Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mark School

Private | PK-5 | 80 students

We are best known for faith-based education.

 
 

Living in Richmond

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $131,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $538.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2011

My husband and I checked out several schools in the area and chose St. Mark initially for the warm reception we received when inquiring about the school. Once there we couldn't believe how our daughter flourished. Our son is now in the three year old program and he wakes up excited to go to school. We are Christians so the faith based environment is icing on the cake! We think of our children's education as a lifelong investment that is sure to have a large return. To sum it up.....our children are receiving a GREAT education in a NURTURING and SAFE environment where everyone VALUES and RESPECTS one another. It doesn't get any better than this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

My daughter is in 1st grade, her 3rd year at St. Mark. She is excelling so well in her subjects and she is loved and cared for in the school. I love working with all the parents on the PTO and my 3 year will be going to the new 3 year old program in August 2011. My mother-in-law taught at this school for almost 12 years and it is wonderful. I also love that the kids pray in church daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

We recently moved to Richmond and are so happy with the quality of St. Mark School. Our son is in 1st grade, our daughter is in Pre K. The small class size and hands on approach are invaluable. *St. Mark just upgraded the Pre K & K to "ALL DAY" 5 days a week! I am not aware of any other program besides day care in Madison Co that offers a full curriculum all day program that is available to all children! This school also has raised large sums of money to solidify it's future for years to come. Thanks to generous donnors like Harry Connic Jr. & Dolly Parton. The excellent teachers, class size, test scores, and christian learning environment are fantastic and our children have never been happier. This is a Catholic school, however, it is welcoming of children of all faiths to attend. The schoold does an excellent job of weaving christian values into daily life while providing a safe and structured learning evironment. Parents are welcome & encouraged to have an active role. Oh, I also love that I can walk my child to class daily and that gives me an opportunity to check in with the teacher. You owe it to yourself to visit this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

Our daughter has been at St. Marks for two years and is thrilled to be returning for first grade in the fall. We are impressed by the quality of her education by engaged and talented teachers. The school is a safe and caring environment. Everyone on staff knows our daughter by name, and they keep a watchful eye. The occasional scrape gets prompt attention and a hug. If you want the best, this is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2009

This is a great school with a very loving but disciplined atmosphere. The kids love going there and learn a lot. The teachers are very committed and always on top. The parents are also engaged and that just makes a wonderful atmosphere. My daughter is asking me all summer long to go back to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2009

We have a girl in full day pre-K and are very satisfied. It is amazing how much she is learning considering I started my schooling with a half day at kindergarten. One disadvantage is the cost. The atmosphere at the school overall is one of safety, caring, and personal attention. This is what we want for our little ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

I have two children. One graduated from St. Mark the other is currently in 8th grade. Current principal Paul Doty is great principal but so was Sister Benita DeMattais. The person who wrote a bad review claiming the excellent educational quality had disappeared under Sister Benita is probably a parent that didn't get their way. Some families that had money thought THEY ran the school. When Sister Benita told them that wasn't the case, they revolted and pulled their children out. St. Mark has always been a great school and the academic scores prove it. Teachers at the local high school have nothing but praise for the students that graduate from St. Mark and the teachers that molded them. I spent four years on the St. Mark school board as well as volunteering my time for many other programs. It takes people willing to cooperate; not just flash money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

New Principal Doty is amazing. My child hated the public school and loves her experience at St. Mark. As a former public school teacher I find the academics and morals based education at St. Mark to be worth far more than the cost of tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2007

Parent involvement is great at St Mark. Enrollment is way down making them combine some grades. How sad that it has come to that. If enrollment is up then it would be a terrific school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

St. Mark used to be a great school, but since the new principal Sister Benita DeMattais took over it's excellent educational quality has disappeared.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 81%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Black 2% 11%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Cathy Cornett - Principal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (859) 626-5492

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Lexington
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Low student-teacher ratios Faith-based education Differentiated instruction
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

115 Parrish Ave
Richmond, KY 40475
Website: Click here
Phone: (859) 623-2989

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT