child was bullied on and off the whole year for the first time in his life, his grades began to plummet. Our child went from an A student to bringing home an occasional D and F. We received no concern from the school staff at all. I find it very concerning that a teacher can see a childs behavior, demeanor ,and grades so drasticly and never contact a parent. Needless to say, our child will not attend Madison Middle next year, we have made other arrangments. Thanks, God Bless
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

I attended Madsion Middle when I was in school loved it so much I became a middle school teacher. I found the teachers really cared about my learning. They even had special programs to help me to do well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2007

Madison Middle is an bad school! !!!! This school needs help and i think the state should take over the school!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2006

I am very happy with Madison Middle. My oldest daughter had a good experience there and my younger daughter is in 6th grade there at this time. Our new Principal, Mr. Winkler, has already had breakfast with parents of each grade level and has discussed the school in length with us and asked for our input. Both Mr. Winkler and Mr. Cornette, the Vice Principal, have supported our Soccer teams and football team by coming to home games. The teachers are exceptional and supportive and always have time for parents and can be reached by many different means. I have already been on a field trip and helped after school for athletic events and have seen first hand the care, warmth and concern all staff has for our children. I believe your reviews are outdated. Parents working with and supporting teachers- working with students- together - make the difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

I am very concerned about the leadership of this school. It appears there are several 'groups' of teachers who have very different ideas about education and the teaching of our children. I often question who is running this school! Admin. or teachers? It appears that the teachers are dissatisfied and our kids are the ones suffering. Perhaps they need to re-evaluate their goals and objectives. My suggestions to new parents of MMS would be: 1.Never throw away a paper that has been graded (teachers seem to have a hard time keeping up with assign. and homework). 2.Don't be afraid to talk to Ms. Fritz-she is super! Our many thanks to her and the few who are dedicated and truly care about our kids. We have had great feedback about the new principal and have high hopes for a new, positive environment for MMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

I'm very concerned about this school and its leadership. My daughter has only attended 1 year and I'm considering transporting her to Lexington. I've discussed my concerns with the principal, but to my knowledge, nothing has been done to address the problems other than a note being sent home to parents informing us that alcohol was on the premisis. My daughter has witness other girls, her own age, smoking pot and taking pills in the restroom, in which they were splitting the pill and sharing them between classes. Thank God that my daughter and I have open communication to discussed 'peer pressure' and drugs and how it can effect your life or she would have no idea. If you have the opportunity to redistrict your child to another school system please consider doing so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2005

My son recieved an excellent education while at Madison Middle. I was extremely impressed with the work of Randy Neeley, Vicki Fritz and Kendall Gadd. He really enjoyed the experience and the athletics.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 44% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 48% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 39% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students42%
Female47%
Male37%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial23%
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students39%
Female47%
Male32%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial39%
Native Americann/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students42%
Female52%
Male35%
African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial31%
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students26%
Female34%
Male19%
African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial39%
Native Americann/a
White28%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female48%
Male45%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students57%
Female62%
Male52%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students66%
Female68%
Male65%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Female34%
Male42%
African American19%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female49%
Male52%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students58%
Female54%
Male61%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students38%
Female39%
Male36%
African American19%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2011.

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2011.

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 81%
Black 9% 11%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 Summit St
Richmond, KY 40475
Phone: (859) 624-4550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Harvest Academy
Richmond, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT